Customer Reviews for

NOS4A2

Average Rating 4.5
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Pages aren't cut off.

The end of certain chapters are purposely left as unfinished sentences because the title of the next chapter finishes the sentence which isn't hard to figure out if you're actually paying attention to what you're reading. However there is missing artwork that can be fou...
The end of certain chapters are purposely left as unfinished sentences because the title of the next chapter finishes the sentence which isn't hard to figure out if you're actually paying attention to what you're reading. However there is missing artwork that can be found in the print edition and not the ebook. Its absence doesn't take too much away from this amazing story. Filled with action, terror, humor and heart this is a fantastic supernatural journey from a master storyteller. Be warned though, you will never look at Christmas the same away again after reading this.

posted by 4157005 on May 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Great book, nook version incomplete

Im about 60 pages in and the book itself good. However, three of the chapters so far have been cut off, literally the same as if pages were missing. Unacceptable digital copy that b&n released, very unprofessional.

posted by 6359186 on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Although the story was intriguing, Mr. Hill needs a better edito

    Although the story was intriguing, Mr. Hill needs a better editor. Like his father before him, Mr. Hill is too enamored providing detailed descriptions that do not move the story forward. In my opinion this book could have be about a third shorter.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I wanted to love this book.

    Don't get me wrong I read this book in 2 days, but really it was two days of waiting for the story to pick up. I started the book loving the villain(from scariness of course) and having some sympathy for the protaganist.The, the booked turned in to a sob story about a junkie who hated her mother for no reason, made herself crazy by trying to think that she is crazy, and does'nt try to deal with any of her problems. By the late middle of the book, the only reason why the villains were winning is through several dumb circumstances. The villains weren't interesting or scary, one was mainly incompetant, and the other was practically a cripple. It was like watching the three stooges pull off a deadly crime. At that point, the villains weren't scary anymore, they were just a couple of jerks who could barely stop children from escaping their clutches, and made me want them to just die off and get out of my brain so I could go outside. The best part of this is, it could have been a really great book, but it was so drawn out about the "slums, miserable poor people, junkies, the poor children of America (?) Aspect that it was more depressing than thrilling or creepy, and the author just couldn't quite get any characters off the ground. This book could have been just like IT. It even pulled off an IT reference towards the end of the book. Sadly, it just couldn't make it's characters likable or scary.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Good

    Dark and scary. Cant wait for his next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Wanted to like it

    Wanted to keep reading it but even with all the glowing reviews by people I had a hard time keeping my interest with this book. It just didn't pull me and from the the very start and a grind just to keep reading. Oh well, I tried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Too long

    Could have been done with fewer words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Stover (****)

    "Four star genaral. I claim leadership to blue team."

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Not as good as his past books

    I wanted to love this book. I wanted it to live up to the legacy set up by twentieth century ghosts, heart shaped box and horns. It sadly does not.

    Don't get me wrong. I did enjoy it, with its good vs. evil plot and its flawed, fleshy characters. I would recommend reading it. However , i feel that this book lacked what his others delivered. An eerieness. An uncomfortable feeling that anything could happen.

    With his other books, i was afraid of where joe hill was taking me. I would turn the pages cringing, knowing somehow with this author that all bets were off. Stephen king is my lifelong favorite author, but it seemed to me that joe hill was willing to go where even his father wouldnt. To places deeply, DEEPLY disturbing.

    This book completely lacked that. While it was a good read, i was never nervous about where Hill was taking me. I didn't think it was too long or wordy. It was just safe and a little predictable. Something i never thought joe hill would be. It was kind of like he had a quota to fill...a deadline. As a result, he came up with something decent, but not brilliant. Not extraordinay. It was ordinay. Someone new to this genre might find it macabre, i found it slightly boring.

    Will i read his next book? Yes indeedy. But i will cross my fingers as i start turning the pages that he recaptures the eerieness of books past. If you havent already and have the stomach for it, read THOSE books. Delightfully disturbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Waterripple

    Ill come back tomorrow and check it out again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Thankyou to HELLO

    Thanks for giving an honest review on the book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Hard to Finish

    I really could not get into this book like his other two. I got half way through and just could not get into it. It was too wordy, so I cut to the end to read it. I may go back and re-read it, to give it another try, but could not get past the point that Victoria's life was too sad and the ending was not happy enough!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2