Customer Reviews for

NYPD Red

Average Rating 4
( 426 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

PATTERSON REMOVES STENCH OF "ZOO" WITH GREAT READ!

Alex Cross and Mike Bennett meet Detectives Zach Jordan and his new partner and ex girlfriend Kylie MacDonald. With The Women's Murder Club series Patterson has four of the best cop series published; at least I hope NYPD Red becomes a series.

NYPD Red is an elite task...
Alex Cross and Mike Bennett meet Detectives Zach Jordan and his new partner and ex girlfriend Kylie MacDonald. With The Women's Murder Club series Patterson has four of the best cop series published; at least I hope NYPD Red becomes a series.

NYPD Red is an elite task force created to guard over high risk celebrity and political events in New York City post 911. During the yearly film industry's Hollywood on the Hudson event that pitches New York City as a great place to film movies, things begin to happen that change the tone of the events. A famous producer is murdered followed by several escalating scenes of horror that kill film industry giants as well as paparazzi and fans.

Personal connections to the events both help and hinder Zach and Kylie all along while they are figuring out how to take their relationship from personal to intensly professional and as personal as two partners entrusted with each others lives need to be. With an interestingly drawn bad guy coupled with dark humor enjoyed by cops this book is a great read. Very fast paced with the story moving forward page to page and the reader comes to the end of it thinking, "THIS WOULD BE A HECK OF A MOVIE! SOMEONE WITH SOME "Die Hard" JUICE IN THEIR VEINS GREENLIGHT THIS BOOK TO MOVIE!!!

Snester

posted by Snester on October 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Quite good

This novel was pretty entertaining.... but it had some twists and turns such as a roller coaster. But i did entertain it and i do recomend it to the young mind... thank you for listening to this review.

posted by 2366383 on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    James Patterson

    The book is not published yet, but reading the overview I think it should be as good as all other James Patterson books. He is a good story teller and I have always enjoyed his books. His Alex Cross series was very good and if this book has the same high quality, it would be fun.

    16 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Can't put it down

    Great-must read

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    NYPD Red by James Patterson

    With James Patterson and Marshall Karp writing this novel, I knew I was going to be entertained! For a good laugh out loud book , read "The Rabbit Factory" by Marshall Karp. Daisy

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Enjoyable but not the best

    Good book but doesn't come close to the Alex Cross series. Patterson is maybe co-authoring too many books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    NYPD RED

    Great read, I loved the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Recommend this-- a good, fast read

    This is another thiller from James Patterson and a writing partner. I really enjoy these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    Finished this book in 2 days¿.good story, fast paced, on the edg

    Finished this book in 2 days….good story, fast paced, on the edge of your seat----James P books are always a fun, quick, moves the story along without all the boorrriinng details some other authors can't get around….great story telling….I like the new cop Team on NYPD RED….can't to read NYPD RED 2!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    good one!

    Better than most of his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is my first James Patterson and I loved it.  I have started

    This is my first James Patterson and I loved it.  I have started reading Alex Cross and Micheal Bennett series and really like both of them.  A lot!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    To kat To katie

    Your story was goid make more on other jamespattrson i will likso read them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Loving this book!!!!!

    Can't wait to finish and read the second one!!!! First book I've read by James Patterson. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to read next?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Caine

    Is this the vamp rp?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Raz

    Aleight. O.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Redfur

    Hisses back at dark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Shows potential

    This first book in a new series is refreshing in many ways. I had become disenchanted with some of Patterson's repeat story lines in some of the myriad books he has written the last few years. Detective Zach Jordan is assigned a temporary partner,who just happens to be a former classmate in the police academy and love interest (sound familiar?) .They join together to track a psychopath intent on revenge against the movie industry having a week long Hollywood on the Hudson. The story progresses to the "ultimate' conclusion. Fortunately the conclusion wraps up the story without having to read the next book! I will look forward to the next book in the series and hope the pattern continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    NYPD Red is a fast - paced thriller, that will hold your attenti

    NYPD Red is a fast - paced thriller, that will hold your attention until the very last word. In the beginning of the story it is Hollywood on the Hudson week, so there are celebrities, premieres , and red carpet events all over New York City. That is when the killing spree begins. A lunatic is killing people who work in the movie industry. The case goes to a special task force called NYPD Red, which is a squad that protects the wealthiest people in New York City. The two detective assigned to the case are Kylie Macdonald, and Zach Jordan. Kylie is Zach's new partner. Zach is a charming and intelligent man who is dedicated to his job, and Kylie is a great detective who is still trying to prove that she should be a part of NYPD Red. This is a thrilling novel with a dynamic plot, a detailed setting and fully developed characters. If you enjoy reading James Patterson books, you will love this book. I hope you enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    good plot

    Love James Patterson he always keeps me engrossed and reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    If you like the Alex Cross series, you'll love this!

    Typical Patterson this is a fast easy read and very enjoyable. However the villain in this story is a little "too" successful to be believable. Not that that isn't the case in many books in the Cross series as well, but in this book especially it felt like this story was meant more for turning into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Great Read

    Another Patterson hit! Really liked the interaction of the 2 main characters. Another hard one to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    James Patterson is as always a super read

    Very good summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5