Customer Reviews for

A Nail through the Heart (Poke Rafferty Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 811 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(245)

3 Star

(206)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

where was the end?

I was really disappointed with this book. It was slow to take off but I keep reading. Then it gets to the point where you think it is all going to be wrapped up and it just ended. It was a huge let down.

posted by b3mom on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Boring to me

Could not get into the book. To me it was very boring and not worth the download

posted by Nana1-Tyler on August 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 811 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    where was the end?

    I was really disappointed with this book. It was slow to take off but I keep reading. Then it gets to the point where you think it is all going to be wrapped up and it just ended. It was a huge let down.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    Enjoyable mystery novel in exotic locale

    Pock Rafferty is a "rough travel" writer trying to form a family in Bangkok with ex-bar girl Rose and former street kid Miaow. When he is asked to look into the disappearance of an Australian expat after the Tsunami, he finds both a sadistic child pornographer and a Khmer Rouge torturer.

    Hallinan clearly knows a lot about Thai culture and brings the seedy back streets of Bangkok to life. Rafferty is no hard-bitten Marlowesque cynic however. He is a soft-hearted would-be family man, trying to bridge the cultural and emotional gaps between himself and his new family, while not getting them killed.

    Either of these story lines would have been enough. Somehow, Pock in his desperation manages to play multiple sets of new enemies against each other and comes out intact.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Very Boring to me

    Could not get into the book. To me it was very boring and not worth the download

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Can't wait to read the next novel

    I am a fan. I found Timothy Hallinan purely by chance now he is one of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    What about the ending??

    I got this Freebie for my NOOK but read the reviews before I downloaded it. I liked the book and the characters but what about the ending? I was totally taken by surprised when I turn the page and the book is over!!
    What happened to Superman or what happened to Horner?? Guess the author wants you to buy the next book in the series, though the preview does not indicate that this will be resolved. Frustrating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bangkok Burning

    As the Post states, this is a tale of blackmail, extortion and revenge spinning along at a speedy clip, despite the heat and humidity. It's also well-crafted, very interesting, and in its own way entertaining. It's a book with heart, even if nails keep flying at it. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for Exotic Locale Mystery Readers.

    An unsettling picture of Bangkok and human nature combined with people whose lives and stories draw you close from the beginning, not just another mystery. This is No. One in the Poke Rafferty series. Bet you can't read just one as you will have to find out what happens next to Poke (travel writer turned detective), Rose (his former go-go dancer and exprostitute girlfriend), Maiou (formerly homeless and worse, now the adopted daughter of Poke), and Superman (also known as Boo, young boy formerly and possibly again homeless and worse). I almost went to Four Stars when the author didn't offer any resolution to the fate of Superman/Boo, then resigned myself to having to proceed to Book Series No. 2, 3, etc., to find out more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly Good

    I picked this up when it was offered free for Nook, and I was pleasantly surprised. The subject matter is edgy and not the type of thing I usually read, but the author's skill and wit won me over. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Awsome!

    Got this book for free but would have paid for it. The opening was a little hard to get started but once you understand the characters you'll love it. The plot makes this one a page turner. Buying the next book in the series as I write this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    WOW!

    I loved this book! It had me hooked from the start. I can't wait to read the other books by this author. I would definatly recommend this book to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very gripping story

    Having lived through some of the events in the story they brought the history of those wars back from memory. I was constantly on the seat of my chair, turning pages as fast as possible to the end. Everything doesn't turn out as one would hope, but that is real life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    A good surprise

    I only read the sample because I liked the main character's name. I thought it was pretty good and when I saw that the book was free, I downloaded it. I was pretty shocked about how well I liked the book! It held my attention and it was written pretty well. There is really great character development. The only thing that I wasn't too sure about, was how the book ended. A new antagonist was introduced and then it just ended. Overall, I would consider reading more of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Pretty good

    Random person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    okay

    rainy day read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Fast moving.

    Very much enjoyed and will probably read this one again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Great Read

    This is a really good book and even better since it was free. Great intro to try an author I would otherwise not have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Boilerplate Style

    The author's method was predictable and it wasn't until midway through the story that he began to break out of a systematic plot development.

    I liked the characters but the plot was "over the top."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    A Good Surprise

    I downloaded this on free Fridays because the sample was good and I liked the main character's name. It was well written, intriguing, and I could not always figure out what was going to happen next. There was amazing character development. The ending was extremely abrupt, that was the only thing I didn't like. A new antagonist was introduced, and then it was just over. (At least the main story of the book had already finished, right?) Overall, I would consider reading more Poke Rafferty books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Gut-Wrenching Thailand

    This is an excellent read although it made me sick in its discussion of children and what goes on in this horrible country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    This is why Free Fridays works

    I am now going to go and pick up the second third and, when avaliable, the fourth. I have not had a book make me not want to put it down and yet also make me want to throw it across the room at the same time. Great attention to detail with easy to like characters. "Not all murders are bad people." - one of my favorite quotes. I really did not like all the kid tourture / sex stuff that Poke found, but that is just me being squemish. If you have not done so already pick this up while it is still free on ebook. I think you will be supprised.

    Warning- This book does have a lot of detail, and some of the kid tourture / sex stuff can be VERY disturbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 811 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41