Customer Reviews for

Naked Economics: Undressing the Dismal Science

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Want to know economics... read this.

    One of the most well written economics books that removes the technical terms and describes economics in layman's terms. If you want to grasp economics in a easily read way, this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Wheelan's work is straightforward enough for a beginner (it has, in fact, been used as an Honors Economics textbook in high school) and detailed enough to not seem overly simplistic. The author leads one through the basic ideas and concepts of economics (with much relevant contemporary data) and teaches one to think like an economist. This book is highly recommended for anyone who wishes to find an enjoyable introduction to this "dismal" science.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    I am the kind of person who likes to have a basic idea of promin

    I am the kind of person who likes to have a basic idea of prominent things that are discussed among "fancy people" during dinner parties or casual lunch conversations. With this book you are able to gain a basic understanding of what it means to think like an economist. It reads more like a humor book than a textbook, and the ideas he presents can really get you thinking. I recommend this book to anyone even if the are not planning on ever studying economics because even if you don't study it, it still exists and you should know about it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Great

    This was really good, got me really excited to be an econ major next year. Probably a little to simple at some parts if you already know a bit about economics, though at other parts some concepts can be tough to grasp. A really great read all around and a good starting point for looking into other works :) highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    A great intro that never talks down to the reader!

    This tome is well-written, interesting, and quite relevant despite the earlier publishing date. It would be interesting to see an updated version considering the economic mess that we are currently experiencing. Economic choices & ideas are cogently disseminated,allowed to be explained, illustrated with good examples, and reviewed later on when needed. I would recommend this for anyone, maybe less so for an economist except as a guide to some breezy & interesting writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    What got me started.

    I've had this book for years, and I continue to find myself picking it up and re-reading ti from time to time. I did that just recently saying I wish more teachers introduced Economics to students this way. It inspired me to start a blog for that very reason, helping kids understand Economics a little more by what they know and I'm doing that with a game called World of Warcraft. I created The WoW Economist, and a lot of my reasons for writing on the topics and the way I write on the topic started with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great economics book.

    Fantastic book. Perfect mix of economic concepts and interesting stories. I've seen it used successfully in econ classrooms and I will be attempting to do the same. Interesting from page one. I'm an unashamed fan of the author's Yahoo! Finance column; even though I don't agree with everything he posts there, it always, always gives me stuff to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    highly recommended!!!

    Naked Economics is an edifying and highly enjoyable read. Well written, funny, serious, and easy to understand. This is the type of book that every American should read (especially opponents of free trade).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    I learned more from this than 2 Econ classes!

    The main reason i picked this book up was because I always had a top-level interest in economics, but have never found a book to explain it. This should replace the high school text books - If I walked out of High School with this book under my belt I would have been more business and politically driven. If I walked out of COLLEGE with this book under my belt instead of my basic econ class I would have had more of a clue as to what I was doing with my credit cards and savings, as well as gotten a heads up before starting my business... Very enjoyable - highly recommended, a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    Weighty Book, Simple as 123

    Excellent book for anyone who wants to get a grasp on economics in general. Charles Wheelan's writing style is what struck me the most. Very elegant, yet simple language used to explain complex topics. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2