Customer Reviews for

Naked Empire (Sword of Truth Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Since watching the tv series and having that come to an end i decided to read the series. It was really nice to read and be able to put a face to the characters. I think the books are even better for it. I don't usually read the reviews before reading a book especially...
Since watching the tv series and having that come to an end i decided to read the series. It was really nice to read and be able to put a face to the characters. I think the books are even better for it. I don't usually read the reviews before reading a book especially since it's in a series and i'm going to read it anyway, but for some reason i read this one and found almost all the negative reviews to once again be unneccesarily harsh. As like the others i thought the story well written and at times found myself not being able to put my nook down until some of the characters had gotten through what ever ordeal they were going through. I think this story has had more suspense than some of the others. I can't wait to get started on the next. I give it 5 stars.

posted by 6687128 on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

400 Pages of Recap?!

Very disappointing, 400 pages of the book are just recaps of the previous books in the series. The characters are constantly stopping the action to explain their actions based on recaps of other books in the series. Several characters seem to have no purpose other than ...
Very disappointing, 400 pages of the book are just recaps of the previous books in the series. The characters are constantly stopping the action to explain their actions based on recaps of other books in the series. Several characters seem to have no purpose other than to recap the prior books. The heavy hand of an editor who wanted to make the book stand by itself (without the reader having read the prior books in the series) is quite evident. You usually see this when a writer changes publishers. I've already purchased 'Chainfire', but haven't started it yet, but if it takes 300 to 400 pages to get the story moving this may be the end my purchasing Terry Goodkind novels.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    400 Pages of Recap?!

    Very disappointing, 400 pages of the book are just recaps of the previous books in the series. The characters are constantly stopping the action to explain their actions based on recaps of other books in the series. Several characters seem to have no purpose other than to recap the prior books. The heavy hand of an editor who wanted to make the book stand by itself (without the reader having read the prior books in the series) is quite evident. You usually see this when a writer changes publishers. I've already purchased 'Chainfire', but haven't started it yet, but if it takes 300 to 400 pages to get the story moving this may be the end my purchasing Terry Goodkind novels.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Enough!

    Somewhere around page 475 I started rooting for the poison. This is really sad considering how good the first book in this series was.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    How Richard converts a city of peaceloving hippies into fresh troops for his army.

    This book sets new standards for bad books. Possibly the worst book i have ever read in any genre. It starts out with 200 pages of recap from the last book. Then richard gets poisoned(!) by a group of hippies to force him to come rescue them from the evil order to get his antidote. With a couple of endless repeptitive uninspiring, and incredibly boring speaches, richard convinces these hippies to give up their 3000 year old tradition of non-violence. Then he lets his new army of hippies slaughter a group of unarmed hippies that dont want to fight before he takes on this books evil villian. All of this with his noble sidekick, a goat.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Boring

    The last 100 pages of this book are all that's worth reading. Goodkind bores us with too much babbling. Not much of this book contributes to moving along the general themes and goals of the series. You're okay to skip much of this book without losing vital information.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Unbelievably poor storyline

    The first 4 books in the Sword of Truth series are great. Unfortunately the last couple books have not been very good. This is a book in which plot and character development takes a backseat to the authors political and social commentary. The first couple hundred pages are focused on describing what already happened in past books. The majority of the book is simply the same speach about personal responsibilty repeated to every new character that Richard comes into contact with. The ending of the book is one of the worst examples of deus ex machina I have ever had the misfortune of reading. It's almost as if Goodkind discovered that he couldn't think of a way to solve the problem Richard faced so he just wrote the equivelant of 'Richard wanted everything to be better, so everthing got better'.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good read

    Since watching the tv series and having that come to an end i decided to read the series. It was really nice to read and be able to put a face to the characters. I think the books are even better for it. I don't usually read the reviews before reading a book especially since it's in a series and i'm going to read it anyway, but for some reason i read this one and found almost all the negative reviews to once again be unneccesarily harsh. As like the others i thought the story well written and at times found myself not being able to put my nook down until some of the characters had gotten through what ever ordeal they were going through. I think this story has had more suspense than some of the others. I can't wait to get started on the next. I give it 5 stars.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Written in High D'Haran, " Talga Vassternich" to the Banished_ A Naked Empire to the Shadows of Evil. Indeed, Goodkind's Great Follow up to the Pillars of Creation. Superb.

    In the Eight installment of The Sword of Truth, Goodkind takes readers to the Bandakaran Empire, a place pass up through the mountains, to the East from The Pillars of Creation.
    Goodkind's "Naked Empire" is the follow up to " Pillars of Creation" a must read for those unanswered questions. While the previous installment dealt with those pristinely ungifted people, descendants of the house of Rahl, "Naked Empire" details the genesis of those " Banished" who were victims of fate. While not being strange to readers, the ongoing war between Emperor Jagang and Lord Rahl, has been explored from both sides. In this installment, However; the author aims at the Imperial Order's vicious ideology, the real force behind the conflict between both worlds.

    In "Naked Empire" Goodkind explores the world before Richard and Kahlan, and the pristinely ungifted people of Bandakar, the great attempt to alter the very nature of mankind. For beyond is evil: Those who cannot see.

    While Jagang has managed to capture the Wizard's Keep, and along with the Sisters of the Dark being able to construct those human weapons from the ancient war, Richard has been poisoned, meanwhile, his gift has mysteriously started to decay.

    "Naked Empire" is the colossal return of Goodkind to the foundations of a new kind of people, to the Pillars of Creation. Goodkind's creative writing succeeds again. Taken from the ancient book "The Pillars of Creation", and an Empire built by Kaja-Rang, a Wizard from the times of the great war. Goodkind's imagination, and spellbinding world prevails again. The story of Kahlan and Richard continues, In the eight installment, The sword of truth becomes difficult to resist.

    The author takes readers back to Aydindril, Home of the Confessors, and the Wizard's Keep, The people's palace,and to an unknown world known as the Bandakar Empire. In a spellbinding world surrounded by Wizards, Mord-siths, prophets, the sisters of the Dark, the ungifted descendants of the House of Rahl, Slides, and Betty the Goat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sword of Truth Triumphs Again

    Terry Goodkind is a master of extending the story line and still keeping it interesting. He deals with in depth issues such when is it right; or is it right, to kill another person in defense of our freedoms. The extent of segrating peoples simply because they are different. Each persons responsibility to defend their own freedoms and the equality of all people. But! He does it in such a way that it blends with the story, it becomes part of what you are reading with out jumping out at you and screaming for attention. The bravery and dedication of the main characters to the cause of freedom and the right to be what ever you choose to be is inspiring and uplifting. Goodkind also delves into the thesis of God and Satan; good and evil. I'm not even sure if he realized he was doing so at the time he was writing it, but the concept of "The Keeper" and "The Creator" are consistent throughout the series. One word of caution though; Goodkind is very graphic in his description of evil and the atrosities that evil men do. He does not hesitate to describe rape or murder in all it's gory horror. But then perhaps it must be so for the reader to fully grasp the horror of the event befalling the world at large. the Sword of Truth Series will challenge you to consider the descisions we all make in real life and all the while carrying us away to another world and time to feel the trails and triumphs of our heros and heroins as they stand in the path of evil and vigilantly guard the way against trespass.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Goodkind is GREAT!!!!

    Some people I know shy away from reading long or wordy books. When it comes to Goodkind, they shouldn't. He is an excellent author who fills his books with courageous and intelligent characters. This book just proves my point! It is another outstanding read filled with strong and intelligent social and theological principles. His books have taught me quite a bit, and even though I am only 16, I know I have learned how to become a better person because of them. Read this Book and all of his others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    Decreasing quality

    The first few books were great. But the last few have been steadily declining in quality. This one is the worst, by far. There are many things that come into play in this judgment. Goodkind is the author, and as such he has every right to decide to go a new direction with his books. He has chosen to use the recent SOT books as a tool to promote his philosophy. That in itself is a noble goal, even if you disagree with his philosophy. However, Goodkind's writing and the quality of the books has suffered a mortal wound as a result. <p>Continuing his recent pattern, there is even less exposition, less excitement, less adventure in this book. All making room for several-page (or even chapter-long in one case) repetetive speeches and lectures by Richard and/or Kahlan. I'm sorry, but if he has to resort to that device in order to get his point across, he might be writing in the wrong genre. It would be nice if the story carried along the philosophy: the story and the actions of the characters should naturally reveal what Goodkind wants to teach us. Instead, we are stuck reading endless dialog explaining the same concepts over and over. <p>Besides the exposition, the characters have suffered terribly. First of all, the villains are impossible to identify with. They are strictly evil. Their motivations are evil for only evil's sake. They have no emotions except for contempt, hatred, and power-lust. The only difference between one villain and the next is their varied magic-related abilities. Then there's Richard and Kahlan. They have become 1-dimensional figureheads for Goodkind's philosophy. Nothing they do invokes any kind of emotion or attachment in the reader. There is no depth to them anymore. You know that everything they do--indeed everything that happens in the book--is solely for the purpose of furthering the philosophy Goodkind beats the reader over the head with throughout the book. Through that filter, everything is obvious and rather predictable. I turned it into a game, seeing how much of the book I could predict as I went along, and that's the only thing that kept me going. <p>In short, using a book as a vehicle to promote his philosophy isn't the problem. It's the fact that Goodkind does it in such a ham-handed fashion. He may be a good fantasy writer, and he may be a good philosopher, but he's not good at both at the same time. <p>I bought and read all 8 books so far, but I and my friends who used to be fans won't be buying the next one unless there's a big change. Sadly, it will make this the first series I will ever have stopped reading before reaching the last book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    This series is great if a little (LOT) gory.

    Hate to put these books down even to eat or go to bed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    So good!

    This was a very welcome read after the uphill climb through The Pillars of Creation. Back to the story of Richard and Kahlan. Classic Terry Goodkind, what we have come to expect and love!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Naked empire

    Not up to par.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Better than Pillars of Creation but still not great.

    This book at least has Richard and Kahlan back in it for almost the entire thing. I do not think it is a very important book in the series either, but I wouldn't suggest skipping it as it has some relevant points and skipping 2 books in a row may be a bad idea. I sound terrible saying to skip books but trust me, its hardly important in the long run.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Terry Goodkind is one of the best authors out there. Highly recommend! This is one of the many great books in the series. A must read!

    It is different from his other books, but it is still good as it shows a whole new civilization that we don't know about in his world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    hhhmmmmmm....

    where to start....i am fairly new to the sword of truth series...i started about 2 months ago and ran through them all...only to slow down at pillars of creation until about halfway through it and came to love it and feel the philosophy represented a critical point in these stories and richards transformation through yet another trial of his but one like no other...i missed some characters at first but got over it...im now 250 pages in on NAKED EMPIRE and i havent even read Zedd, Kahlans etc etc and especially Richards other than the most annoying character yet of Jennsen..i want to throw this book through a window at goodkinds head...i keep reading hoping and waiting..id normally be done by now....im tempted to start another series and i dont do that..i start one and then finish it, for better or worse...i even read debt of bones in one night...does it get better...worse...please let me know

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    A new take

    Although different from most of the sword of Truth series, The Naked Empire is no less of a masterpiece. Unlike the other reviews, I believe that this is an interesting take to show a different side of Richard. I believe this shows that Richard's power is not only in the Sword and magic, but in his personality and force of will. I thought Goodkind also had an interesting plot to make such a powerful man as Richard to fall down. (Although foreseen that they would use his weakness Kahlan, I still thought that how he did it was creative). Although, I must say, perhaps not his best book, still a wonderful addition to the the Sword of Truth series none-the-less. Great Job Goodkind.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    A spoonful of sugar...

    I am fairly new to Terry Goodkind, I read Wizards First Rule this year, and I just finished, Naked Empire. I have burned through this series at a blinding rate however, I am starting to slow down, due to the quality of the books. Terry Goodkind needs to remember the old adage, ¿A spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down¿ when he spouts of page after page of philosophy. The first Terry Goodkind book to grab my attention was Faith of the Fallen. Basically, I just liked the cover. However, I decided it would be best to read the rest of the series first. I was disappointed when I reached Faith of the Fallen in my opinion, Goodkind spent way to much time spouting off philosophy, while letting the quality of the story suffer dramatically. I am getting ready to read Chainfire, and I am not looking forward to it after reading several reviews stating it was worse than Naked Empire. It seems to me Terry Goodkind is losing momentum and needs to end the series and write philosophy text books or ditch the philosophy and end the series with some long overdue action. In my opinion, if you are looking for action, stay away, you want find much here. If you enjoy philosophy, keep in mind that I am an Ayn Rand and George Orwell fan, but Goodkind books are getting to be a bit much for me to take.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18