Customer Reviews for

The Naked God (Night's Dawn Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    If you are a space opera fan, there is nothing better than Peter Hamilton's work

    I read novels as entertainment, and enjoy most sci-fi for it's ability to project likely or alternate futures, combined with some interesting tech.

    The Naked God is the last of the Night's Dawn trilogy, and if you are looking for an escape to dive into, this trilogy is your vehicle. Hamilton creates vast, galaxy sized, intertwined and complex plots supported by innumerable main and supporting characters (probably 50+), frequently too many to remember. The Nook version of this series is great for it's ability to quickly let you search for characters who have not appeared for 150 pages to recall who they are.

    I've not reached the end yet of this last 1000+ page climax. But through 450 pages I'm enjoying it as much as the first two. There is so much here that the beginning of the series, back on Lalonde with the settlers, seems like it occurred years ago. The scope and size of the work makes the "Lord of the Rings" look like a novelette.

    Hamilton's universe is vast and convincing to the point where even the improbable (affinity, souls from the beyond, etc) become perfectly acceptable and even commonplace. The fact that your B.S. or "plot contrivance" alarm doesn't get triggered is a credit to Hamilton's story telling.

    As they say for a good movie, it provides an excellent suspension of belief that allows the reader to relate to what we would consider magical and mystical happenings.

    I won't rehash the plot here. If you enjoy some solid sci-fi/fantasy of the moderately "hard" varity, set in a convincing, well conceived and described universe with unique properties, pick up this or even some other Peter F. Hamilton (loved Pandora's Star as well).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    It was like i was there!

    To try and explain the journey this and the other books in the trilogy take you is impossible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Peter F. Hamilton, what a fresh breath of sci-fi.

    His series "The Night's Dawn" is a wonderful ride of emotion and suspense. His writing style is fantastic. This series in my opinion puts him up with greats like Isaac Asimov and William Gibson. I look forward to reading more of his literature. I would write more but "Less is more".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Howe du yoo spel finnale?

    The first two books in this trilogy were so amazing that I really expected a lot from this last installment. I was disappointed. Sure, I still enjoyed it, but it just didn't come close to the innovativeness that Hamilton has already displayed. I still recommend the entire trilogy though. Oh, and about my review title... that's a reference to the poor editting of this book. I can't remember ever reading a book with so many spelling and grammar errors in it. Some will think that this just sounds anal retentive, but it's really hard to immerse yourself in a book when you keep hitting these 'speed bumps' all of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    A series that knows when to end !

    I thoroughly enjoyed this series, it was captivating and the development of the characters was excellent. I found this last book rushed through the ending but then, I'm so glad the series actually ended (as opposed to Wheel of Time which is annoyingly dragging on and on...). A great read and highly recommended to all sci-fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Outstanding finale to this great series

    Mankind's reign appears to be through when a tear between humanity's plane and the afterlife occurs. Seeing an opportunity, many souls rush across the hole to steal the bodies of living beings. None of the dead wants to linger in the nothingness that allowed them to see the active physical universe with nothing else in their dreadful hell. Several planets are yanked into the void of the dead in an attempt to bring some physical life to the environs..... However, many of the dead refuses to return to hell. Al Capone and his Mafia grow stronger and the Quinn Dexter cult continues their march towards the end of humanity. On the other hand, the Liberation Army exorcises the dead souls from their host. Mankind's last hope resides in persuading a remote God to give up its eternal sleeping and intercede on their behalf.... THE NAKED GOD is an incredible accomplishment that shows how thought provoking yet entertaining science fiction could be. The epic stimulating story line centers on an apocalyptic future in which humanity appears on the brink of being annihilated by its own dead. Though unable to figure out how the extraordinary Peter F. Hamilton kept track of everyone, the myriad of characters are all fully developed so that readers understand their motives. Not for readers who want a quick action-packed thriller, this novel and the previous two tales (see THE REALITY DYSFUNCTION and THE NEUTRONIUM ALCHEMIST) make up some of the best fiction to occur in many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2000

    6 Volume 'Epic' wraps up in 20 pages!

    A pretty good spaceship and people epic is completely disjointed with a trite, cliche filled 'wrap' that takes 20 pages. Characters which Hamilton spends hundreds of pages building up are treated simplistically and superficially. It really seems that he just had to end things, so he did, even though it is unrelated to much else in the book. What a bummer in a 900 page last volume! Very poorly edited as well, with at least 25 misused words - 'their' instead of 'there', etc. Proofed by MS Word, or by a trainee. Clearly a rip-off to take advantage of those who have already invested their time in the previous 5 volumes. Wait for paperback if you must, but you will be disappointed then, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Excellent SF

    Mankind¿s reign appears to be through when a tear between humanity¿s plane and the afterlife occurs. Seeing an opportunity, many souls rush across the hole to steal the bodies of living beings. None of the dead wants to linger in the nothingness that allowed them to see the active physical universe with nothing else in their dreadful hell. Several planets are yanked into the void of the dead in an attempt to bring some physical life to the environs. <P>However, many of the dead refuses to return to hell. Al Capone and his Mafia grow stronger and the Quinn Dexter cult continues their march towards the end of humanity. On the other hand, the Liberation Army exorcises the dead souls from their host. Mankind¿s last hope resides in persuading a remote God to give up its eternal sleeping and intercede on their behalf. <P>THE NAKED GOD is an incredible accomplishment that shows how thought provoking yet entertaining science fiction could be. The epic stimulating story line centers on an apocalyptic future in which humanity appears on the brink of being annihilated by its own dead. Though unable to figure out how the extraordinary Peter F. Hamilton kept track of everyone, the myriad of characters are all fully developed so that readers understand their motives. Not for readers who want a quick action-packed thriller, this novel and the previous two tales (see THE REALITY DYSFUNCTION and THE NEUTRONIUM ALCHEMIST) make up some of the best fiction to occur in many years. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3