Customer Reviews for

Naked Heat (Nikki Heat Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 781 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(306)

4 Star

(260)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

The return of the TV stars in their second heated investigative novel will please fans of the series

Reporter Jameson Rook wrote about the exploits of NYPD homicide detective Nikki Heat for t her for First Press magazine (see Heat Wave). The cop loathes the publicity as she just wants to do her job.

Heat's current assignment is high profile as gossip columnist for ...
Reporter Jameson Rook wrote about the exploits of NYPD homicide detective Nikki Heat for t her for First Press magazine (see Heat Wave). The cop loathes the publicity as she just wants to do her job.

Heat's current assignment is high profile as gossip columnist for the New York Star Ledger Cassidy Towne was found murdered. She quickly learns Rook was working on an article about the most despised columnist in New York. Ever the charmer, Rook joins Heat on her investigation though she would prefer it otherwise as they are no longer an entry in spite of the heated attraction they have for each other. The pair quickly finds a horde of people who felt Cassidy, in her sensationalistic headline grabbing "Buzz Rush" column, destroyed them without regard. One of these famous people is her killer, but the culprit remains elusively out of reach as all these raging celebs look possible.

The return of the TV stars in their second heated investigative novel will please fans of the series as Naked Heat is a superb Manhattan murder mystery. The story line is fast-paced as the lead couple tosses barb grenades at each other while also working the rich, famous, and notorious crowd. Readers will enjoy the antics of Rook and Heat who, as they work the case, could keep the northeast balmy in winter.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Scattered but Ties in at the End

It was an enjoyable book, and if you liked the first one then this one is probably going to be just a tad better because it has a better pace. It didn't take me as long to get involved in the plot, and there was an attempt to have you remember and recognize some of the ...
It was an enjoyable book, and if you liked the first one then this one is probably going to be just a tad better because it has a better pace. It didn't take me as long to get involved in the plot, and there was an attempt to have you remember and recognize some of the key themes that are throughout the storyline. However, I found myself craving more of some of the side characters, and it felt like some of the components didn't receive enough attention, and were almost forgotten about until the very end. It felt odd too because there was the on-off romance with Rook, and suddenly at the end everything seemed fine, with no explanation. I wish the author would have delved into the relationship more, because there's something begging to be explained but is thrown aside for the case. Overall I liked it, but I would not buy the next installment if it were ever created.

posted by FredRock on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 785 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The return of the TV stars in their second heated investigative novel will please fans of the series

    Reporter Jameson Rook wrote about the exploits of NYPD homicide detective Nikki Heat for t her for First Press magazine (see Heat Wave). The cop loathes the publicity as she just wants to do her job.

    Heat's current assignment is high profile as gossip columnist for the New York Star Ledger Cassidy Towne was found murdered. She quickly learns Rook was working on an article about the most despised columnist in New York. Ever the charmer, Rook joins Heat on her investigation though she would prefer it otherwise as they are no longer an entry in spite of the heated attraction they have for each other. The pair quickly finds a horde of people who felt Cassidy, in her sensationalistic headline grabbing "Buzz Rush" column, destroyed them without regard. One of these famous people is her killer, but the culprit remains elusively out of reach as all these raging celebs look possible.

    The return of the TV stars in their second heated investigative novel will please fans of the series as Naked Heat is a superb Manhattan murder mystery. The story line is fast-paced as the lead couple tosses barb grenades at each other while also working the rich, famous, and notorious crowd. Readers will enjoy the antics of Rook and Heat who, as they work the case, could keep the northeast balmy in winter.

    Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rook strikes again

    Jameson Rook, the famous magazine journalist, is found on the scene of Nikki Heat's murder victim - gossip columnist, Cassidy Towne. Rook has been shadowing Towne for his next article.

    Nikki isn't thrilled with their reunion. She's still getting grief from the magazine article he published about her. Plus her team isn't happy with him either. Still, she must work with him to uncover the murderer.

    In a case this big, there's too many celebrities with a grudge against Cassidy Town. She broke many stories, dug up dirt, and slung mud. It's almost impossible to find someone who didn't want her quiet - permanently.

    Heat and Rook wade through the suspects ranging from a member of the mob, a pro baseball player, a sketchy politician, and a singer. Rook has the inside track on Town: she was writing a tell all memoir about someone famous. She refused to divulge that information, but she dug up something juicy.

    I love the combo of the books and the TV show. I like how the books differ from the show, yet I can still picture the characters from the show while reading. It's sort of like a tell-all fictional book - very fun.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Love it!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book as a companion to the TV series... Written in the same tone, you can almost see the characters. Fun, enjoyable read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Scattered but Ties in at the End

    It was an enjoyable book, and if you liked the first one then this one is probably going to be just a tad better because it has a better pace. It didn't take me as long to get involved in the plot, and there was an attempt to have you remember and recognize some of the key themes that are throughout the storyline. However, I found myself craving more of some of the side characters, and it felt like some of the components didn't receive enough attention, and were almost forgotten about until the very end. It felt odd too because there was the on-off romance with Rook, and suddenly at the end everything seemed fine, with no explanation. I wish the author would have delved into the relationship more, because there's something begging to be explained but is thrown aside for the case. Overall I liked it, but I would not buy the next installment if it were ever created.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    SO AMAZING

    Its soooooooo good and thrilling and so Castle!!!! 277 pages so its a quick read but soo worth the money. So many twists.....recommend it highly. Also dont be scared away by the 'naked' in the title. Not very steamy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Charming

    Book2 in the Nikki Heat series

    Without any doubt this charming series is intended for fans of the TV program 'Castle'. Each new addition mimics the warm chemistry created by the show. The plot sends the readers' imagination on a wild ride that has ample cute and amusing twists. This latest is undeniably entertaining, although the writing is run of the mill and predictable; we nevertheless find red herrings, snippets of police work, moments of tensions and romance between the two leads and a snappy dialog.

    'Naked Heat' centers on the murder of a well-known gossip columnist famous for her revealing articles on people in the public eye. It is rumoured that she is about to release a career making tell-all, one that will blow the minds of all concerned. We follow Nikki Heat and her partner hotshot reporter/writer Jameson Rook and her team of detectives on the trail of the murderer of this high profile columnist. The clues some good some misleading takes us through a maze of information, a world of secrets, cover-ups and scandals as they trade barbs and innuendos all the while taking heat from the press and their superiors.

    This fun and fast read will appeal to both regulars of the TV show and enthusiasts of simple, exciting mystery novels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fairstein & Cannell

    This tale of new york crime reminds me a bit of a Linda Fairstein novel, but then I noticed the blurb on the back cover from the late Stephen J. Cannell, and had to admit to seeing some of his influence there as well. I liked Cannell's rather light-hearted touch to his novels, and will miss them. Perhaps author Richard Castle will take up the mantel, which isn't saying that Naked Heat would be Cannell's style of writing. I found it to be awfully wordy, especially towards the end, and the cutesiness factor set a little too high. But it is entertaining, and as we know that's how Cannell and Fairstein keep (kept) selling their novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Better than Heat Wave

    Better than Heat Wave, though you really don't need to have read Heat Wave to enjoy understand this book. If you haven't watched the show (Castle) you will have a hard time picturing what the chars look like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Ok book

    The writing is not very good, but if you are a fan of the show its a fun read. Otherwise the writing is kinda lame.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Fraud

    Naked heat is a duplicate book ,,,,



    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    It is a real novel!

    I would have enjoyed the plot even without the gimmick of the fiction characters being based on fictional characters written by a fictional author. The book is not just a copy of one of the TV show's plots, but you can see that the characters are drawn from the TV show's characters. Niki Heat is a strong and confident female role. I enjoyed her personality quirks. The appearance of the cyotie was a nice touch. My main distraction was I found myself trying to figure out who really wrote the novel. Was it Patterson, Baldacci or an unheralded writer on the TV show?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    Good Fun

    This book is escapist fun at a good price. I'm buying it for gift giving - my mother loves these!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good Read.

    Somewhat predictable plot moves in waves that did provide good entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Danni

    I'm sorry!!! Was on a trip and forgot to post here first.))))) She barks, friendly, to the other dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Bella

    Stares at danni and barks at

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Maria

    She sat on her bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Love the show, love the books!!

    Hooked!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Better than the first!

    Great second book of the series. Leaves you wanting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Loved it

    If you like the T.V. show or never seen it you'll love the entire Heat Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Really Enjoyable

    I read the first "Heat". Then ordered 2, 3, 4 and 5 is on pre-order. Really good fun. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 785 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40