Customer Reviews for

Naked Heat (Nikki Heat Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(262)

3 Star

(127)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

The return of the TV stars in their second heated investigative novel will please fans of the series

Reporter Jameson Rook wrote about the exploits of NYPD homicide detective Nikki Heat for t her for First Press magazine (see Heat Wave). The cop loathes the publicity as she just wants to do her job.

Heat's current assignment is high profile as gossip columnist for ...
Reporter Jameson Rook wrote about the exploits of NYPD homicide detective Nikki Heat for t her for First Press magazine (see Heat Wave). The cop loathes the publicity as she just wants to do her job.

Heat's current assignment is high profile as gossip columnist for the New York Star Ledger Cassidy Towne was found murdered. She quickly learns Rook was working on an article about the most despised columnist in New York. Ever the charmer, Rook joins Heat on her investigation though she would prefer it otherwise as they are no longer an entry in spite of the heated attraction they have for each other. The pair quickly finds a horde of people who felt Cassidy, in her sensationalistic headline grabbing "Buzz Rush" column, destroyed them without regard. One of these famous people is her killer, but the culprit remains elusively out of reach as all these raging celebs look possible.

The return of the TV stars in their second heated investigative novel will please fans of the series as Naked Heat is a superb Manhattan murder mystery. The story line is fast-paced as the lead couple tosses barb grenades at each other while also working the rich, famous, and notorious crowd. Readers will enjoy the antics of Rook and Heat who, as they work the case, could keep the northeast balmy in winter.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scattered but Ties in at the End

It was an enjoyable book, and if you liked the first one then this one is probably going to be just a tad better because it has a better pace. It didn't take me as long to get involved in the plot, and there was an attempt to have you remember and recognize some of the ...
It was an enjoyable book, and if you liked the first one then this one is probably going to be just a tad better because it has a better pace. It didn't take me as long to get involved in the plot, and there was an attempt to have you remember and recognize some of the key themes that are throughout the storyline. However, I found myself craving more of some of the side characters, and it felt like some of the components didn't receive enough attention, and were almost forgotten about until the very end. It felt odd too because there was the on-off romance with Rook, and suddenly at the end everything seemed fine, with no explanation. I wish the author would have delved into the relationship more, because there's something begging to be explained but is thrown aside for the case. Overall I liked it, but I would not buy the next installment if it were ever created.

posted by FredRock on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rook strikes again

    Jameson Rook, the famous magazine journalist, is found on the scene of Nikki Heat's murder victim - gossip columnist, Cassidy Towne. Rook has been shadowing Towne for his next article.

    Nikki isn't thrilled with their reunion. She's still getting grief from the magazine article he published about her. Plus her team isn't happy with him either. Still, she must work with him to uncover the murderer.

    In a case this big, there's too many celebrities with a grudge against Cassidy Town. She broke many stories, dug up dirt, and slung mud. It's almost impossible to find someone who didn't want her quiet - permanently.

    Heat and Rook wade through the suspects ranging from a member of the mob, a pro baseball player, a sketchy politician, and a singer. Rook has the inside track on Town: she was writing a tell all memoir about someone famous. She refused to divulge that information, but she dug up something juicy.

    I love the combo of the books and the TV show. I like how the books differ from the show, yet I can still picture the characters from the show while reading. It's sort of like a tell-all fictional book - very fun.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    I came to the Castle series last year and I loved the show so I

    I came to the Castle series last year and I loved the show so I naturally wanted to read the books. I enjoyed Heat Wave and for the most part I enjoyed Naked Heat. I loved the way it was written. You could really hear the actors bring there characters fictional counterparts to life.  What I did not enjoy about this book was the authors lack of baseball knowledge. The way the MLB post season operates was misrepresentative. I know it is a small detail but it bugged me. Still a good book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Fun read

    Like reading a Castle episode. A fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Loved it

    If you like the T.V. show or never seen it you'll love the entire Heat Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Really Enjoyable

    I read the first "Heat". Then ordered 2, 3, 4 and 5 is on pre-order. Really good fun. Well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    If you love the show this is a must read. You can see the charac

    If you love the show this is a must read. You can see the characters in Castle in your mind as you're reading t his book. The dialogue is what Castle,Beckett,Montgomery,Esposito,and Ryan would say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    After I had read "Frozen Heat" by Richard Castle, I ordered "Naked Heat" and "Heat Rises" because I loved the first book I read so much. There is lots of action and surprises and almost certain death for Nikki Heat but she manages to stay focused and smart and escapes the danger. She is a fearless protagonist. Book lovers should put this "Heat" series by Richard Castle on their must read list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended...great read!

    Excellent character development...great plot & sub-plots...another Richard Castle hit! Interesting comparison to the TV series..."Castle". Always nice to see the development of a series of mysteries...similar to Jonathan Kellerman's "Dr. Alex Delaware" series. Looking forward to the next novel in Castle's series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Keep on coming!

    Enjoyed the mystery and the detail on the detective work. Again, I especially liked the interaction of the character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    1/23/13

    1/23/13 Love the show and the books aren't half bad. ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Fill the void

    This is a very enjoyable book. The chemistry between the characters continues to develope with each book. If you are a Castle fan reading this is a wonderful way to fill the void when the show gets a break. The 'people' that the characters are based on come shining through and you can almost catch Beckette popping the back of Castle's head in places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    This book was very good cannot wait for more

    This book was very good cannot wait for more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Fun Read

    If you enjoy watching Castle on TV, you will enjoy this book series. It contains the same humor and personality traits as the show, with just a little twist. Don't go into it expecting anything deep - just have fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    4 Stars!

    A little slower in places than in the first book but still a very solid and addictive read. I can't wait to start the third book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Fun read

    This was a fun read, especially if you watch the show. This one was a bit better than the first book and much better developed. This is not great literature and it's not as good as the show, but it is light, funny, and enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    A good flea chaser to waste a lazy afternoon.

    I like this series because of the tv shows. I hear the tv characters voices in my head as I read.

    Read this one for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Must read if you like the tv show!

    If you like the show "Castle" you will like this companion book. It' s entertaining, funny, and very droll. Check in to see the romance blossom in the book way before it ever happens on the show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Recommend to anyone who likes mysteries

    I was surprised how good it was sense the author is on a Tv series. I did not think it was for real as other mysteries. It was a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    After getting hooked on the TV program, I just had to read the books. Great reading and I would recommended to anyone who likes fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    The book I wanted to read the first time around

    Naked Heat turned out to be the book that I wanted to read when I picked up the first book of the series, Heat Wave. This second book in Richard Castle's Nikki Heat series, published to tie-in with the hit ABC show Castle, was much more substantial than the first, and an all-round better read. The plot revolves around the death of a not-much-liked gossip columnist, Cassidy Towne, and around uncovering the many layers that obscure the reason for her death. To add to the drama, Nikki Heat and Jameson Rook have not seen each other for a while, and the way in which they reconnect at the beginning of Naked Heat sets the stage for some interesting byplay in their (re)developing relationship. Of course, this plotline echoes the Season 3 premiere of the show, in which Castle is found with the victim of a murder, and this initial tie-in sets the stage for the rest of the book. Many of the issues that I did not like with the first book didn't arise in the second. Naked Heat was even more solidly plotted, with an engaging mystery and characters (suspects and victims) that were varied and interesting. There was a much better sense of polish, with lots of attention being paid to producing a well told story, and not so much going to establishing the book as a tie-in to the show. It certainly benefitted from this treatment, as well as possibly from the fact that the writer(s) simply may have had more time to work on this one. Both Heat Wave and Naked Heat contain vastly entertaining, not unduly taxing, extremely engaging `whodunit' mysteries, but Naked Heat does it much, much better. In Naked Heat, there's also a much clearer distinction drawn between Richard Castle and Jameson Rook, as well as Kate Beckett and Nikki Heat. While the conceit of asking the reader to see the show's characters in the ones on the page still applies, Rook and Heat seem more fully drawn, with identifiably separate personalities from their television counterparts. As much as I want to be able to `see' something of Beckett and Castle in the main characters of the books, I also want Rook and Heat to not merely be carbon copies, but to be able to stand on their own as well-rounded characters. After reading the first book, I thought that maybe I was expecting too much, but in Naked Heat this expectation was well realized. Jameson Rook is a more abrasive character than Richard Castle. He's a little less likeable and so it's definitely not as easy to forgive his foibles. Additionally, Rook comes over as more self-serving than Castle and, along with some other minor differences, this serves to give Rook more ground to stand on as a character in his own right. The same can be said for Nikki Heat, who is a little rougher, a little less tolerant, and quite a bit `sluttier' (to use the show's term) than Kate Beckett. At the same time, Nikki is clearly seen to be working through the conflicts of what she wants in her personal life, especially as it concerns Rook, and this serves to make her as likeable and engaging as Beckett, while still establishing that she is someone different. What didn't change between the first and second books of the series were the references to the show, which added another interesting level on which to read the book. Once you're a fan of the TV series, you can't help but notice the not-so-subtle references to the show and it feels like you're discovering little treasures along the way. The practice in the show to referencing other projects whi

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14