Customer Reviews for

Naked Lunch: Die ursprüngliche Fassung

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Naked Lunch is on my plate

    My dad bought me a copy of 'Naked Lunch' last Christmas. I read the first few pages and I loved it. However, school and it's required readings forced me to postpone my reading. My junior year, during final exams, I read most of, and eventually completed this book. I loved it. I was so enthralled by the author's word choice and his descriptions of events. I tried to get my brother to read it, but it freaked him out too much. My dad started to read it, but he never finished. I got another of Burroughs' books about dreams for my birthday. I thought it was very interesting, but then I was at my library, when I noticed a book called 'The Metamorphosis'. I became obssessed with this book because I could sympathize with the character, Gregor. Of course, I have never been turned into a bug, but I know what it is like to have people reject you because you are not exactly like them. I recieved 'Junky' for Christmas, and I have not been able to put it down. Burroughs just has this style of writing that no one else has. He was a great writer and definitely one of the biggest influences on writing as we know it. I highly recommend 'Naked Lunch'. It is one of my favorite books, and one of the greatest ever written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    A Masterpiece

    Naked Lunch is an exercise in critical thinking. William Burroughs disguises his arguments using two quite different forms of writing. First, he covers his subject matter with carefully wrought, emotionally charged masks. These masks cover his critiques so thoroughly that few can see past them to the underlying criticisms. Second, Naked Lunch is purposely written as a disjointed amalgam of many small pieces which can only be understood by disassembling the portions and reassembling them into a new cohesive whole within one¿s mind. Burroughs¿ intent was to be inscrutable, to confuse and confound, leaving his readers aware of only that which is ¿superficial and relative¿. The reader cannot perform this act purposely. Burroughs says it can only be achieved by adopting a mind-set contrary to that of most Americans one must ¿learn to relax and wait for the answer¿. Burroughs¿ rationale, his real joke, in Naked Lunch is to satirize and disparage American culture in such a way that the well-educated and affluent leaders of the country at the time could not (and many still can't) understand his critiques of society. This unnatural act, delving beneath two layers of subterfuge to find understanding, is the ¿revelation¿ Burroughs offers and is the real truth behind Naked Lunch, a magnificent critique of 1950's society and a superlative example of literary art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    How To Skin Your Mother

    The book 'How To Skin Your Mother' Has been Re-Named 'God Drug' and is still in assembly. Untill that comes out, read this(Naked Lunch)or see the Movie now on DVD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Not a best seller

    I would not recommend Naked Lunch to anyone that would like to sit down and actually enjoy a book. Naked Lunch contains no solid plot,random storylines, and drawn out descriptions of useless information that if read 5 times, would then be able to relate it to bigger picture of society/postmodern trends or something like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    WOH!

    There is little to say other than WOH! When reading this book you become a part of it, and a part of the world described within. It is hard to imagine the world of psychedelic madness that is described and it is even harder to let go and return to this world. The book grabs you by the neck, beats the snot out of you and spits you out a withered, convulsing mess. It's pure madness and pure genius in one. There is no way to describe what the book is about because it is more of an experience than a novel. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is that it takes quite a bit of studying to understand most of the book. Some of it is beyond understanding. This, I believe, takes a little away from the intensity. Imagine the rush of launching into the upper atmosphere on a shuttle and then skydiving without a parachute back to earth. That is what this book feels like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    metaphoric bliss

    bills writings in this book will have you wanting to put it down just as much as it screams out to be picked back up.this book was borrowed to me by a friend who is a genius in his own right, i knew i wouldnt be let down.if you can sift through the entanglement of words and classic bill burroughs catch phrases, youll be dropped head first in the middle of graphic, self-destructing, helpless paralysis that is drug addiction. it gives you a glimpse of what a mind and world IS to a junkie and what horrible things are with them daily. theres also some humor, though it be dark, its still there.enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Absolutely genius

    Naked Lunch is the best heroin documentary that one could find. Burrough's play with words is brilliant. I recommend this book to anyone that has a sense for great modern literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    DEADSY likes this book

    I personally have not yet read the book but I was on the official website for the band DEADSY (check em out, they're good) and one of the members had this down as their fav. book!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    Naked Lunch. Forgot the meat.

    Here we have a book, over looked and under credited. William's 'Junky' is definitely a book for young addicts or anyone for that matter. I read it when i was 15, and I had to re-read it approximately 3 times to figure out exactly what was going on. It is well written and describes scenes and events so perfectly, you, yourself might have to read it a few times over. I am currently reading 'Wild Boys' By william, and that too is a masterpiece. Both come highly recomended by an 18 year old kid who does not go to school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    BILLY CORGAN RECOMMENDS THIS BOOK!

    i didnt really read this book, but at a smashing pumpkins website, billy said that he recommends everyone to read this wonderful book. P.S. BILLY IS GOD!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2001

    best surealist wrighting

    Never before had I read a book that I didn't quite understand but yet couldn't put down. When I read the first page, I was compelled to turn the next page- even though I didn't quite understood where the story was going. And this process went on until I finished it All in all, the story's writing was of a style that I could only describe as surreal. It truly was 'A cry from hell' as one of the critics put it and the main idea of the whole novel left me the impression that the nature of addiction truly is the result of the 'algebra of need' that functions in all of us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2001

    limitless

    i love this book! burroughs has no boundaries to junk to homosexuality, this man will pour out his heart no matter how twisted and beautiful. i advise everyone to read this book. life isn't lollypops and mayberry and burroughs proves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    A nightmare journey...wouldn't you?

    Burroughs did more to redefine the novel than anyone since James Joyce. If you're going into this novel looking for narrative and a plot line...well, forget it. What you'll get are sketches, routines, and hallucinations depicting Burroughs' singular view of life. He sees sex and drugs as mere manifestations of the ultimate drug--control. If you've ever wondered what it would be like in hell, this should give you a pretty fair idea. I've never read anything like it before, and never will again. Burroughs' influence on today's writers cannot be discounted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Serve Me Up Some Naked Lunch

    Naked Lunch- a large serving of drugs, sex and hallucinatory characters. A well written book filled with stories of graphic defectation, drug shooting and scoring and fillled with strange characters, the frightening Dr. Benway and the odd, drug induced Mugwumps. I thought the book was great, a William Burroughs classic that should be thought of as an Alternative literary classic of said drug abuse and sex as well as showing the hallucinatory life of a chronic junky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Lunch is Served

    Burroughs was the first gay writer I had (knowingly) ever read, and he was the best. It's not the story that drew me in, but his use of words, images and descriptions that bring about a sense that individual liberty, the Constitution, and free choice is fragile and finite and, even in the early '50s, was slipping away unnoticed. If it wasn't for some of the subjects that Burroughs covers (homosexuality, drug use, a black-humor send up of the death penalty), this would be the perfect book for a high school English class. It's one of those rare books that can be read for both entertainment value and/or intellectual value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    what nightmares are made of

    i see how some people fail to understand why Naked Lunch is indeed one of the greatest books of this century - the first contact with it leaves you shocked, disoriented. There is no real storyline one could easily explain, nor are the characters characterized at all - Burroughs instead creates atmosphere, litle bits of subreality, and ends up with a world that is in a way more real than it oughta be - he is not afraid of loading it with an incredible amonut of tiny stories, poems, events, descriptions and dialogues that dont have much to do with the 'main' story - as long as it's one huge nightmare, he keeps pushing it - and you simply have to enjoy it, even if you cant really tell why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1