Customer Reviews for

Naked in Da Nang: A Forward Air Controller in Vietnam

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Surprising in its depth

    I don't think any book about combat has ever made me laugh or choke up quite as much as this one. I have looked on the web for a sequel or anything else by these authors. Does anyone know of anything? Is there another book in the works? Did they write any books before this one? I just enjoyed the whole experience of reading this book. The writing was great and the characters were very inspiring. I feel like I know Mike Jackson and he is very likeable. A professor suggested this from a reading list. It would be useful in any history class and much better reading than most of the texts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    It Still Holds Up!

    This book still holds up after rereading it years later. I 'm only sorry Mrs. Dixon-Engel's children's books are mot available on my Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Naked in Da Nang: A Forward Air Controller in Vietnam

    I had the chance to hear the two authors speak recently. It is the first time I ever cried at a professional association meeting. These two are remarkable both on-stage and off. Their commitment to veterans is inspirational. I am now reading their book and it is almost like listening to them speak. Colonel Mike Jackson is quite a character but truly someone to be admired. His associate Mrs. Dixon-Engel is also to be praised for leaving her job and working on behalf of veterans. Together, they are quite a team and that teamwork and commitment produced a highly readable book. It also makes for an inspirational talk that, like the book, includes humor, patriotism and insight as well as parts where you just want to stand up and cheer. I think these two are really having an impact on public opinion toward Vietnam veterans. God Bless them for it. I wish them much success and I thank them for being two such emotionally charged people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    Naked in Da Nang: A Forward Air Controller in Vietnam

    If there is another war book like this one, I have not seen it. I read the reviews and decided it might be interesting. I was wrong. It was a book I could not put down. I've never met mike Jackson and I am proud of him. I am proud of all those men who served in the military and went to Vietnam. I hope to carry a little of Mike Jackson's philosophy into my own life. What a wonderful gift. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    Naked in Da Nang: A Forward Air Controller in Vietnam

    We had the good fortune to not only read this powerful book but hear its authors speak at a recent book event. There are many very good books about Vietnam. This is the best we've ever read from a personal perspective. Mike Jackson's warmth, humor and vitality helps you see how the average Joe adapts to combat and to the military in general. As good as the book is, it would make an even better movie. It is written in a manner that paints very clear images and holds your attention with every sentence. Listening to this couple speak is also a wonderful experience. Their conviction and patriotism rings very true. They have an entertaining back and forth routine that is both funny and sweet. Reading the book and hearing them speak is almost a celebration, something that is long overdue for America's vietnam veterans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Excellent read!

    This story as told, reveals the true tension and fear, felt by the pilot in his everyday life in the air and on the ground. Flying time and free time, all of it still a dangerous feat while in country no matter what.
    Thank you for telling your side and almost putting us in the pilots seat, hard to put down for certain.
    God Bless each and everyone that served in the Vietnam war, and a special prayer for those that didn't make it home.....you are in my thoughts...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Hilarious, Heartbreaking & Hopeful

    This book will touch your heart. It is hilarious, but it will make you cry, too. Mr. Jackson and Ms. Engel have written a book that anyone can relate to, even if you have never been in a war. Mike Jackson is the 'boy next door' who becomes a true hero. With all the talk of those who served in Vietnam and those who didn't, turning this war into a political issue again after so many years, this book brings us back to the fact that it was REAL men and women who served...and served with integrity and honor. On top of that, most Vietnam veterans who survived the war then came back to enrich society with their lives despite what they had been through. When we think of Vietnam, I hope we will think of Mike Jackson and all those like him who served in Vietnam, not the stereotype that has been thrown at us from the media over the years of psychos and murderers. This book is so hopefull. It shows us that We are a strong country, with strong people who can come back from a war and make the world a better place just by being in it. That's how you will feel about Mike Jackson at the end of this book. Vietnam didn't make him bitter, it made him who he is; a very wonderful person. Thank you Mike Jackson for your perpsective and honesty. You have given those of us who only know Vietnam through history a clear picture of the real people who go to war, people who are just like us, but perhaps just a bit more heroic. You are someone to look up to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    Naked in Da Nang: A Forward Air Controller in Vietnam

    Naked in DaNang is a fast-paced story with more insight than most traditional war biographies. Mike Jackson has a quick wit and rapidfire thought processes that carry the readers along and give them a great deal of insight into the thoughts, hopes and fears of men in combat. There are situations in this book that anyone can identify with, such as leaving home for the first time, being away from family and friends, struggling to succeed, and learning to work the system without abusing it. Even the situations that we can't fully apprehend, such as being shot at, we can at least better understand because we see it all through Jackson's naeive but knowing eyes. I was impressed by the jacket comments from Robin Olds, Steve Richie and others. They didn't steer me wrong. It is a book well worth reading. It is a book that will give you a very personal look at the human side of war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Naked in Da Nang: A Forward Air Controller in Vietnam

    I found Naked In Danang to be a thoroughly enjoyable book. It is not for someone who wants a comprehensive history of America's role in Vietnam. By and large the authors don't get into politics; rather, they discuss the individual soldier's (or, in this case, airman's) perspective on the conflict. That alone is more powerful than most 'complete histories,' but this book goes a step farther and makes you feel like you know its reluctant hero the way you know your own brother or father. This is a must read for anyone who has ever been a soldier, or loved and supported a soldier...from any war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    Naked in Da Nang: A Forward Air Controller in Vietnam

    This is an easy book to read. easy because it is a lot of fun but also informative and moving. Mike Jacksons story is one we don't usualyl see about Vietnam. It isn't blood and gore and crazy people. It is like talking to your brother or your dad. Very funny and wise. I hope he writes more books. My wife is reading it now and can't put it down. Maybe more war stories should be written by men and women together. Col. Hackworth and his wife colalborate on books effectively also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Much fun and much wisdom

    The book was excellent, but I expected no less having met both the authors and knowing their personalities and characters. The respect and admiration they have for each other shines through the pages and generates an unusual power. Miss Dixon Engel is able to put Mr. Jackson on paper in a way that defies logic. You feel as tho he is speaking directly to you. I have heard him speak and this is a rare treat. This book will change your position on Vietnam or at least on the men who fought there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Jackson is a real American hero!

    In this politacally charged year, Jackson serves as an inspiration to all veterans and to those who hold their freedom dear. He not only served his 366 days (it was a leap year), but earned every medal. Dixon-Engel's writing style is genius. She shows Jackson's tears, struggles, fears and, most of all, his laughs with a ease of style that captures the reader and makes the book impossible to put down. The best part about this book is that it illustrates the hardships of pilot training, the scariness of physically going to, and being in ,war combined with the more light and funny moments that happen in life no matter where you are. The fact that Jackson can recall them proves his character. This book is a great read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1