Customer Reviews for

Naked in Death (In Death Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 624 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(379)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Great Intro

This first book in the In Death series introduces Eve Dallas NYPSD detective and her crazy life. It's wonderful to see a fully developed sarcastic character that really just doesn't like people. Eve has only two people she truly loves and trusts and it's obvious that sh...
This first book in the In Death series introduces Eve Dallas NYPSD detective and her crazy life. It's wonderful to see a fully developed sarcastic character that really just doesn't like people. Eve has only two people she truly loves and trusts and it's obvious that she's having some major issues dealing with the possibility of allowing anyone else into her trust circle. While the reader can see that she loves and trusts these people it's still not obvious to Eve.

This is Eve's first high profile case and though she's not completely sure the scenes are adding up she doesn't trust herself to go with her instincts against the profiling and evidence.

posted by GHott on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though

The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though I liked this better than other Nora Roberts books, I still found it disturbing. The fact that the victims were legal prostitutes lent itself to an overabundance of sex and violence. I enjoyed the romance bu...
The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though I liked this better than other Nora Roberts books, I still found it disturbing. The fact that the victims were legal prostitutes lent itself to an overabundance of sex and violence. I enjoyed the romance but there again went to far for my liking.

posted by songbirdsue on September 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Intro

    This first book in the In Death series introduces Eve Dallas NYPSD detective and her crazy life. It's wonderful to see a fully developed sarcastic character that really just doesn't like people. Eve has only two people she truly loves and trusts and it's obvious that she's having some major issues dealing with the possibility of allowing anyone else into her trust circle. While the reader can see that she loves and trusts these people it's still not obvious to Eve.

    This is Eve's first high profile case and though she's not completely sure the scenes are adding up she doesn't trust herself to go with her instincts against the profiling and evidence.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awesome Read

    I have absolutely loved this book! It is filled with mystery, murder, romance and suspense. It is set in the future so it is a little different than all the other mystery books out there. I can't wait to read the rest of series.

    It is a lot like Janet Evanovich's series, which I can't get enough of.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    I really love this series, but I was stupid and started at like book 20. I had never heard of the In Death Series, so I just picked up one that looked really good. I was hooked and always meant to go back to the beginning. I was thrilled when I finally got a library card and they had the entire series. Being the first in the series doesn't make any less than the rest. It was great to finally understand how somethings come into play later on. Although, I did miss some of the characters that appear later. I love Eve and Roarke. They are such an interesting couple even from the beginning. I will continue reading them in order now just to catch all the stuff I missed!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love all the In Death Series.

    This was the first In Death Book I had and I had to have it on my Nook . I love all of Nora's In Death and the day she stops I will be very sad for I find them all so good . I just read High Noon and I think she should have made a Series of them also . kind of in the line of her In Death . If enough of us ask she may do so . Bt a great read

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Love!

    Love in death series!! My boss lent me the first one a few months ago and I've been addicted since. I will admit some are better than others but I love them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great Read

    I have read and enjoyed Nora Roberts fot years, but this is my first experience with the In Death series. It was an easy read, but enjoyable. I would definetly recommend it to anyone who enjoys mysteries. I have to complain about the review thar gave away the ending. It' s not the first time that has happened since I began reading on this Nook, and I think it is childish and inconsiderate. These are supposed to be reviews, not " book reports". Nevertheless, this is a good story; good enough that I plan to continue reading the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! This is the start to a very addictive series!

    Loved it! This is the start to a very addictive series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A definitely Good read!

    I love the way J. D. Robb incorporates romance, suspense and thrill into her novel, the characters compliment each other which make the story work. I also love the imagery of the future, it really makes you use your imaination

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Great Story - I love Eve dallas and Roake

    I have read all the JD Robb books and enjoyed them all - I bought this copy for a gift.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though

    The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though I liked this better than other Nora Roberts books, I still found it disturbing. The fact that the victims were legal prostitutes lent itself to an overabundance of sex and violence. I enjoyed the romance but there again went to far for my liking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    The beginning.....

    If you enjoy the romance between Eve and Roarke, this book shows you their start - how they meet and their flowering romance. I would unashamedly say it is a chick book, much like other Nora Roberts works, but this one involves some mystery and violence, so the book moves into another category, rather than straight romance novels. Fun to read, mainly because Roarke is every girl's secret dream man - fabulously wealthy, gorgeous, sensitive, and madly in love with her!! What's not to like?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    A friend recommended this book to me, and if she hadn┬┐t, I proba

    A friend recommended this book to me, and if she hadn’t, I probably never would’ve read it. I have read several of Nora Roberts’s books, and enjoyed them immensely. Even though I’ve always known that she also writes under the pseudonym J.D. Robb, I’ve never considered reading any books written by the latter. Now that I know what both Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb’s writing styles are like, I am left with one question: why, when both writing styles are exactly the same, has she used two pen names? Though that leaves me baffled, I guess that’s not really as important as my thoughts on Naked in Death, but I’d just like to add that have I read a J.D. Robb novel before reading a Nora Roberts novel, I might’ve been more impressed by the former. 

    Anyway, let me get to my point. 

    Naked in Death is a fast-paced read with a lot of action and suspense. The twist at the end wasn’t much of a twist at all as I figured out who the guilty S.O.B. is a little while before the inevitable revelation. There was a little snag that I missed, though I was spot-on in my estimation of the culprit and his motives. This novel is undoubtedly a romantic thriller and though the romance was quite intense and fabulously mouthwatering, I didn’t enjoy the explicit adult scenes, which again reminded why I have such a distaste for erotica. The characters were all life-like, and I especially appreciated the futuristic setting although I felt Robb wasn’t offering anything new in the way of world-building.

    So, that pretty much sums up my overall take on this novel. I’m still in two minds whether I’d like to continue the Eve Dallas series or not, but whichever way, it was an effortless read featuring a kick-ass protagonist with a hotter than lava love-interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    It's J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts, of course I'm giving it 5 Stars

    Once again, J.D. Robb thrills! Very exciting futuristic murder mystery! I love the fact that the main character is a very strong woman who can be vulnerable to the man she loves. Nora Roberts always seems to be able to bring her characters to life. She gives them so much depth, you could almost believe they are real. Her use of detail, without being boring overkill, allows a reader to close their eyes and envision themselves in the scene. I enjoyed starting the series over with book #1 while I waited for the next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Not well written. . Want my money back.

    Hard to believe this author has written so many books.. and people actually buy more of her books... go figure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Cann't wait for the next book.

    I was hooked from the beginning. I could not tell who the real killer was until almost to the end. Suspence, political, greed and romance all in one.
    Robb and Roberts did it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Recommend

    When she writes a book as J. D. Robb or Nora Roberts they are always one of a kind. She gets you so involved you become the person who's the main charactor. I have loved every book I have read of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    A great read!

    This was my 1st J.D. Robb book. Loved the characters. Great story line. My only complaint is its finished! Will definitely seek out another J.D. book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Cliff hanger mystery.

    Another ROBB read that gets your attention early on,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great start to an excellent series

    The first book in a long series of books by Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb. These murder mysteries always keep you guessing, and each one is as interesting as the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I am hooked

    I have started collecting the entire series, from flea markets. Just down to new releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32