Customer Reviews for

Naked in Death (In Death Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 624 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(379)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Great Intro

This first book in the In Death series introduces Eve Dallas NYPSD detective and her crazy life. It's wonderful to see a fully developed sarcastic character that really just doesn't like people. Eve has only two people she truly loves and trusts and it's obvious that sh...
This first book in the In Death series introduces Eve Dallas NYPSD detective and her crazy life. It's wonderful to see a fully developed sarcastic character that really just doesn't like people. Eve has only two people she truly loves and trusts and it's obvious that she's having some major issues dealing with the possibility of allowing anyone else into her trust circle. While the reader can see that she loves and trusts these people it's still not obvious to Eve.

This is Eve's first high profile case and though she's not completely sure the scenes are adding up she doesn't trust herself to go with her instincts against the profiling and evidence.

posted by GHott on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though

The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though I liked this better than other Nora Roberts books, I still found it disturbing. The fact that the victims were legal prostitutes lent itself to an overabundance of sex and violence. I enjoyed the romance bu...
The futuristic setting in this book had great potential. Though I liked this better than other Nora Roberts books, I still found it disturbing. The fact that the victims were legal prostitutes lent itself to an overabundance of sex and violence. I enjoyed the romance but there again went to far for my liking.

posted by songbirdsue on September 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Intro

    This first book in the In Death series introduces Eve Dallas NYPSD detective and her crazy life. It's wonderful to see a fully developed sarcastic character that really just doesn't like people. Eve has only two people she truly loves and trusts and it's obvious that she's having some major issues dealing with the possibility of allowing anyone else into her trust circle. While the reader can see that she loves and trusts these people it's still not obvious to Eve.

    This is Eve's first high profile case and though she's not completely sure the scenes are adding up she doesn't trust herself to go with her instincts against the profiling and evidence.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awesome Read

    I have absolutely loved this book! It is filled with mystery, murder, romance and suspense. It is set in the future so it is a little different than all the other mystery books out there. I can't wait to read the rest of series.

    It is a lot like Janet Evanovich's series, which I can't get enough of.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Love!

    Love in death series!! My boss lent me the first one a few months ago and I've been addicted since. I will admit some are better than others but I love them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! This is the start to a very addictive series!

    Loved it! This is the start to a very addictive series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A definitely Good read!

    I love the way J. D. Robb incorporates romance, suspense and thrill into her novel, the characters compliment each other which make the story work. I also love the imagery of the future, it really makes you use your imaination

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Great Story - I love Eve dallas and Roake

    I have read all the JD Robb books and enjoyed them all - I bought this copy for a gift.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    It's J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts, of course I'm giving it 5 Stars

    Once again, J.D. Robb thrills! Very exciting futuristic murder mystery! I love the fact that the main character is a very strong woman who can be vulnerable to the man she loves. Nora Roberts always seems to be able to bring her characters to life. She gives them so much depth, you could almost believe they are real. Her use of detail, without being boring overkill, allows a reader to close their eyes and envision themselves in the scene. I enjoyed starting the series over with book #1 while I waited for the next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Recommend

    When she writes a book as J. D. Robb or Nora Roberts they are always one of a kind. She gets you so involved you become the person who's the main charactor. I have loved every book I have read of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great start to an excellent series

    The first book in a long series of books by Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb. These murder mysteries always keep you guessing, and each one is as interesting as the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I am hooked

    I have started collecting the entire series, from flea markets. Just down to new releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Great Book!

    I enjoyed reading Naked in Death very much! It was a totally different kind of reading especially discovering the guilty person. It is a must read if you enjoy reading mystery and suspenseful books. Read it for yourself to discover what I am saying and not saying about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Future predictions...

    Very good book..she predicts Arnold S. Running for political office...she predict legalizing pott...she also predicts legalizing prostitution...not all her imagined ideas come true but who would ever of though the Terminator would run for Govenor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Awesome read!

    Great crime suspense novel with the perfect amount of romance. Can't wait to read what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Read just one and you will be hooked

    J.D. Robb is a great writer. Love all her books. Her death series books are great. I also read all the books she writes under under her name Nora Roberts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Love this series!!!

    Eve Dallas has a wonderful group of people that she can now call her friends though sometimes its hard for her to admit it. Read it and fall in love with her as many other readers have. Enjoy :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This was a great book. It was the first book I read on my Nook. I liked it so much I have read several more of J.D. Robbs books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved that this series is set in the future.  I found that fre

    I loved that this series is set in the future.  I found that fresh.  if you liked this series try the fatal series by Marie Force

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I blame working at the library for the type of books that I'm st

    I blame working at the library for the type of books that I'm started to read. Many people come in
    and say "Oh you need to read this," or "This book was fantastic you need to read it," followed by
    "This book was a tragic, didn't like it one bit." Now the first two, I probably won't read till much later in life.
    I'll put it on my to-do list and I'll read it another time. Which goes along with this book. I have heard the
    kind of books Nora Roberts writes and I'm not quite that sure that would be something for me.
     I'm not that big into reading romance books.

    But someone that latter one "This book was a tragic, didn't like it one bit." Oh yea, that got me intrigued.
    Why is it that whenever someone says they didn't like the book, we jump at the opportunity to read it?
    I don't know, but I fit that profile.

    This book was really good. Got me interested the first part when I found out that it to do with police,
    and murder and set in the future with future cars, future buildings, future guns with past murders
    and then the occasional glances to a rich handsome Irish millionaire. That got me right away.
    I can even see this book made into a movie, it's that good. It would make a nice new adventure series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Romance and a murder mystery

    Love the romancce as well as trying to figure out the killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    I started reading J D Robb's Naked in Death series years ago. I

    I started reading J D Robb's Naked in Death series years ago. I stopped some time ago as they just became too expensive and cumbersome to carry around. Have hard copies of probably the first 20. Happy to see they are now being offered electronically. Definitely an awesome series... Love love love Roarke...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19