Customer Reviews for

Name All the Animals: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Attention fiction readers, you will LOVE this!!

    This is a true story, which is why it's described as a memoir. But it could just as easily have been published as a novel. It has all the character development, suspense, narrative arc, and beautiful writing of the best literary fiction. So don't dismiss it if you're not a big memoir fan. It should appeal to fiction and nonfiction readers equally. But regardless of how it's categorized, I could NOT put this book down. I read it every second I could and couldn't bear to be away from it when I was at work. The grief made my heart break, but the love story, and Alison's success in figuring out who she is, just made my heart swell. It's such a gorgeous, moving portrait of a family, both in grief and in love. It's told through the 15-year-old eyes of the author, and she just GETS adolescence. I was sent spiralling back to my own memories of high school, and the unique, electric, unforgettable experience of first love. It's one of those unforgettable books that only come along every so often. I highly recommend it to readers everywhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Uniquely beautiful

    Not too many books about losing a brother. Believe me, I have tried to find them, as it happened to me. Thank you beautiful author. Your words ring true. Never a more wonderful and descriptive story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    A good true story-

    This is a true story about a family and their tragedy. The story is about fifteen year old Allison who loses her brother, Roy in a car accident. She ends up going to an all girls Catholic school. The story is the family living through this tragedy. It is a good book, there are some slow spots (I guess that is how real life is) :) I felt badly for Allison, being the sibling who lost a sibling is very difficult. This is a good, true life story that you will enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    This book is a great read.

    Name all the Animals, was such an inspiring and touching story to my heart. I can't believe all Alison has went through, it really does show how strong one can be to get through all the beef that life throws at you. Alison and her brother Roy, were very close as kids. There mother called them Alroy because of how often she found them together. Alison faces, being the "The sister of her brother who died", finding her first true love, losing everything she cared for, but yet she still lives on. I recommend this book for anyone to read, and also anyone out there that has emotional troubles and would like to have a different perspective on how to deal with it. I guarantee you'll enjoy this book, and it will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Sorry, Not for me!

    I realize this book has won an award, but it was boring for me. After I got throught the first 100 pages I was tired. You dont even get to the point of the book until the end and then you dont care because it took so long. It was an easy read, but I'll pass it along and not keep it in my book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    What the story is really about

    I started this book with the knowledge that it was a memoir and thought it would be about the author dealing with the death of her brother. Not true. The book is about how the author was/is dealing with being a lesbian. Not what I expected and not a topic I'm interested in. Her style of writing is easy and pleasant to read though, thus the 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Exceptional read

    A wonderful memoir about a family in distress and their so called 'survival tactics'. I was Especially interested in the book as I live in the area where the author lived and was able to relate to her surroundings. I am also from a very close knit Catholic family and I understand the faith we were raised with and how easily it is misplaced and/or shattered when you lose a loved one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    Excellent

    This book is great! It lured me away from the outside world and I had to finish it at all costs! Burning eyes and fatigue did not stop me- I was unable to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    I loved it.

    I love this book. It was wonderfull written. It's one of the only books that made me want to cry. I kept wishing it wasn't real and that Roy was still alive. Wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Great Read!

    I was highly recommended to read this book, and I would pass the recommendation along to anyone else! It took me awhile to get throught it, but if you keep on, it's rewarding. And I loved the ending...it's worth it to get all the way through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    Captivating

    I truly loved this book. I could not put it down. The book was so captivating and well written. I felt her grief and heartrendering family relationship so completely. It was a very moving book and I look forward to anything Ms. Smith writes in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    OUTSTANDING!

    Think you have experienced troubles? Do you feel sorry for yourself at times? Pick up this heart warming book and come to the realization that nothing is as bad as you may think it is. This book forces you to think about things that we all very carefully file away into the back of our minds under 'it happens to other people'. Too many of us need to face these kind of issues head on. Alison Smith takes a difficult topic and stays true....to the truth. How refreshing! She had me laughing, crying, thinking...and that was all within the first 30 minutes of reading this fantastic book. If you are tired of books having no substance, no ability to reach deep into your senses....then buy this book. I am confident that you will not be sorry! Thanks Alison for a great read. What a wonderful first book! You touched my heart and my mind....for that I thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1