Customer Reviews for

Name Dropping

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    WHAT A HOOT!

    This was a real fun read! Quirky and has some twists, about taking a chance, doing something crazy and out of the norm, assuming someone else's identity, if only for a day, and the resulting consequences. Jane Hellers books are always fun, and this one was not the normal romantic formula read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    MUST READ

    This is a lovely book, that you won't be able to put down. Thank God for wonderful writers that pull you into their world and make you forget about everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    This was a very Memorable book!

    Jane Heller really has a great imagination for these books. This one a teacher assumes the name of another person and all havoc breaks loose with one twist after another. It is definately a MUST read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    Needs to be promoted more

    This was a fun book to read. I also could see it played out in film. I will look forward to more books by Jane Heller. Hope to hear more about this book. Barnes and Noble should be putting this on display in their store. I only found it through my book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2000

    We are talking a hit movie

    While I was reading 'Name Dropping', I couldn't help wondering how this could be adapted into a screenplay. In fact, I have already have a cast in mind. Sandra Bullock could be the 'preschool' Nancy Stern. Sharon Stone could play the 'journalist' Nancy Stern. And Chris Noth (you know the guy who used to be on 'Law & Order' and now is on the show, 'Sex in the City') well he could play Bill Harris. I think a lot of people would not admit it openly; but I think we all would like a little adventure in our lives. I'm glad that Nancy Stern turned out for the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    <P>I've read several of Jane Heller's novels, including Crystal Clear, Sis Boom Bah & Infernal Affairs. Name Dropping tops them all. Bill & Nancy were characters I cared about. Ms. Heller did a wonderful job of creating two completely different Nancys and putting them into a plot that, for me anyway, was believable. I'm sure that many of us have, at one time or another, wondered what it would be like to step into a more glamorous life and once we'd tasted it, I'm also sure that some of us would be, like Nancy Z, reluctant to let it go. Bill Harris was a man with a few secrets himself. How they are revealed and the ramifications to his relationship with Nancy was one surprise after another, held my interest, and kept me glued to the story. <P>Ms.Heller created an intriguing blend of mystery and romance and wove them together against the backdrop of two disparate environments: a pre-school and an upscale jewelry store. The cast of secondary characters was not so long as to bog down the story and contained enough variety to spice it up. <P>I liked this book much more than Sis Boom Bah, and hope Ms. Heller's next novel is as good as Name Dropping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Delightfully humorous romance

    Nancy Stern is a pre-school teacher at the prestigious Small Blessings Nursery School. She lives in Manhattan in the swinging seventies, but has no man in her life. On the whole, Nancy is contented until the ¿other¿ Nancy Stern moves into the penthouse of the same building. The second Nancy is a free lance writer, who hobnobs with the rich and famous, and attends embassy parties and special movie screenings. Nursery Nancy knows all this because she seems to always receive Penthouse Nancy¿s mail and phone calls. <P>When Bill Harris calls to ask Nancy for a blind date, he gets the teacher, who accepts the offer, pretending to be the more famous Nancy. Sparks fly between Nancy and Bill that lead to the teacher feeling guilty for her masquerade. She ends their relationship by their third date because she cannot cope with her deception any longer. Bill learns the truth and walks out on her, but she concocts a plan to bring him back into her life even after she discovers his secret. <P>Jane Heller writes a delightfully funny drama filled with suspense, action, romance, and a touch of mystery. The heroine learns the hard way that to ¿thine own self be true¿ is the only way to live as trying to pretend to be someone else is stupid and perhaps dangerous. The story line is filled with rich imagery and deep characters. NAME DROPPING is a first class reading experience. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1