Customer Reviews for

The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2085 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1714)

4 Star

(253)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Character-driven fantasy at its best

I picked up this title for my Xmas vacation reading after seeing it on some list online. I'm happy to say that Rothfuss appears to be the next great fantasy author. I'm often disappointed with the formulaic, copy-cat fantasy works that flood the genre, but The Name of t...
I picked up this title for my Xmas vacation reading after seeing it on some list online. I'm happy to say that Rothfuss appears to be the next great fantasy author. I'm often disappointed with the formulaic, copy-cat fantasy works that flood the genre, but The Name of the Wind proved to be far, far better than much of the dross we see these days.
The characterization is deep and engaging. The story, while not entirely ground-breaking, is compelling. What I really enjoy is the way magic works. It's very earthy and mechanistic in a way, rather than the overblown elves and wizards stuff we often see.
This is great writing, and I can't wait for the next installment.

posted by Wyll on December 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Everyone else seems to find this great...why?

OK, for some strange reason a Chronicler decides to visit a much sought after, but hidden, hero/villan. And guess what, this hidden, sought after hero is now an Inn Keeper who jumps at the chance to tell his whole story to this stranger. So, Kvothe is a poor boy traveli...
OK, for some strange reason a Chronicler decides to visit a much sought after, but hidden, hero/villan. And guess what, this hidden, sought after hero is now an Inn Keeper who jumps at the chance to tell his whole story to this stranger. So, Kvothe is a poor boy traveling with his family, a road show group. Along comes a Dark villan who kills his whole troup, then disappears. Kvothe travels to town. Now he is a poor boy, in the poor section of town, scraping scraps to stay alive. Oh, did I mention, He Is Poor? Then, after saving pennies for a LONG time he joins another traveling group so he can attend the University. He arrives and with a stroke of luck, (who'da guessed), gets in but is too poor to afford just about everything. This goes on for years. Like Stephen Kings first book of the "Gunslinger" that starts out slow to provide background, then hits you with a bang in book two. I have tepid hope that this is the case here. I can see Rothfuss has the obvious ability to create meaty characters, and has set the premise of interesting things to come. We can only hope that promise is kept.

posted by Grandpa on December 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1714 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 86
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Spellbinding Masterpiece

    "The Name of the Wind is by far one of my favorite novels. From the moment I read the very first paragraph, I became completely entranced. It is the story of a legendary wizard who is essentially telling the memoirs of his life to a Chronicler, who writes it all down. He brings to light the much coveted story of his past and the events which sparked rumors that eventually made him the legend he is. Patrick Rothfuss writes with such a poetic and moving quality, allowing the story to flow with such realism, even though it is a Fantasy novel. As the wizard Kvothe tells his life story to Chronicler, I was so enraptured that, in a way, I became the young man he speaks of. When young Kvothe felt nervous, I felt nervous; when he was angry, I was angered; When he was sad, I too was at the verge of tears. Rothfuss' writing truly connects the reader in such a profound way. At those times when Kvothe breaks away from his reminiscing on the past, the very emotion of Kvothe's retelling of his memories is also felt by the reader. There is such a sorrowful and mysterious quality to the character of Kvothe just brimming beneathe this utterly believable hero, and, as I read the book, I realized how talented Rothfuss really is to make the reader actually feel the experiences of Kvothe's life. This is an incredibly clever, moving, emotional, and magical book that I'm positive anyone who picks up will add to their collection of favorites. No doubt The Wise Man's Fear (The second installation of the series, coming in April 2009) will be just as intriguing."

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    simply amazing

    I love fantasy books but with me I find they are very hit or miss, you either love the book or hate it, so I asked an employee who was hanging around the section what fantasy novels she could recommend. After a few questions she pointed me to this book. I started it when I got home but just couldn't resist the call of the other book I bought that day, the latest in the Anita Blake series, anyway skipping a head a bit. The book started off a bit slow but before long I couldn't tear my attention away from it. It's one of those books you tell yourself you'll read for ten minutes before bed and before you know it it's 3 hours later! Ok I'm rambling. it boils down to this. this is my new favorite book. It was amazing pure and simple. Powerful story telling that draws you in and lets you feel what the characters are feeling. Highly recommended to Fantasy fans!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful!!! It's the structure of the thing.

    I'm not going to sum up this book. It's been done a too many times. So I'll just leave my honest review.....For Patrick Rothfuss' first novel it was down right outstanding. No, outstanding is wrong, it was genius. It usually takes a writer a few novels before they get it right, but Rothfuss hit the nail on the head the first time around. The Name of the Wind was such exciting read. From the moment I picked it up I didn't want to put it down. And when I had to, all I could think of was getting back to Kvothe as he recounts the details of his life. Not to mention Bast, poor dear sweet Bast (talk about tugging at the heart strings). This is not some "Muppet" fantasy; no, no, no it's much, much more than that. Patrick Rothfuss has made Kvothe's life very human and very real, almost tangible. I have to say: I'm most impressed with the structure of the story: the way it's put together. I'm not silver-tongued enough to give this book its due. So, I'll leave you with this: I think this one of the best books I've ever read and has become my new favorite.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best fantasy book in recent years

    This book is one of the best fantasy books I have ever read. I survived on an average of 2 hours of sleep per day to finish this book as soon as possible. Not only is it deep, it is also fast paced, which is impressive seeing how it goes through the entire life of the main character. The world created by Patrick Rothfuss is original and interesting and the characters are rich and full of detail. I cannot wait for the second book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    Wow I loved this book

    The book was very well written and I must say it is now a favorite. I like the wheel of time series, sword of truth, black company, deathgate cycle, and Malazan empire books. I have to say this one is right up there on the top of my list now. If you like any of the above series you will love this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    This is my absolute favorite book. I love the fact that when Kvothe actually reveals his story, we see that, even though he is a legend who has supposedly done all these miraculous things, he's actually pretty average and many of his stories are blown out of proportion. Having said that, he's still so brilliant and easy to like. It's so easy to get lost in this book and it's incredibly intriguing. I can't wait for day two!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Amazing!

    Writing:
    Stunning. I'm so impressed with Rothfuss's writing. I was completely caught up in the story, but the writing is equally impressive. Not a single flaw to complain about and several amazing aspects to highlight:

    World building: Rothfuss does it better than any other authors I've read. I believe Kvothe's world and the people who live in it. And the details he has constructed are amazing. The religion, the history, the socio-economic relations, the languages, and even the magic are all perfectly coherent and integrated. There wasn't a moment in the book that I found contradictory or out of place.

    Epic writing: That's not a real term, but I can't think of a better way to say it. If an author is going to write a book over 700 pages and follow it up with a sequel of over 900 pages, the book better be interesting. And Rothfuss has created an epic story that doesn't drag. There aren't slow moments or passages that make me want to peek ahead. I actually got teary about halfway through the book when I realized it was going to end. I'd compare Rothfuss to Tolkien, but my Tolkien loving friends would get their feelings hurt. Yeah, it's that good.

    Characters: I LOVE the characters. Like the world Rothfuss has created, the characters are absolutely believable. They are all flawed and unlikable at times (some more of the time than others) but even the bad guys (with the exception of the Chandrian) have sufficient motivation for their actions that the reader finds them sympathetic at times.

    And speaking of the Chandrian: Holy moly. Talk about some amazing villains. The children's rhyme about the Chandrian seriously had me totally creeped out. I think they are some of the creepiest villains I've ever read.

    Reading Pleasure:
    I can't say enough about how amazing this book is, both in terms of writing and entertainment value. I will say that it took me around 150 pages to really get into it. Not that I wasn't enjoying it before then, but I wasn't obsessed. But I was just telling Bestie how it was literally like a turn of the page and I was into it. One page I was iffy, the next page I was hooked. And once it starts, it doesn't stop. I read it during every spare second I had - on my lunch, as soon as I got home from work, until I went to bed, and before I left for work in the mornings.

    The best thing to me is that there are so many aspects of the book to love. It reminded me of It by Stephen King in that way - not any of the plot of course, but just the stories within the stories. So much detail and so rich in character, setting, and plot development.

    Honestly, I think this book may have knocked two of my top three favorites out of the running. It's up there with Till We Have Faces in terms of amazing-ness. I got The Wise Man's Fear (day two of the story) in the mail yesterday and I cannot wait to sit down and read it tonight!
    flag

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Best book I have read this decade!

    This novel was excellent! To say it's a great fantasy novel does not do it justice. TNOTW is a book I desperately wanted to finish and never wanted to end. Kvothe is broken and strong, brilliant and foolish, innocent and jaded. The prose is elegant, but has not one wasted word. Science combines with the supernatural to present a world that is interesting and realistic. I could go on and on about it, but the last thing I will say, is Patrick Rothfuss has the talent of Tolkien, but has his own style and creativity.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very solid first novel!

    Very good read. Over 650 pages but its hard to put down. Any comparison to Harry Potter inaccurate. About the only thing the two have in common is that a boy is going to college to be a "wizard". I use the term wizard very loosely because the type of magic in this book is not the "buy a magic wand, mutter an incantation, swish and flick and turn someone into a toad magic. The magic used in this story is very believable, something you wouldn't be surprised to find out really existed in the darker secret corners of the world.

    The story is told from Qvothe's (the main character) point of view, he is older now and is retelling his life story. It jumps to his present day now and again, but never derails or takes away from his story.

    I cannot wait for the second book!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. Great semi-fantasy setting (not typical dungeons & dragons), interesting story. My only gripe is that after reading 736 pages, it's disappointing to find that nothing gets resolved or wrapped up. Of course, there will be a sequel. But I was hoping to see something concluded before it ended. After so many pages, it seems like not a lot happened, and we're left hanging. Yet, it never gets slow or boring. The writing keeps you interested throughout. I can't wait for Wise Man's Fear.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Lane moden Student at THS 10/03/08

    a very outstanding book recommend to anyone who loves the eragon books and loves a good dark fantasy and a thriller to what will happen next patrick ruthfuss has a great mind to write a book with such usage and word choice. but overall it was one of the greatest books ever read dont judge a book by the cover but how the story is. THANKS!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Makes me fear to read other novels out of disappointment

    A truly vivid novel that i couldn't put down. I read it in a span of two days and dreaded setting it down to sleep it was so captivating. Recommended for all fantasy readers, this author has alrdy been ranked at the top in my books. He writes with a new style of biographical fantasy that i've never encountered before, and can't wait to see in his next novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    A monster with heart

    This book was a chance pickup in my local library, but as is often the case I was amazed. The entire story is readable and entertaining, and there really are no slow spots. Even after 600 pages, I found myself hoping it would go on longer. Fortunately, I know that there are indeed two more books on the way. I only hope they come soon. Buy this book, you likely won't be dissapointed!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enthralling Character Epic This is a phenomenal book to get com

    Enthralling Character Epic

    This is a phenomenal book to get completely lost in. When first starting out I was a little wary and wandered a bit...but once our narrator truly begins to tell his story I was hooked. Starting out as a sweet story of a little boy with his loving family and quickly turning tragic, our hero faces obstacles and trials that no kid should...but that is whats so great about Kvothe. He is resilient, smart, reckless and fearless...everything you want in a character. Following him through his schooling and adventures is so engaging as he is out smarting everyone three times his age, while going through that most difficult time in puberty. The way Rothfuss writes keeps you grounded in the story while walking this tight rope of danger and adventure. Its fantastic and I can't wait to find out how our hero ended up the way he did in the beginning of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    My Favorite book. Ever. Poor Patrick. Your first novel; the firs

    My Favorite book. Ever.
    Poor Patrick. Your first novel; the first of a trilogy, and the combination of caracters, story, and prose supplants my firm belief that nothing could surpass Tolkien. The Name of The Wind sets the stage for a masterpiece work. In fact, setting it stage so high, that it must be daunting when faced with two more books to write.
    I have read hundreds, perhaps into the thousands of books in the fantasy/worldbuilding genre. This book is like none of them. It truly does stand apart.

    While purchasing a book in Robert Jordans WOT series, the B&N cashier asked if I had read this book. He wrote The Name of the Wind on the reciept... years later, I was re-reading that particular book, and using the original reciept as the book mark. At the time, Mr. Jordan had passed, and Mr. Sanderson had yet to pick up the mantle. Needing something new to read, I found The Name of The Wind and purchased it. Since then I have read it, and it's follow up The Wise Man's Fear multiple times. I simply can not find a flaw with them. I love this story, and thus far it is my favorite of any genre.
    Beautifully written, with just the right words telling an artistically crafted story about wonderfully flawed and believable characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    could be a new favorite

    I am commenting on this book well after reading it, mostly because I keep checking in so often just to see if the next book is released. There are very few books that take me away from the start and keep me turning pages...and yes even skipping a few just to find out somthing, then returning so of course I dont miss anything! the plot and characters are well thought out and placed well in there world (our world now) they are comfortable to follow and exciting to learn about, wonder about kinda filling in some of the story yourself about the character, personality not just ...like some movies when a person dosnt quite (look) right in a book you can have your character look however you want them to be have a few extra hardships, maybe some you have experienced yourself but still so strong and , yes a part of you. strong characters such as these really stay with you, this world they live in is well put together I have walked with them felt the ground, smelled the air the magic of it follows you back when you leave the book, well obviously I have and refuse to leave, I am just waiting to wake again in this world to follow my new friends to laugh and enjoy the excitment again. I have journeyed in many world's enjoyed many characters and I "patiently" wait to walk once more in this ,one of my favorite worlds again. Some might say wait until the next book comes out ( I have waited a Long time) before joining in this adventure. this I will not tell you, I will say come and sharpen your sword but your wit's sharper as the weapon that will help you the most is your imagination this world is a wonder and this author knows what he is doing, I think he is just trying to remember it all and put it on paper for us. I do want to thank Rothfuss for the chance to experiance this creation. I highly recomend this series and I have only read the first book ,so confident that the others will be just as great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Worth Every Minute

    this book, to date, is in my top 10 favorites. With just the right amount of mystery,intrigue,suspense,love and adventure i cant wait to read what surprises are in store for me in the second book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Awesome Book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It is written very well and smoothly and I find myself at times reading hours and hours without realizing how long it has been. Patrick Rothfuss has created a great debut with the novel The Name of the Wind and I have no doubt that he will become one the great writers of fantasy fiction. Intelligently written, great plot and original story, action, adventure, and a little romance; this book has it all and makes a great read. I am looking forward to reading the next book when it comes out. I would recommend this book to all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    New Favorite Book @ New Favorite Author

    This one took me by surprise. When i got done reading it I wanted to start it all over again. Considering this book is the first novel, I can't wait to see how the rest of the series turns out. Great characters and a plot that meshes superbly. Fantasy fans this is a must have!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    The pacing is alot like The Wheel of time, because he is setting up a trilogy.. or more. Much the book is set up. but still very entertaining. I havent been over awed by the story itself, but I find mindself emotionaly drawn in by the character and the style of writing. I think his pros are fantastic and engaging. For a first novel I think Patrick has done and incredible job. Very exciting to see what the future holds for this author. BTW a one star rating on anthing but the most terrible book is appaling, Try and judge will open mindedness people.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1714 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 86