Customer Reviews for

The Name of This Book Is Secret (Secret Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1433 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1027)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Great read for reluctant 5th-8th grade readers

I read this on the recommendation of one of my 5th grade students. I really enjoyed it. It was funny and a good read, but there was good vocabulary scattered throughout the book. If you have a boy or girl that is reluctant to read, especially the longer books, this i...
I read this on the recommendation of one of my 5th grade students. I really enjoyed it. It was funny and a good read, but there was good vocabulary scattered throughout the book. If you have a boy or girl that is reluctant to read, especially the longer books, this is the perfect book. The characters are appealing to both boys and girls as is the plot. The play on words is great! The writing reminded me a bit of Lemony Snicket. I will be adding it to my library and look forward to reading the next 2 in the series.

posted by Enlouc on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Conservative parents beware

This book features grandfathers who live together and are most likely gay. Also, the writing is not nearly as good as the Unfortunate Events series. Glad I only paid 99 cents. It is archived now. I have no interest in reading and I certainly don't want my children readi...
This book features grandfathers who live together and are most likely gay. Also, the writing is not nearly as good as the Unfortunate Events series. Glad I only paid 99 cents. It is archived now. I have no interest in reading and I certainly don't want my children reading it and have a little seed planted in theit minds that having gay grandfathers is normal and fun.

posted by 6266510 on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1445 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 73
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Great read for reluctant 5th-8th grade readers

    I read this on the recommendation of one of my 5th grade students. I really enjoyed it. It was funny and a good read, but there was good vocabulary scattered throughout the book. If you have a boy or girl that is reluctant to read, especially the longer books, this is the perfect book. The characters are appealing to both boys and girls as is the plot. The play on words is great! The writing reminded me a bit of Lemony Snicket. I will be adding it to my library and look forward to reading the next 2 in the series.

    76 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story

    this is a great story to read to your kids mine are 7 (09) and 6 (09) and they loved hearing this story it has wonderful twists that are age appropriate and the author throughout the book stops the story and asks questions for your children to answer to see if they are paying attention. this pulls them in instead of just hearing they become part of the book. i def recommend this and the second book in the series and i look forward to his third installment

    43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    this moved right to the top shelf of my fav. It's fantastic and I would recommend this to anyone.

    29 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    okay, I'm biased.

    Okay, I'm biased. I like clever, charming, insightful chapter books for children, even though I have been over 21 for a long time. Pseudonymous Bosch pours intelligence, wit and empathy into the cauldron of a well- plotted and often surprising mystery and flavors with a few post-modern touches and wry asides. The author never talks down to the audience, and creates characters with whom everyone can identify. I particularly loved the way in which certain aspects of modern life are turned into character or plot points, and the footnote explaining Mussolini was priceless. Teachers take note!

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    SO MUCH FUN!

    This book is a blast. I would recommend it to all, young and old! Extremely imaginative and adventurous!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Good book

    I love this book. It is a really good one. It is fun to read roo. Even if you are 5 or 105, you will crack up when reading this. A good read for all! :?]

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I READ IT

    I actually read the book. It was really good. I suggest everyone read it rather than thinking about reading it.

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love It!

    I loved this book and If You're Reading This It's Too Late. As soon as I picked up this book I couldn't stop reading. As soon as I finished it I ordered the second one and now I'm waiting on the third one. They are very interesting and they make you feel like you are right there in the adventure with Cass and Max-Ernest.I would definiately recommend this book to anyone who likes mysterys and adventure.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Awesome Book!!

    This is an outstanding book. It kept on getting better and better toward the end!! I have read in 3 days!! It was very good. I recomend it to everybody not just 8 to 12.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Amazing

    It is so great i cant putit into words.You have to read this

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FIVE STARS - ALL ZEE WAY!!!!!

    OMG this is a great book mixed in with mystery and comedy, which i find essantial. The author of this book may not exist, but he definitely makes a great book......soo if ur one of those awesomely cul people that actually read big books in little time then this is definitely the book for u!!!!!-well at least it was for me,u kno and my friends and my family....etc......

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    So far so good

    I am only on chapter 16 but so far it excelent

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Exciting

    This book was so amazing! I never wanted to put it down!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    The name of this book is secret

    I bought this book yesterday, already on p.g. 100! This is a must buy book!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Luv it

    Wouldnt it b a cool movie? There is five book in the series and u should read them all

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Good book When it comes to secrets

    Great book. The X's were kinda annoying. By far great book for kids.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Very good book

    This is my favorite series out of all the books I have read. Although the end of the series is a bit disappointing, it was still fun to read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    What

    Who ever said it was gay u r wrong read the book

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great book!!!!

    I read the sample and after that i was hooked . I have bought the book and i caint stop reading it . I recomend you get the sample! and if you like the sample get the book !!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    awsome

    this. is the best book ever

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1445 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 73