Customer Reviews for

The Named

Average Rating 4.5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Simply phenomenal!

This novel was phenomenal! Hands down! I was having trouble finding a good novel to read, and then a friend recommended the series to me. I haven't been able to put it down since then! The adventure, and original plot structure was a refreshing breath in literature. Lat...
This novel was phenomenal! Hands down! I was having trouble finding a good novel to read, and then a friend recommended the series to me. I haven't been able to put it down since then! The adventure, and original plot structure was a refreshing breath in literature. Lately all you hear is about magic this, magic that yet, this novel puts the thought, 'Hey...maybe it is real!' in your head. Characters are easy to relate to, and quickly gain your trust and full attention. So, if you want a good book to pick up for a weekend, this is perfect for fantasy lovers!

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but a little disapointing

I thought that this book was enjoyable, but it was not one of those books that you can't put down. I recommend it but I would get it from a library instead of spening my money on it. I did like how the auther used the switching points of view.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Simply phenomenal!

    This novel was phenomenal! Hands down! I was having trouble finding a good novel to read, and then a friend recommended the series to me. I haven't been able to put it down since then! The adventure, and original plot structure was a refreshing breath in literature. Lately all you hear is about magic this, magic that yet, this novel puts the thought, 'Hey...maybe it is real!' in your head. Characters are easy to relate to, and quickly gain your trust and full attention. So, if you want a good book to pick up for a weekend, this is perfect for fantasy lovers!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT!!! MUST READ!!!

    I got the first one on Tuesday and by Thursday i read the complete trilogy.

    The Named:
    4.5/5
    Very good. It really pulls you in. The Prologue is semi-creepy but it doesn't get like that again.

    The Dark
    4/5
    Not my favorite. Its a little musy but it's still really good. Its 2/3 action 1/3 romance. The ending is very good.

    The Key
    4.75/5
    My favorite. I loved the point of view from 2 people who feel a little left out. The ending wasn't what I thought would happen. I was so surprised.
    The Trilogy: 4.25/5
    Its a little dramatic but it brings you in.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    I'm gonna read the next two books in the trilogy!

    The book is mainly about two people: Ethan and Isabel. However, the book starts out when Ethan witnesses the death of his little sister. She was killed by Marduke, an evil follower of Lathenia. Lathenia is the Goddess of evil and leader of the Order. She found a way to tamper with the past; it gave her a sense of power above her compatriots. This is why the Named was created, to protect the past so that things didn't go wrong in the future. Ethan must lead a secret life as a Guardian of the Named, along with his mentor, Arkarian. Everything is going fine for him until he receives an apprentice, Isabel. When Ethan was younger, he was best friends with Matt, Isabel's older brother. They ended this friendship on bad terms. He has to find a way to get to Isabel without making Matt suspicious. The job of members of the Guard is to protect the past by traveling through time, while they're sleeping, and fixing things that Lathenia has managed to change.

    I read the book and i liked it a lot. It was a fun book to read and it had a lot of interesting points and conflicts. I would recommend this book to anybody around 13 years old. It's an easy read for people who read a lot and people who don't. It became one of the boook that I didn't want to put down. It's a good thing there's more books because I can't wait to keep reading on. I'm sure you'd like it too.



    (TYLER)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Awesome book

    Absolutely my favorite book of all time. If you love action, some fantasy, and a little romance, this is a book for you! Very well written and realistic character personalities. I would give it 6 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    A must read...

    I first came across these books 6 years ago in my highschool library. I was immediately intrigued by the author's writing style and the storyline was definitely something that I hadn't read before. If you are a Harry Potter, Percy Jackson or even fantastical history fan, this series is for you. The elements of fantasy and magic combined with historic events makes this book and absolute page turner. By far my favorite author. I wish that she wrote more novels than these three and Old Magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Abosolutely fabulas!

    This book was irrisistable, absolutely amazing as in "OMGosh-I-can-not-put-this-dang-book-down kinda way. At first I was confused about the whole gaurd thing with Ethan, but as Isabel learned, I too learned about what being a gaurd means. Ethan is a good boy, and a fantastic charecter. He teaches his apprentice, Isabel, the life of a gaurd. The life of a guard is highly mysterious and very interating. Marrianne Curley pulls you in with a stupendous plot full of childhood crushes, death, monsters,the paranormal, and of course true love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    *The Named*

    This was an okay book. I thought that th author could have put more in there about the love intrests! She could have put in more action and more adventure and more discriptive words. I guess I was excpecting more from thtis book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    1 word: Wow

    Best book I've read in a long time. I gobbled it up in day and can't wait to read the 2nd book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Amazing

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It has drama, action, adventure, love, fantasy, and more. If these are some of the things you like this book will keep you hooked and guessing all the way from start to finish. I would definatly recommend this book to any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Could not put it down!

    I read the three books in 3 days....did not want to stop reading and didn't want it to end. Must read! The author has an uncanny way to make you picture what is going on. I'd love to see them as movies but know there is no way they could picture it as good as it was in my mind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    good

    i thought it was pretty good book. it is a kind of book where you get hooked, then you kind of loose the hook, but then it will hook you again. but i thought that the whole idea of the story was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Good but a little disapointing

    I thought that this book was enjoyable, but it was not one of those books that you can't put down. I recommend it but I would get it from a library instead of spening my money on it. I did like how the auther used the switching points of view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    The Named Review

    its a really confusing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Great Read

    Me and my boyfriend are reading this book and it is captivating. The vivid descriptions takes you inside the story and turning the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Lovely

    Well, all i can say is that once i opened the book, i could not possibly put my phone down! I read the books after i got off and the then when i got up. And when i got to work, at lunch, i read the book. That was all i could think of is reading this book. I am about to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK!

    I absolutely loved this book! Not only did the author create a whole different world, she managed to tie it in with every day life. To future readers of this series: the first book isn't as good as the second and third! However, I give all the books an A+!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    The Named

    Its a little predictable but since it is so well written the author keeps you excited on how the details unfold.

    This book had me at the prologue.
    And although it doesnt end with a cliff hanger I am still excited to go on and read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    For teen readers

    Not quite what I thought it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great read!

    This book kept my intereated the whole way even though it was bit perdictable there was always some thing to surprise you. I love how this author brought in a different plot and story then the common ones in fantasy and young adults. Cant wait to read the next ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    To @

    Hello, thank you for coming. A few names I have for you are, Sparrowsoar, Birdwhisper, Joyheart, Brightspirit, and Blankeye.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7