Customer Reviews for

Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    This book is a Ray Of Light in the darkness

    I have to tell you about the book written by Kasey Van Norman. It is called “named by God”. This book is Kasey’s story and her walk with God. The walk has not always been easy in fact she has had a hard time with it. She has sinned and has learned from it but it took some time for lesson to be gotten. She has the book broken down in parts 1. Overcoming Your Past 2. Transforming Your Present 3. Embracing Your Future. This book has read like a biography and devotional. Kasey has wonderful verses that helped her and prayers that she prayed that she feels will help others. . I really enjoyed reading this and can see where if you are in a dark place in your life this book could be a ray of light. I feel she can offer you remedies to help the hurt because she has been there. I went highlighter crazy in this book there are so many little gems that she offers and for that I will be keeping the book. Her chapters are really straight forward and I found this an easy read. You are so able to see Gods Grace in Kasey’s story. I enjoyed this book and I am giving it a four star rating. My advice to you is getting your highlighter ready for when you read this. This is the time in the blog where I have must let you know that I received this complimentary book from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review. The opinions in this review are my own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    You were Planned

    Did you know that God has a specific plan for you??? ( Yes, I read this and still need to re-read it again). Each of us has a unique gift that God has placed on earth for. Kasey Van Norman has a specific calling on her life and she writes "Named By God" a book that show us how to find our identity in Christ.

    Kasey is very honest in this book about the journey that God has taken her on and how she has had to overcome her past in order to transform and embrace her future. This book is great for everyone, especially has been great for me. I love many of the quotes in this book and suggest having a pen or highlighter handy. "You are more than the sum of your mistakes." Loved this quote! Each chapter has something that is profound and is worth reading! You will feel encouraged, inspired and at home when reading this book.

    Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future



    Although this book is a good read, it gets at your raw emotions and makes you really think about your life. I know that this book wasn't an easy read, which is why it took me a lot longer to review. You will learn a lot about yourself and your savior!

    "Named by God" has a Bible study curriculum and DVD series, which would be perfect for any womans small group. I would love to look at this curriculum because this book has been so beneficial!


    Thank you Tyndale for allowing me to review this book! Tyndale did not require me to write a positive review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Very Encouraging

    Apparently I need to start reading book descriptions better, because I thought this was going to be more of an autobiography than it is. Don't get me wrong, Kasey does talk a bit about her past and her life experiences but this book is so much more than just an autobiography. This book is all about who we are in Christ, what he has done for us and what our response should be. Kasey has gone through plenty in her life and she has a great ability to draw on these experiences and find God in them, even if she didn't see his hand in things as they were happening. This book is a huge encouragement and really challenges the reader to look at their life and live it for all that it should be. In Kasey's words, she wrote this book "so that you might see for yourself what authentic transformation and abundant living look like - that you will no longer wade complacently in the shallow end with your Savior, but that you will jump wholeheartedly into the deep end with your Lord." It was a great book to read, but beware, it's not a book that you can just breeze through. To get the most out of this book, the reader needs to take time to really take in the wisdom in each chapter. Apparently there is a video Bible study and guide that you can get to accompany this book, I think this book would make an amazing story; I'd love to hear more of Kasey's heart!


    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Named by God by Kasey Van Norman Like all of us Kasey Van Norm

    Named by God by Kasey Van Norman

    Like all of us Kasey Van Norman has a past. Like most of us, there were good times and bad times; times she was on the right path and times when she lost her way. Unlike a lot of us she has overcome her past, lives in the present, and looks forward to the future.

    Of her past, Van Norman writes openly and honestly and doesn’t feel sorry for herself. She has faced her short-comings and failures, asked for forgiveness, and has forgiven. She encourages us to do the same by looking at who we were and why, to learn from our mistakes and the mistakes of others in our lives, and to see God in all of it. See how He was there with us and what He was doing for us, through us, and often in spite of us, to accomplish His plan.

    She then brings us into the present. And once again, like all of us she has her ups and downs and like most of us she questions the why of things. But unlike many of us she does not question God’s love for her or His grace in her life. And she tells us how she has come to this understanding.

    She writes, “In order to be transformed, we must come to the realization that it is not enough to simply believe in God; we must believe God.” and ”In order to take another step in transforming our present, we must presently believe in God’s ultimate plan for our lives.”

    In the redeemed believer the future is assured and Van Norman tells us to be filled with the Word, know our gifts, and use them in service to others. She writes that we are not to give the future just an occasional thought but to embrace it. Because of what our future holds she wants us to know that how we live is important not only for our own lives but for the lives of others.

    Named By God is engagingly written with personal stories and experiences with no excuses for when she went off the path on her own. She uses scripture to reference and explain what she is saying. Van Norman did not overcome her past to live in the present and embrace the future by herself and she knows it. She gives God the glory!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    This book was sent to me by Tyndale House Publishers at no cost to me in exchange for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    I recently had the chance to review this book. The lady that wro

    I recently had the chance to review this book. The lady that wrote the book has been through so much in her life including rape and going through some time apart from God. She helps people in this book show how to over come what you have been through and show you how God has a plan for your life. You do not have to live in the past or in fear of your past. Also to move past hurts that have broke you in the past. We all have things we have been through in life and with God we have the power to overcome them because we are named by God and each us has an identity with him. If your having a hard time overcoming hurt and pain or your past, I think you would get a lot out of this book as it brings verses and stories from the bible along with the stories from the authors life. She was encouragement of all she has overcame in life. God has named us all and we can always be found in him.


    I received this book free from Tyndale for my honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Unlike the other reviewers who posted, I was not given my book,

    Unlike the other reviewers who posted, I was not given my book, but purchased it after meeting Kasey Van Norman at an E-Women conference in Roanoke, Virginia. After hearing her speak, I was mesmerized. In many ways, she was telling my story. The story I thought that nobody else could ever understand. Her story is raw, heart-wrenching, and full of grace. This book truly changed my life and my perspective. I absolutely recommend this book for anyone who has ever felt unloved, misunderstood, or unworthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Plague

    Meh? o.e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1