Customer Reviews for

A Nameless Witch

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    The book "A Nameless Witch" By A. Lee Martinez, publis

    The book "A Nameless Witch" By A. Lee Martinez, published by Tor Books was an exceptional non-fictional piece of literature. Martinez's character choice was perfectly placed and described. This story is about a girl who was born with a curse that made her immortal and she only ate flesh, her parents casted her out of her life until a witch had bought her from them. Ghastly Edna accepted her into her home and decided to teach the unnamed child her ways. Her curse that she was born with had some issues a the fact that she only ate flesh, she can't stand the sunlight, and her immortality makes her beautiful. Which for a witch's case isn't great. She set out on a journey to descover herself along with a demonic duck named Newt, and a troll named Gwurm.

    She then settles into a town called Fort Stalwarts where she could stay and practice her witchery, but when a White Night crosses her path. He starts a lot of damage in Fort Stalwarts and will the witch have to fix it all? Will she fall for the night? Will her curse get in the way?

    I thought this was a great book because it was filled all kinds of magic and that demonic duck is just crazy. The witch has amazing adventures with her new found friends and she learns to have more christmas. I would recommand this book to anyone who likes exciting adventures, or who enjoy things about magic and funny ducks whos idea for solving things is killing them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!

    This book rocks! The story line and characters are absurd yet loveable! The author makes you laugh out loud at every ridiculous scenario. What could be cooler than a sexy, cursed witch and her demon duck side kick?!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    There are a couple of low points in later installments of this a

    There are a couple of low points in later installments of this author’s books, though at other times he picks things up. This journey is so straight-forward and generic, though, it is hard to say I enjoyed reading it. There is situational humor at times, and the sense of evil in this book is to be reckoned with. However, this book is unusually cast in the first person tense, which is not good when I find that character hard to relate to. I suppose at least one of the support cast made me smile at times, but there is not enough of a sense of impending importance in the journey to make the book worthwhile as, say, In The Company of Ogres.

    A product I would recommend is Sirens of Morning Light by Benjamin Anderson, a quest for a man in Iowa to regain his identity, which becomes entangled with people who claim to have known him when he discovers he is a scientific experiment. Though it follows a lead character, its viewpoint in the third person remains detached.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Wierd but fun

    This book really does play into witch myths. It is funny to see it all played out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A light fantasy

    This was my first book by Mr. Martinez, I picked it up because I had another one of his book coming out at my store, and wanted to see if he would be another author to add to my reading list. In A Nameless Witch, the titled (but untitled) heroine is a beautiful undead witch who embarks on a journey to avenge her teacher's death. Joining her are her demonic duck familiar, a friendly troll, and a handsome but celibate knight. The interaction among the characters is where you see Martinez's strengths shine the brightest. His quirky characters are never too silly and his dialog rolls off the page. It's not often a writer has the talent to create a sympathetic and likable heroine with a predisposition for the taste of human flesh, but Mr. Martinez has succeeded admirably. However Martinez doesn't seem to have figured out very much for these characters to do. The plot has a perfunctory feel. Four trials are established, and then dispatched almost as afterthoughts; we never feel any sense of danger to the protagonists. And there's not much at the end of the journey for anyone, including the readers. I was entertained on almost every page, but left feeling a little disappointed. Pick up this novel if you already like A. Lee Martinez, you like humorous fantasy, or you want a good fantasy light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Simple and funny

    Good book to read for a good laugh or if you like a talking duck lol enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    this book is wonderful

    amazing character set. sad that it was over. one of my favorites now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Recommend this book to fantasy fans - and others!

    This was a really good book. This was the first one I read from A. Lee Martinez and it had me hankering for more of his books. He has a good sense of humor and a very imaginative perspective on life. I simply love this book and this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    I'm working my way backward through this author's work, and this one was very enjoyable, and the ebook price was really nice, too. Fun characters and plot, and a nice throw back to the traditional type of fairy tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This book was a fast read but had a lot of flavor. The author did an excellent job of twisting together the paramormal and a cute love story. i would recommend this book to anyone looking for something to make them smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting twist

    The author dealt with an interesting twist in both plot and characters. I was pleasantly surprised. I will certainly look for other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    This book instantly became one of my favorites!

    All of the characters have depth. As I was reading, I would look up from the book and half expect a sharp-toothed grin looking back at me. This was a very exciting story and I savored every page. As I read the last page, I found myself absolutely saddened to end my journey with the witchly herione. This is a MUST read for anyone who loves fantasy fiction and witches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I picked up this book on a whim and I am so glad I did. It's a clever and, at times, laugh out loud adult fantasy. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3