Customer Reviews for

The Naming (Pellinor Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Instant Favorite!

    The Naming is an epic and wonderful fantasy. I was thrilled over every word and loved every minute I spent in the world of Pellinor. Maerad is an amazing and powerful heroine. In the beginning she is a slave, rescued and recognized by the Bard Cadvan. By the end she is a Bard, beautiful and strong. The book journeys through fantastic landscapes and cities. The characters are rich and varied from Light to Dark. I can't wait to start reading book 2!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Awesome

    My wife talked me into reading this book. Since she liked it, I didn't think I would. I just finished it last night and have already started the next book in the series. It is a book that is easy to follow. Some of the names are hard to get used to.

    I would definitely recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    This is an exciting, suspenseful, adventure will have people dying for more of these books.

    After I read this book I felt like I needed to read more and more of these type of adventure stories. When I first picked up this book and looked at the cover, I felt it would be just a boring and plain old book with an obvious plot and similar types of characters who are in every normal story. I found out that I was very wrong. As soon as I started reading this book, I immediately got sucked into how amazing this book was and got mad at myself for not thinking it would be good. The book has two main characters: Maerad and Cadvan. During the course of the book, we find out that Maerad is a member of the School of Pellinor because of a powerful gift she has. Maerad escapes from a with the help of Cadavan. There is so much action and adventure in this book with so much detail that you feel like you're part of the book. The setting of this book varies because Maerad and Cadavan travel to so many different places. The first setting is the slave settlement. Many people help Maerad along the journey to finding her gift. The detail and suspense are what I liked about this book. I REALLY recommend this book and want you to read it too! (ages 12 and up)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    And may the Light always bend to your path...

    It's been a long time since a book has kept me enthralled to the extent I could not convince myself to put it down. Thus, I dub it a rather excellent read. Perhaps its only shortcomings lie in the cliche nature of overall premise, and brief moments of predictability. However it's fairly safe to say that most everything written in this day and age--particularly in adolescent fiction--is not entirely original anymore. And to counteract this, The Naming was bubbling with enough originality and creativity that this common flaw was easy to ignore...maybe even miss by those less read.

    What most pleasantly surprised me was the level of acute (rather personality driven) humor laced throughout much of the story. And the realistic elements of womanhood actually being included; It caught me off guard, much to my delight and humor. (In all honesty, I laughed at Cadvan's embarrassed-flustered reactions at Maerad's first encounter with "the curse").

    Overall, Alison Croggon's The Naming is a very well written and construed story of coming into one's self and coming into the age of adulthood.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Takes You on a Fantastical Journey of Magic and Magery

    This book is the best I have ever read!! It takes you on an epic tale of fantasy with Maerad, Cadvan, and many other characters. They face peril and danger in this fantastic plot. I reccomend this book to everyone who enjoys the many fantastical worlds of magic and magery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept me reading!!

    When I first stated the book I was just reading it cause my mom wanted me to. But after I started reading it the book became enjoyable and I am glad she coaxed me to read it. It kind of has everything in it, sadness, great joy, love, loss, family and all that great stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellbinding Epic Fantasy

    This book is amazing! Alison Croggon writes very well and captivates the reader's attention throughout the whole novel. It's impossible to put down. I guarantee that once you read it, you'll have to finish the Pellinor Series.
    Maerad is a slave in Gilman's Cot. One day, she meets a Lirigon Bard, Cadvan, who tells her she should escape and come with him. He believes she posesses the Gift and might very well be the Chosen One, someone who is destined to overcome the Nameless. Cadvan reveals to Maerad of the Light:
    Bards are keepers of the Light, or balance, and they wield the Gift. Such Gifts are of Making, Reading, Speech, and Tending--all are known as the Arts of the Light because such Gifts maintain the beauty and goodness of the land. The Nameless went against the Laws of Balance, or rules; he gets rid of his name, thus, prevents his death.
    Together, Cadvan and Maerad embark on a journey to overcome the Black Sorcerers, an army of corrupt Bards named Hulls, and, eventually, the Nameless himself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am currently writing my own book, and upon reading this book, I was drawn. I have read many fantasy books, and few have stood out like The Naming. Unlike many fantasy series out there, Maerad faces real issues, such as guilt, and loss. Alison Croggon vividly expresses these emotions, causing the reader to be able to relate, while at the same time maintaining the fantastic fantasy. The second book is merely a continuation of the first, and continues the same wonderfully thought ideas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    I love it!

    This is one of my favorite series! It is amazing novel and writen beautifully! I recomend it to any and all fantacy lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    My middle school library had these books and I fell in love with

    My middle school library had these books and I fell in love with them! I am now well into college and they keep walking into my brain, but I could never remember what the Title was!! After a 7 year search through time, space, internet, and all the recesses of my brain I FINALLY found them again!!!! SOOOOO excited to reread and see WHY these books stuck with me for so long when so many others have come and gone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    This book is awesome!

    Thos book is great. I am reading thw second right now. I am addicted to this series. I am getting my sister to read this series. I think she and a lot of other people will love this book just like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    I really really really really loved this book!!!!!

    I love good epic fantasy series wich are hard to find. Eragon was really good. On a scale of 1 to10 I would rwate this an 8 and a half and eragon a9anda half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Wonderful

    Even the second time through this series blows me away. The world created is vivid and memorable, and the protagonist is a wonderful example of a real woman. I truly enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    I was expecting better

    Took about 50 pages just to pull me into the story. The storyline mirrors eragon, starwars, and other "chosen-one" type books. While the read was not terrible, I was certainly not blown away. I would suggest this book for somebody that wants a long read that is quite easy to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    It took everything I had to finish this book, I wanted so badly

    It took everything I had to finish this book, I wanted so badly to put it down it was so slow moving and boring but once I pick it up I have to finish it :( there was only one good thing about this book and that was the characters otherwise this book does not even deserve one star. You want A good book to read?? (GRACELING)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great series.

    Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Love it

    This book gave me a new look on life.......i loved all the books:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    The best series I have ever read!

    I adore this series! The characters are complex and lovable. If you love action, adventure, magic, mystery and a steamy romance; then this is a must read for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11