Customer Reviews for

The Naming (Pellinor Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    This is an exciting, suspenseful, adventure will have people dying for more of these books.

    After I read this book I felt like I needed to read more and more of these type of adventure stories. When I first picked up this book and looked at the cover, I felt it would be just a boring and plain old book with an obvious plot and similar types of characters who are in every normal story. I found out that I was very wrong. As soon as I started reading this book, I immediately got sucked into how amazing this book was and got mad at myself for not thinking it would be good. The book has two main characters: Maerad and Cadvan. During the course of the book, we find out that Maerad is a member of the School of Pellinor because of a powerful gift she has. Maerad escapes from a with the help of Cadavan. There is so much action and adventure in this book with so much detail that you feel like you're part of the book. The setting of this book varies because Maerad and Cadavan travel to so many different places. The first setting is the slave settlement. Many people help Maerad along the journey to finding her gift. The detail and suspense are what I liked about this book. I REALLY recommend this book and want you to read it too! (ages 12 and up)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept me reading!!

    When I first stated the book I was just reading it cause my mom wanted me to. But after I started reading it the book became enjoyable and I am glad she coaxed me to read it. It kind of has everything in it, sadness, great joy, love, loss, family and all that great stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    High Fantasy for the Masses

    I was somewhat scared to read this book due to the mention of it being a part of the "classic epic fantasy" genre. I love fantasy just as much as the next paranormal addict, but there is just something about reading Tolkien that kind of grates on my nerves. I loved Lord of the Rings, but that was only because I broke my rule and watched the movie first. The Naming does indeed hold true to the dictates of epic fantasy, both the things I love about it as well as the things I ... don't so much love about it. Okay, deep breath.

    The world-building in this story is phenomenal. The world that Maerad and her companions inhabit is very deeply developed and intricately planned down to the last detail. There are several appendices detailing the history of this world, as well as a pronunciation guide. This is, for me, both a curse and a blessing. I love that the world is believable and well thought-out, but I (personally) am not in love in intricate descriptions seemingly for the sake of description. Yes, I do want to have a general idea of a character's surrounding world, but I do not feel a deep-seated desire to hear about the appearance of every cloud of mist or dew dropping off a blade of grass. That is a complaint I have about Tolkien, so those of you who love Tolkien will love this about this book!

    What caused me to enjoy this book despite the issues I have with the genre was character development. Maerad is believable and likeable, and I loved seeing her discover so much about herself in this first book. She has complex emotions, but there is no resort to melodrama here. She stands up to her circumstances admirably and bravely and without any unnecessary blubbering.

    And Cadvan! I love the character of Cadvan. He has a dark, shadowy past and angst-filled background story, yet (again) this is understated and thus more powerful. I'm not really sure what his role in the story will be at this point. I can't tell if he will be merely Maerad's teacher throughout or if they will, in time, develop a romantic relationship. Since I've already started to massively love him, I really hope that there is some romance ... even though he is a lot older than Maerad.

    All in all, I would recommend this book. It's definitely an intellectual commitment since it's so long, but it is an intelligent story that is rare. The writing style is stately and precise. This story isn't necessarily "sexy," so people aren't going crazy over it, but it's worth a read for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for advance youth readers, as well as engaging as lighter reading for adults.

    This book, the first in a quartet, was a wonderful read. Following the development of the main character is interesting on many levels. Similar to many epic adventures, there is magic, friendship, betrayal, self-discovery, mistakes, family ties, romance--it's all in there to some degree.

    This book was originally purchased for my daughter, an advanced reader, age 10. She enjoyed it so much I thought I would read it also, to discuss it. There are many elements that will make a re-read of this series enjoyable for my daughter in a couple of years. Some of the subject material seems irrelevant to her (i.e., recurrent menstrual cycles during the story).

    There are also several male characters that guide, assist, are related to, friends with, etc., the main character. So it's not a "chick" book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A pretty good series....

    It's not the best series I've ever read, but it keeps you on edge throughout the story. It's a great book for adventure and has a little romance, though I would've liked it better had there been more.
    But overall, I'd say this is a series worth reading. It's an adventure, nonetheless :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Naming

    This book was good as an avid Fantasy fan it had many of the qualities I look for in a book. At the same time though you can get bogged down in the detail the author provides, some of it was useful and some of it was not. If you can make it through those parts then you should enjoy the tale. Although I have read many books with bards in them this book puts a unique twist on the barding world, I enjoyed the schools and the luxury afforded them. But at the same time there is too great a gap between bards and the common people, I feel the book is to cut off from the world it lives in other then from the view of the bards. These are the two major flaws I see but other than that it develops the characters and relationships well. There are some twists in the book that are unexpected but create even more choas for the protagonist that help her develop into who and what she is. This book, although probably more fun for the female reader, will be a good read for anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Interesting

    I finished the first book, and it's not bad. It's quite entertaining, the character development is well-done (though it feels a bit rushed at times), and of course for those who love background, there is plenty in the appendices. However, I do agree with some other reviewers. There were way too many elements like Lord of the Rings in this book, and that takes away from the story. Dark wraith-like magicians, a large shadow-fire creature with wings, even a lady of the woods. However, it is still a fun book, and I would recommend it to pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Good Book

    A lot like Tolkeins series, except the characters have more depth. I really enjoyed it, definetly recommend, but if you're a brainwashed tolkien fan you might feel like this book is a LOTR rip off, except the characters have feelings :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Naming: The First Book of Pellinor

    This is an incredible book! It did take me a long time to finish. I will admit, it was very slow in some parts, and it also had many things that reminded me of The Lord of the Rings. But it still is a great book! You must read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2