Customer Reviews for

Nanny

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, light reading

    I really enjoyed this one. I read "Pride, Prejudice, & Jasmine Field" and liked it a lot, so I gave this book a shot and wasn't disappointed. My biggest complain would have to be the language. It seems like a lot of English writers don't have a problem throwing the "F" word out there a lot, and this book definintely said it more times than I was comfortable with (I'd rather not have it in there at all), but the story was still a fun one and I'd recommending it for anyone looking for a little romantic fluff. I particularly loved the part the kids played in the book. Very cute.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    Nanny by Melissa Nathan

    This is a very cute book about relationships, work, being unfullfilled, all written in a clever way. The protagonist is highly likable and you want her to succeed in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    Very enjoyable read

    Melissa's books have been some of the most enjoyable books I've read when I've needed a feel-good book to escape in. I was very sad to learn she passed away 2 years ago, so there will be no more of her entertaining characters to meet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    An Escape

    Where else can one find a great job, with a great house, with a great car, and with a great romantic possibility? At the Fitzgerald's lovely Victorian home in London. Enchanted by Ms. Nathan's uplifting prose, I laughed, I fumed, and I sighed blissfully as I closed the cover over the words The End. Interestingly enough, I read The Nanny during Hurricane Gustav. With no electricity for a week, The Nanny was a wonderful diversion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    A Sweet Escape

    What a wonderful story! Hilarious, romantic, but not too swoony. Finally, a chicklit piece with some depth. Everyone will be able to relate to the Fitzgeralds and their not-quite-perfect Jo Green. Arguably my favorite book. Take it on vacation, on the plane, etc. with you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    The Jane Austen of our generation.

    Hilariously clever. I've never quite laughed out loud as much as i have with this book. It's one of your typical chick-lit stories. Born and bred in a sleepy village, spunky Jo pines for a more exciting life and so on a whim takes up a nanny job for the sterotypically dysfunctional, yet totally unique Fitzgeralds. This book is a book to adore, and read over and over so that those warm fuzzy moments, the laugh out loud ones and the tearful scenes play on your heartstrings yet again. It's a beautiful book. It mocks it's own story, yet create's an original and compulsive read. You fall in love with Nathan's witty characters. She's the jane Austen of our generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    so funny

    Very enjoyable. I giggled all the way through it. Fun characters, especially the kids. It's a light read but one you might want to read again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    one of the best

    This book was truly wonderful--I couldn't put it down. Melissa Nathan created lovable and witty characters. I found myself laughing out loud too many times to count. I would reccommend this book to anyone looking for a light-hearted fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    One of Nathan's Best Stories

    I simply loved this book. I've read her other books and simply love the characters she creates. You instantly fall in love with them and feel like you know them from page one. You go through all of their emotions so that, in the end you, seem like you lived their lives. I would definately pick this book up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    a must read

    such an amazing book. must read. i cant wait to get my hands on her other novels including the waitress due out in a year or two....if you're expecting this to be similar to the nanny diaries, its not...but it wont let you down....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    A WONDERFUL READ!!!!!!!

    This was the best book I have read this summer, and I HAVE read a lot of books! It is a wonderful book! I was attracted to it by it's cover, and I am so glad that I decided to read it, because it is one of my favourite books! Praise to Melissa Nathan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1