Customer Reviews for

Nanny Diaries: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great story, couldn't put it down

This is a very easy book to read yet very enjoyable. I found myself not wanting to put it down.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

great book - but tons of typos

I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where ...
I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where English is not the language because tehre are words that make no sence whatsoever, "die" intead of "the" on uncountable instances, unexplaineable "99" here and there ( instead of C, 6 instead of e and so on. Really frustrating...... I feel bad for the authors sicne I am sure they paid someone to do the job. Would also expect B&N to have someone at least spot check eBooks since it is such a new product. Disappointing to have paid for this book.

posted by LoveLi on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    great book - but tons of typos

    I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where English is not the language because tehre are words that make no sence whatsoever, "die" intead of "the" on uncountable instances, unexplaineable "99" here and there ( instead of C, 6 instead of e and so on. Really frustrating...... I feel bad for the authors sicne I am sure they paid someone to do the job. Would also expect B&N to have someone at least spot check eBooks since it is such a new product. Disappointing to have paid for this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    Nanny is going to NYU to get her degree in child care, but first she must deal with the X's. <BR/><BR/>The X's are a typical rich New York family: Dad is a workaholic; Mom doesn't have a job but is too busy shopping and running her social life to raise her child; Grayer (nicknamed Grover/Grov) is the four-year-old who wants nothing more than his parents' attention. <BR/><BR/>Nanny becomes very attached to Grayer, who is absolutely adorable and really likes Nanny because she is the one raising him. Nanny and Grayer go on many adventures together and Nanny must deal with the crazy Mrs. X, who doesn't come home when she says she will, doesn't pay within a normal time frame, and is just downright mean to Nanny -- and to her own child. <BR/><BR/>This is a great story of love and affection, and also the lack of it. I really liked reading this book because Nanny has a life outside of her job, like falling in love with H.H.-Harvard Hottie. Nanny and Grayer are realistic and the parents are the crazy people in the book, which makes this a great view for teens. <BR/><BR/>I had a lot of fun reading THE NANNY DIARIES, and will recommend it to all of my friends who have ever babysat for crazy parents!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Great story, couldn't put it down

    This is a very easy book to read yet very enjoyable. I found myself not wanting to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Not that interesting

    Although this book came highly recommended by friends, I did not find it particularly entertaining. I think it was supposed to be funny but it was more sad than funny. I certainly hope all rich people on the upper east side of Manhattan don't treat their kids like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    A juicy portrait An easy read - not very literary but entertai

    A juicy portrait

    An easy read - not very literary but entertaining. It definitely portrays quite accurately a certain type of NY society and the parenting style that is unfortunately too often the norm. Absent, smothering, superficial parents - all seen through the keen eyes of smart and funny nanny.
    A lot has been written about Mrs. X, a caricature of the self-centered NY mom, saying she was Lisa Birnbach.
    As for the husband, Mr. X, he is definitely Lisa Birnbach's husband, Steven Haft. That should raise any doubt.
    The author of the book who has worked for the couple definitely knows the 2 of them! To make it less obvious, Mr. X is just another business man in the book while Steven Haft is in real life a film producer turned consultant / internet guru. But that's the only difference. For the rest the glove fits : a self centered, philandering, lying, manipulative, fake and cheap social climber. Anybody can recognize S. Haft. A fun book for readers who know a little bit about that Manhattan three ring circus and the catastrophic child rearing it produces. I would recommend it as a beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Ok

    I could not put it down untill the ending i did not like the ending it was very anticlimactical :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good movie

    I didnt like the ending in the movie though. But chris evans was cute lol you know what im saying hahaha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good look at Parenting styles of the Rich

    "The Nanny Diaries" is an entertaining read that is hard to put down. It's quite sad to see how some parents just shift their children off to nannies (over and over again) because they simply cannot be bothered. This story is a good look how some parents treat their children, and those who take full time care of them. I'll def. say it makes you think about how you treat your own children!

    Great book- Mrs and Mr X are fruserating, and Nanny is humerous and full of love. I would highly recommend it to all fans of the chick lit genre, and anyone else who wants a sneak peak at some of the hardships nannys go through to take care of children who arent their own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Hey

    Idk if i should read this book how many pages?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun book!

    This book was very easy to read. Once you get started...there's no putting it down! The author has a gr8 way of keeping you engaged. If I was rich enough to afford a nanny I would be sure not to act like Mrs. X. I loved Nanny! She's an inspiration to all child caregivers out there. there were times when I was laughing out loud & times when I found myself getting angry. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book

    I love this book. I actually liked it better the second time around. I cant wait to read the sequel 'nanny Returns".

    I just wish the e-book version didn't have so many mistakes with words and the structure of the story. It was hard at times to figure out who was speaking since the dialoge (sp?) tended to blend together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously silly.

    My first impression of The Nanny Diaries was that it was a light and funny read: a novel in which I could find escapism at its finest. Within the last 100 pages, however, the humorous story of a young nanny and her "adopted" child quickly turned into a depressing account of the frustrating triangle between the nanny, the little boy, and his negligent parents. One passage from the book (near the end) even had me on the verge of tears because of the terrible case of emotional abuse that occurred within. Yeah, definitely not what I was expecting. But if you don't mind bipolar books, give this one a chance. Personally, I have a lot more respect for full-time babysitters and nannies now than I did before. Or anyone that is constantly around toddlers, for that matter. It can't be easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    Awesome Subway Read!

    This is book is witty, well-written. Moreover, the book is very readable. So much so that one can read it on a subway or bus. While one might poo-poo this text as "Chick Lit," it is Chick Lit as its best. The protagonist, a twenty-something NYU student, grapples with her need for cash as well as her need for sanity as she decides whether or not to leave her job. Our narrator re-tells her own story with a sense of humor, and the ability to reflect on the struggles faced by anyone who feels overworked by, but overly attached to, their employers. For anyone who loves New York, and has struggled with a difficult boss, this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A quick, easy read

    This is a deceptive book. It's easy to read, I read it in 24 hours while at home sick. This book tells the story of Nan, a nanny working her way through college and the rich families she works for. Her last job is with family X where she has to become the mother to "Grover", deal with the snotty wife Mrs. X and the absent cheating father Mr. X. This book was interesting as it was enjoyable while reading but left me feeling depressed and sick to my stomach at the end about the dysfunctional family lives of these rich Manhattenites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Not a fan of this book. It just seems like an expose, or a really angry rant transformed into a novel. It was a little bit scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    A good book.

    This book was a little bit slow to start for me but I am glad I didn't quit reading it. This is the story of a college girl who is a nanny for the most impossible family. She can't do anything right, according to the family but she ends up falling in love with the boy she nannies and would do anything for him. She is treated terribly, the husband is a jerk and these parents never spend any time with their son. My heart really went out for Nan, the nanny. Working in a school I know that these families exist, very sad. You will like the book- give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE this book!

    This book is amazing! It is funny, heartwarming, surprising - everything you could want in a book! I have read it cover to cover at least 5 times. The thing is, every time I read it, I feel like it's the first time I'm reading it. It's funny, and even though it seems like chick lit, I bet anyone interested in the "Nanny-ing" industry would find it interesting. The characters are well developed, as is the plot. By the end, you'll want to adopt little Grayer for yourself and take him away from his evil mother. And anyone who is interested in seeing the movie - READ the book first!! It's a hundred times better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    I read this book in like 2 days, I just could not put it down. It has a great storyline and a look into a culture that is totally out of my league and that I know nothing about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Apalling debute of child rearing in the upper East side of New York!

    Couldn't put it down, but was all out horrified by the reasons these woman choose to have children, the way in which they choose (or so choose not) to raise them, and the lengths at which they will go to limit contact with their own offspring.

    Nan (i.e. Nanny) is a stronger character than I, as chapter2 I would have told Mrs. X just what I thought about her and where she could shove her soy products!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23