Customer Reviews for

Nanny Diaries: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great story, couldn't put it down

This is a very easy book to read yet very enjoyable. I found myself not wanting to put it down.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

great book - but tons of typos

I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where ...
I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where English is not the language because tehre are words that make no sence whatsoever, "die" intead of "the" on uncountable instances, unexplaineable "99" here and there ( instead of C, 6 instead of e and so on. Really frustrating...... I feel bad for the authors sicne I am sure they paid someone to do the job. Would also expect B&N to have someone at least spot check eBooks since it is such a new product. Disappointing to have paid for this book.

posted by LoveLi on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    great book - but tons of typos

    I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where English is not the language because tehre are words that make no sence whatsoever, "die" intead of "the" on uncountable instances, unexplaineable "99" here and there ( instead of C, 6 instead of e and so on. Really frustrating...... I feel bad for the authors sicne I am sure they paid someone to do the job. Would also expect B&N to have someone at least spot check eBooks since it is such a new product. Disappointing to have paid for this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    A juicy portrait An easy read - not very literary but entertai

    A juicy portrait

    An easy read - not very literary but entertaining. It definitely portrays quite accurately a certain type of NY society and the parenting style that is unfortunately too often the norm. Absent, smothering, superficial parents - all seen through the keen eyes of smart and funny nanny.
    A lot has been written about Mrs. X, a caricature of the self-centered NY mom, saying she was Lisa Birnbach.
    As for the husband, Mr. X, he is definitely Lisa Birnbach's husband, Steven Haft. That should raise any doubt.
    The author of the book who has worked for the couple definitely knows the 2 of them! To make it less obvious, Mr. X is just another business man in the book while Steven Haft is in real life a film producer turned consultant / internet guru. But that's the only difference. For the rest the glove fits : a self centered, philandering, lying, manipulative, fake and cheap social climber. Anybody can recognize S. Haft. A fun book for readers who know a little bit about that Manhattan three ring circus and the catastrophic child rearing it produces. I would recommend it as a beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good movie

    I didnt like the ending in the movie though. But chris evans was cute lol you know what im saying hahaha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun book!

    This book was very easy to read. Once you get started...there's no putting it down! The author has a gr8 way of keeping you engaged. If I was rich enough to afford a nanny I would be sure not to act like Mrs. X. I loved Nanny! She's an inspiration to all child caregivers out there. there were times when I was laughing out loud & times when I found myself getting angry. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously silly.

    My first impression of The Nanny Diaries was that it was a light and funny read: a novel in which I could find escapism at its finest. Within the last 100 pages, however, the humorous story of a young nanny and her "adopted" child quickly turned into a depressing account of the frustrating triangle between the nanny, the little boy, and his negligent parents. One passage from the book (near the end) even had me on the verge of tears because of the terrible case of emotional abuse that occurred within. Yeah, definitely not what I was expecting. But if you don't mind bipolar books, give this one a chance. Personally, I have a lot more respect for full-time babysitters and nannies now than I did before. Or anyone that is constantly around toddlers, for that matter. It can't be easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A quick, easy read

    This is a deceptive book. It's easy to read, I read it in 24 hours while at home sick. This book tells the story of Nan, a nanny working her way through college and the rich families she works for. Her last job is with family X where she has to become the mother to "Grover", deal with the snotty wife Mrs. X and the absent cheating father Mr. X. This book was interesting as it was enjoyable while reading but left me feeling depressed and sick to my stomach at the end about the dysfunctional family lives of these rich Manhattenites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Not a fan of this book. It just seems like an expose, or a really angry rant transformed into a novel. It was a little bit scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Not a great book, but definitely enjoyable

    I enjoyed it. . .it was an easy read and entertaining. I found the X's very annoying, which was the point, but it made it very frustrating at times. It was hard not to fall in love with Grayer, and my heart broke for him at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Ok, until the ending.

    I started to read this book, very easy reading and you get into the story line quickly. I was on a flight and didn't put the book down until the end. The problem is that the ending is so anti-climatic. I put the book down and don't plan to pick it up again, nor give it to a friend to borrow. Read the book, good writing but don't plan to like the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    It's good, but no Mary Poppins.

    I really enjoyed this book. It goes into great detail, but sometimes about things that really don't need to be focussed on. The story was entertaining, but at the same time there were so many things left unanswered. When you read it you need to look at it for what it really is a light hearted girl novel, not Austen or Dickens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    This book made me absolutely miserable!

    OK, the book itself was really good. It kept me interested throughout. What really got to me, though, was how ridiculously obscene these Park Avenue mothers are! If this is truly how these mothers treat their children, I'm going back to college to get a degree in psychotherapy. It's going to be quite the lucrative profession as these kids are going to need it someday. How many of these kids are wandering around New York right now with 'mommy issues?' I was appalled at the behavior of Mrs. X. It's unfortunate that Nanny never once stood up for herself. I kept thinking, 'wow, I would have socked that lady right then and there.' Unfortunately, I was also a babysitter for a wealthy family at one point in Toledo, Ohio, and the father would come home, lock himself in his 'office' and while the kids would be screaming for him, he'd totally ignore them and make me stay until the mother got home. She would then pay and proceed to her room before I even left. I guess it doesn't just happen in New York City. Either way, it's a very sad look at the way things have become.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Good read

    I liked this book quite a bit, but I would say that the downside was that the amount of swearing really took away from the two writer's talent. It almost served as a disguise. Otherwise, the plot is interesting and is not otherwise very provocative. I would recommend this for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Reflections and disappointments

    As a former nanny, this book struck very close to home. I have never been employed by someone so abusive of her power as an employer and uninvolved with her children, but I have been in Nanny's shoes. Taken for granted, seen as a fixture, rather than an employee and expected to do far more than my job description stated. So all in all it was fairly well written. I was also rooting for her to lay it on the line and give the book a strong ending, but it just wasnt there. it would have been so much more satisfying had it ended on Nan's terms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    It was..

    The book wasn't bad. I like the beginning and middle, but the ending was disappointing. I fell in love with the little kid and the ending didn't help with my obsession. I became very mad when I finished. It didnt satisfy me and I would like a more descriptive ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Disappointing

    This story has a nice beginning, and the middle of the story builds (one would assume) toward a satisfying climax. Unfortunately, the end simply does not deliver. The authors do an excellent job of giving the power to empathize with the characters. I found myself furious with Mr and Mrs X (not to mention with Nanny for being so passive), but there was no real resolution in this story, and that's what angered me the most. It was such a waste of $14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    Always Looking for a good book...

    If I wasnt on an airplane for 6 hours, I would have not finished the book. Then it became a little more interesting in the middle. As I began to reach the finish line of the book, I became disappointed. It was just OK. I found myself expecting something gripping that never happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    Ok

    I must say that this was the first book in a long time that took me forever to get into it, but once I did I was pleased. Although the beginning is tough, I recommened that anyone struggle through and you'll be very happy you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    It was okay...

    I'm kinda in the middle with this book. There were some parts that I didn't think were very realistic. But then there were others that had me rolling because I could picture my 4 and 6 year olds doing the same thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Not What I expected

    I got this book from the library and read it in two days, I was expecting a funny, unbeat novel, but no instead it was sad, breezy, but non the less very sad. It was what others have called a downer, I babysit two little chidren a 2 yr old boy and a 4 yr old girl, and I am so much more thankful for them now then I was before I read this....the parents are such brats...I would not suggest this book to anyone honestly....well written but depressing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Hilarious?

    I bought the book because I thought it would be funny. I found it to be sad and heartbreaking. It's a quick read, but it's a bit of a downer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4