Customer Reviews for

Nanny Diaries: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 445 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great story, couldn't put it down

This is a very easy book to read yet very enjoyable. I found myself not wanting to put it down.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

great book - but tons of typos

I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where ...
I am still reading this book and while I really enjoy the story it is hard to focus since there are so many typos it feels like you are reading a first draft as a proof reader. When they turned this into an eBook they must have outsourced it to someone/somewhere where English is not the language because tehre are words that make no sence whatsoever, "die" intead of "the" on uncountable instances, unexplaineable "99" here and there ( instead of C, 6 instead of e and so on. Really frustrating...... I feel bad for the authors sicne I am sure they paid someone to do the job. Would also expect B&N to have someone at least spot check eBooks since it is such a new product. Disappointing to have paid for this book.

posted by LoveLi on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Great story, couldn't put it down

    This is a very easy book to read yet very enjoyable. I found myself not wanting to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book

    I love this book. I actually liked it better the second time around. I cant wait to read the sequel 'nanny Returns".

    I just wish the e-book version didn't have so many mistakes with words and the structure of the story. It was hard at times to figure out who was speaking since the dialoge (sp?) tended to blend together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    Awesome Subway Read!

    This is book is witty, well-written. Moreover, the book is very readable. So much so that one can read it on a subway or bus. While one might poo-poo this text as "Chick Lit," it is Chick Lit as its best. The protagonist, a twenty-something NYU student, grapples with her need for cash as well as her need for sanity as she decides whether or not to leave her job. Our narrator re-tells her own story with a sense of humor, and the ability to reflect on the struggles faced by anyone who feels overworked by, but overly attached to, their employers. For anyone who loves New York, and has struggled with a difficult boss, this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    A good book.

    This book was a little bit slow to start for me but I am glad I didn't quit reading it. This is the story of a college girl who is a nanny for the most impossible family. She can't do anything right, according to the family but she ends up falling in love with the boy she nannies and would do anything for him. She is treated terribly, the husband is a jerk and these parents never spend any time with their son. My heart really went out for Nan, the nanny. Working in a school I know that these families exist, very sad. You will like the book- give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Apalling debute of child rearing in the upper East side of New York!

    Couldn't put it down, but was all out horrified by the reasons these woman choose to have children, the way in which they choose (or so choose not) to raise them, and the lengths at which they will go to limit contact with their own offspring.

    Nan (i.e. Nanny) is a stronger character than I, as chapter2 I would have told Mrs. X just what I thought about her and where she could shove her soy products!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Read This Diary

    I liked the Nanny Diaries because the book was funny and touching. I liked that the book was written by actual nannies. I was awe struck to discover what goes on in the world of childcare. I saw the movie and the book is better. It amazed me the mothers who hire nannies don't wish to be bothered with their children. This fact is sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    Good Read!

    I found this book after hearing that some celebrity had recommended it. I couldn't put it down and finished it in about two or three days. It's much better than the movie. There were parts where I laughed, there were parts where I cried. Above all it's a cute book about a girl who becomes a nanny to an upperclass family and the relationship she has with the little boy,Grayer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Easy read...Not Tolstoy, but still sheds light on High Society New York Lifestyle

    I would definitely recommend this book--it has an important point and sheds some light on certain lifestyles. While a lot of the situations are absurd--and the authors' tone make it clear that it is supposed to be--there is some truth to this novel. My mother was a nanny for some high-socety New Yorkers during her summer breaks from college. She said a lot of those people reminded her of the Xes...once my mom was forced to take her employer's little one to the doctor when he was really, really sick so the mother could do her shopping. For those who are so upset with the ending: I don't see what there is to tie up??? You know Nanny is going to be fine. She has her man, she is young and will find a job. Whether Nanny told the Xes off or not wouldn't change a thing...those people are so set in there ways and don't give a crap what Nanny thinks...It is a sad lifestyle and Nanny can't change it so it is kind of a sad ending. If there is a victim in this novel it is, above anyone else, Grayer. And for his sake, Nanny took the high road and didn't yell and swear at the Xes. They would shrug it off, tell Grayer how awful Nanny is and go about their lives as if nothing ever happened. Overall, I liked the book...couldn't put it down. It reminded me of 'The Devil Wears Prada' only the plot was less repetitive and the writing was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Nanny Diaries: I have to say I do judge books by their covers and Scarlett Johanson's pouty face just said 'read me, I'm fun!' 'how academic'. This book was so easy to read I finished this book in two days without devoting my whole weekend to it. The characters are interesting, however not very multifaceted-what you read is what you get. The plot line with the love interest is pretty thin and there are some moments when you can tell that this book is written by two authors. Even still, the book is a fun and frivolous read. Nanny is a 21year old college student that although not increasingly complex is easy to identify with. Nanny has an interesting mix of compassion and 'okay I will go way back in the day for this description'...the girls got sass! Definite recommendation for a light summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book was great. I didn't want to put it down. Yes, it is a little depressing but it is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Cute and heartwarming, yet sad

    This was a really great book. It was purely excellent from the beginning to near end. It almost made it to my favorite books list. ALMOST. Only thing that slightly disappointed me was the ending, which I found had ended to soon, with a pretty sad ending. But the story was very cute, and I personally have never read a book that has made me laugh more. I mean, having to wear a purple teletubbie suit?! Who DOESN'T find that funny?! I really do recommend it, yet I warn those who desire to one day become a nanny or a baby-sitter. I await the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    I Need To Have More

    I found this story to draw me into the plot deeper and deeper with each chapter.I must admitt I was taken back by the ending, it was not what I was expecting. I have decided it had to end that way to make room for the sequal to be written. Of Course this Book is a 'must be made to movie' story. The gal who played the princess in Princess Diary must be Nanny :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    definitely funny and sad

    Good collaborative effort for two young authors. It's a bit of Schadenfreude (enjoyment at the misery of others) for the reader who has experienced employee abuse, either in an office setting or as a domestic employee. Some friends of mine who employ nannies did not like it. Is it too true in parts? Can't wait for the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Very funny, great writing style

    This book is definately funny. I have passed it on to my sister and whenever I hear her laugh I ask her what part she's reading just to be able to laugh at it again. I would probably read the book again. Now, what I didnt like, without giving away too much, is how Nanny just let herself be treated badly. Some parts actually made me very angry. It was frustrating to even think about someone in her situation, but then again, not all characters are heroines right? I didn't necessarily like the ending either. But overall it was a good read. There weren't any boring parts and it kept my interest...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    A nobel prize in the buff

    This is a well read that includes nice vocabulary and realistic values. Although it has comical input, it really shows light on snobby rich new yorkians. And lets reality settle in. It is a must read for us nerds. and probably anyone else, espescially for you snobby new yorkians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    A Sad But Good Read

    This was a well written book. It was easy to read and fast-paced. There were some very amusing parts, but on the whole I found it very sad. The saddest part being that this book is pretty much truthful. The end had me crying - I found nothing funny or ironic about it. The fact that there are children in the world whose parents choose to ignore them or want them to be mini-adults while expecting a nanny to raise them without becoming 'too' attached to each other... Well, I find it to be a sad commentary on how some people just should not have children. I am baffled as to how this book was billed as a comedy. Yes, there are funny parts, there are ironic parts. Many of the inside jokes can be only understood by either people from the East Coast or by nannies. For the most part, I thought this book was more of a commentary on child rearing today in the 'upper classes'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Hard to Put Down

    Loved this book-stayed up late over two nights to finish it. From a midwest standpoint, it's like looking into a another world, albeit sometimes a very sad and shallow world. I agree the ending was a little abrupt. As a mother of two boys, I'll have a hard time forgetting Grayer's final dialogue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Wouldn't Want to Live There

    The magic of wealth and privilege and the perks of a world very few come to know is very intriguing, at first, then the limitations and the unwritten rules come along and really change the view from the top. As much as I enjoy reading about the 'haves', I think the 'have nots' may be a bit more fun and take things in a different context. All I can say is 'WOW', may I meet these people only between the pages of a book or on a movie screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Disappointing Ending

    While the book was written in a light-hearted and humorous way, it is truly about a very disturbing family situation. Your heart goes out to poor Grayer and you praise the efforts of Nanny in trying to make his life a little better. I enjoyed the story and it really made me thankful for the wonderful parents and caregiver I was fortunate to have in my life as a small child. It made me reflect on how many children are really unloved, ignored, and unseen in this world, especially those that are labeled as ¿privileged.¿ The only negative I found with the story was that the ending seemed too quick, flat, and lacked energy from Nanny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7