Customer Reviews for

Nanny Returns

Average Rating 3
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    Disappointing book

    I bought this because I enjoyed the first one, but wow-what a slow book to get into. I've read half of it and it still hasn't really drawn me in. Too many plots, poorly edited and at times it's hard to follow. It's obvious too that the authors are politically liberal as they've interjected comments. This adds absolutely nothing to the story. I wish people would leave that stuff out. I'm seriously thinking of just ditching this book, which is hard for me to do, maybe I"ll just skim the rest.

    Anyone looking for a book to read, I'd suggest that you pass on this one, or borrow it from the library instead of purchasing (Sorry B&N)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Disappointing

    I bought this book because I loved The Nanny Diaries and it always troubled me as to what happened with Grayer. (I'm a mother...fictional character or not, I know too many women who treat their children as accessories.) This book answers that, of course, but I was very disappointed.
    I found the writing hard to follow and excessive in it's use of brand and designer names in place of proper nouns. It makes sense when used in dialogue with status conscious characters like Mrs X, etc but it doesn't when used in Nan's narrative. As when she says "I jerk up my Mason Pearson and swipe it through my hair". It's a hair brush. Say it's a hair brush. Not only was it distracting (along with some of typo's in the book), it also struck me as being hypocritical. Are the writer's every bit as materialistic as their antagonists?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    I bought this book, hoping to be as thrilled as I was with The N

    I bought this book, hoping to be as thrilled as I was with The Nanny Diaries, only to be thoroughly let down. I donated it to charity, thinking someone else could be as bored with it as I. Very disappointing read from two very talented women. Ugh...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When Last we left Nan had been fired and decided to join up with

    When Last we left Nan had been fired and decided to join up with Ryan in his travels. Now it is eight years later. Nan and Ryan are now married and have moved back to New York to put down roots. She thought she had left the past behind but all of the sudden.
    Here is Greyer and he is back. He seeks answers to why Nan left him when she did. Nan feels guilty for how things ended and seeks closure, but is she really seeking that? Life goes as she starts a business and is developing a client list. Then there are also the renovations to their lovely new home. When Ryan leaves for a month will she be able to hold it together?
    My Thoughts:
    I really enjoyed The Nanny Returns. I enjoyed the narration of the audiobook. The humor in Ms. McLaughlin and Ms. Kraus’s writings is greatly appreciated. I enjoyed the hearing more about what Nan had been up to since we last met her. I would absolutely die to have a husband like Ryan. He isn’t perfect but you could see how much he loves Nan.
    Once again we enter the world of the power and privilege with the upper crust of New York. The question I had throughout the novel is how would Nan handle it? Would she cower in the corner or thumb her nose at the upper crust. I thought the relationship she has with Citrine was interesting. A friendship of opposites one of wealth and one of the average.
    I feel the authors left this book off on the right note. I can’t help wondering if we might see more from Nan in the future?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Unreadable

    I don't know where these writers (and editors) learned about grammar, but the sentence structure and flow in these books is appalling and completely unreadable. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fair Sequal - not as fun as the first

    As many readers would agree, the Nanny Diaries was outlandish fun, however, Nanny Returns doesn't quite impress the way the other did. When I first saw that there was a sequal I got really excited especially to see the "return of the X'es"- but there were many other things going on at the same time, most of which were a bit "fantasy like." I do believe some of the situations are plausible, I wish it centered more on Nan and the X's and it didn't. Not bad for a sequal, we all know the sequals rarely live up to the first book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    disappointing

    It pales in comparison to the fantastic wit of The Nanny Diaries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I was disappointed with this sequel to the nanny Diaries. I really wanted to like this, but I just couldn't. I would have liked it a bit better if Nan had grown a little bit of a backbone and had been more assertive. It was all over the place and the flow was way off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Disappointing sequel

    The first two chapters caught me! I was excited to get into the follow-up to The Nanny Diaries...which I loved. As I trudged through the book, it got less and less interesting. There was such potential for the sequel, but this fell horribly short of remotely entertaining. I don't think it's taken me so long to finish a book before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Light Hearted

    This novel is based on a main character who is completely reacting to her environment and has absolutely no control over her life. Although refreshing unpredictable, the book is spastically entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    another disappointing sequel

    I loved The Nanny Diaries and was really excited when I saw that these two authors were teaming up for a sequel. Unfortunately, their effort fell short of the bar set by the original. Whereas I couldn't put down the Nanny Diaries, I found myself struggling to finish this book. I more wanted to find out how they would end the book, than to actually read the book.
    The Nanny Diaries was entirely plausible; one could actually imagine many of the situations occurring in real life. Nanny Returns enters a world more of fantasy as the authors try to create outlandish crises for Nan to tackle and in the end, it makes the book unbelievable and un-enjoyable. If you enjoyed the Nanny Diaries, don't start reading this book imagining it will equal the original as this is not the case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    She's back....

    The years have passed and Nan Hutchinson, aka the nanny of The Nanny Diaries has married and moved around the world with her husband Ryan due to his job with the United Nations. She has gone back to school and finished her Masters degree and is now back home in New York trying to get her own human resources consulting business off the ground, while in the process of gutting and rehabbing a home in East Harlem. An encounter with a now teenaged Grayer, the child she was traumatically fired from watching when he became too attached to her, adds further complications to her life and brings her back into the orbit of is parents, the toxic Mr. and Mrs. X. Add an unplanned reunion with her own schoolgirl "friends" who have turned into clones of the obnoxious parents she dealt with during her career as a nanny, an elite prep school that offers her a consulting job and her husband pressing her start a family of their own and Nan's life is suddenly full of complications.

    I think that Ms. McLaughlin and Ms. Kraus have a knack for writing interesting characters, including background characters. Nan is likable and it is easy to get caught up in her world, although, personally, I wonder why anyone would want to live there."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Confusing, but good

    I forgot how confusing the authors style is. I found myself going, "wait what just happened?" I did get used to the writing style and settled in and really enjoyed this story. Nan and the X family are just as addicting as they were in the Nanny Dairies. I really enjoyed this book...a little different than a lot of the other books out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Nanny still kicks butt!!

    Nanny Returns was an excellent follow up. It shows that bond you have with someone really never goes away. Helping Grover overcome his awful parents the X's. The story was told with great heart, the characters were full of life and passion. I read this book in a day. I loved it and will reread it again I am sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Not as good as the original

    I love "The Nanny Diaries" and I have read that book multiple times. I was really looking forward to reading this sequel. I was not completely disappointed, however, it was not as funny and witty as the first. True fans will still enjoy reading about their favorite "Nanny" characters, as I did, but if you were not a huge fan of the first book I don't think you will be that interested in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Quick Read

    Great way to pass a snowy day and was much better than I expected it to be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    A Real Let Down

    I bought "Nanny Returns" because I enjoyed the "Nanny Diaries" so much. "Nanny Returns" was a very poor follow-up to the first book. It was hard to follow, poorly written, too much "stuff" going on in the book that didn't follow the story. I won't buy another book by these authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    Disappointed

    I could not agree more with ctsoxfan's review. I just finished reading this book and I found it extremely disappointing. It was definitely difficult to follow the numerous sub-plots. I also found the liberal bias annoying. Unfortunately, the overall premise of the story was very unbelievable, unlike The Nanny Diaries, which convinced the reader that people like the X's really did exist. Nanny Returns did not come close to meeting my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    My Sister is enjoying this book

    I bought this book for my sister for Christmas. She is enjoying it right now. When I asked her about it, she told me it was very intersting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Some great one-liners but...

    Quick wit moves this plot along but it is not enough to make up for the lack of cohesiveness. The plot skips around and it is difficult to follow; not because of complexity but because of poor editing. You will cheer for Nan as she fights the good fight against the crazy X's but it is not a book that immediately draws you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9