Customer Reviews for

Nantucket Nights

Average Rating 3.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nantucket Nights will keep you up night until you have turned the last page

I chose Nantucket Nights as a book I thought was going to be sort of an easy, light read. To the contrary, I could not put it down. The scandals and betrayals that change everyone's lives made the book a real page turner. The characters are so real and although the s...
I chose Nantucket Nights as a book I thought was going to be sort of an easy, light read. To the contrary, I could not put it down. The scandals and betrayals that change everyone's lives made the book a real page turner. The characters are so real and although the story setting was an island where everyone knows each other - the town that I live in all though not that small - is a town where scandals like this happen every day. It is a story of frienships, marraiges and the choices we make in everyday life. The book reminds us of how sometimes things are not as they seem and what relationships we should value. I would recommend this book as a must read. I have already passed the book along to three other people.

posted by Nocturnal_Nancy on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable!

This story was very enjoyable to read. It had some mystery and kept you turning the pages wondering what was going to happen next. It was much shorter than the author's other books, but I enjoyed it all the same. I started reading Barefoot and since then have started...
This story was very enjoyable to read. It had some mystery and kept you turning the pages wondering what was going to happen next. It was much shorter than the author's other books, but I enjoyed it all the same. I started reading Barefoot and since then have started reading all of Elin Hilderbrands's books. I really enjoy her style of writing and her setting of Nantucket. If you enjoy a nice relaxing read with a story about families and friends and relationships, this is a great book for you.

posted by Pebbles730 on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Nantucket Nights will keep you up night until you have turned the last page

    I chose Nantucket Nights as a book I thought was going to be sort of an easy, light read. To the contrary, I could not put it down. The scandals and betrayals that change everyone's lives made the book a real page turner. The characters are so real and although the story setting was an island where everyone knows each other - the town that I live in all though not that small - is a town where scandals like this happen every day. It is a story of frienships, marraiges and the choices we make in everyday life. The book reminds us of how sometimes things are not as they seem and what relationships we should value. I would recommend this book as a must read. I have already passed the book along to three other people.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Not impressed with this one.

    After reading a few of her books I actually bought two in a row within the last two weeks. Her other books have been very good and rewarding.I found the ending of this one boring to say the least and held no closure on any point. I will also add that I was not pleased with the amount of typos in this book. It seems as the word "the" was replaced by the word "die" frequently and the main character is named Kayla yet her chapters were named Karla. This was too quick to press in my eyes and needed another review of spelling which makes me not want to buy another one on my nook.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable!

    This story was very enjoyable to read. It had some mystery and kept you turning the pages wondering what was going to happen next. It was much shorter than the author's other books, but I enjoyed it all the same. I started reading Barefoot and since then have started reading all of Elin Hilderbrands's books. I really enjoy her style of writing and her setting of Nantucket. If you enjoy a nice relaxing read with a story about families and friends and relationships, this is a great book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read

    I just love this author - her books leave me wanting for more - the story is never ever over!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Awful, No redeeming Value

    Waste of time-Disgusted expression throughout-read first 1/3, skimmed rest-if you have children, especially teens-this would not be entertaining-3 women, friends for 20 yrs-main character in weak midlife doubt phase is betrayed by her friends, one who seduces and gets pregnant by her teenage son and in sync w/the other friend proceeds to set her up for murdering one of them to ck out on her past deeds and ruins her life. Husband is no help-was in on most of the info and did not share it w/his wife -Not a single adult character w/one redeeming quality. The absolute worst of the three novels I have read by her but surely, another Hilderbrand slam to Nantucket

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Is there a follow up!?

    My 2nd book by this author which i liked overall but found myself out of sorts at the end. Think the characters needed more closure .. i know i sure did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Outstanding read - a must!

    It flowed right along and kept your interest from page one to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Twenty years ago Kayla, Antoinette and Val met in Nantucket when they rented a summer cottage. The three of them had a strong friendship that lasted into their adulthood. They even developed a ritual. Each year, the three of them would get together - without anyone else - share their deepest secrets, champagne and swim naked. It was one day a year that they escaped from their normal, daily lives. They called themselves, the Night Swimmers.

    Then one night, one of the women goes into the ocean and doesn't come back. Nobody knows what happened to her, but she is presumed dead. As the remaining women grieve, they realize the secrets they shared and, what they thought of as an innocent outing, threatens to tear their lives apart. This went much further then their friendship and many innocent people are in danger of being hurt.

    I couldn't put this book down. It captivated me right from the start. I wanted to know how this was going to end, even though I had my suspicions. Elin Hilderbrand writes a wonderful cast of characters and the plot flows beautifully. I've already added her to my list of "must read" authors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Nantucket

    A good summer read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable soap opera

    Every Labor Day weekend for the past two decades the three fortyish women drop everything to spend time together at Nantucket. Kayla Montero has four children and believes her wealthy husband probably has mistresses wherever he globally travels on business. Rich from investments Antoinette Riley enjoys her current ¿crazy sex' fling, but her daughter Lindsey, given up for adoption as a baby, has found her and wants to meet her. Though married and a successful lawyer Valerie Gluckstern, is having an affair that she plans to reveal to the others at the swim tonight. <P>Antoinette swims out to sea, but never returns. The Police and Coast Guard conduct a search, but fail to find her. The next day Kayla informs Lindsey that her biological mother vanished at sea. With the disappearance a dark secret that ties the trio even more deeply together begins to reveal deceptions leaving no one remaining the same. <P>Though the behavior of the lead trio sometimes borders on the absurd and surreal, NANTUCKET NIGHTS is an enjoyable soap opera. The story line moves forward rather quickly with some elements of a thriller to propel the plot ahead. However, the enjoyment with Elin Hilderbrand¿s ¿Beach Club¿ read is the constant changing of feelings between love, hate, and pity that the readers will have towards the three middle aged women until the ¿final secret¿ completes the ties. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    The best The best yet The besyetr

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    If there was a way to give this book a 0, I would have chosen it

    If there was a way to give this book a 0, I would have chosen it. Absolutely hated the story. For women who are &quot;friends&quot;, these people treat each other with no respect or loyalty. The husband is a dud too. Total disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Good quick read!

    I liked this book. It was a quick read. I did not love the ending. I wanted something more to happen. I do recommend, but not the best book by any means.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Worth the read

    I loved this book! It was very entertaining. A great book to lounge on the beach or by the pool. This author really keeps you interested in the story. A difficult book to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Read Barefoot Instead!

    This was not the best story. I should have probably passed on this book. I didn't like the ending of the story. I kept reading expecting there to be something more. The more I read about each character, I liked them even less. Their individual stories were not wrapped up well. They each started okay, but then it wasn't this great dramatic conclusion. From reading the cover I expected a good dramatic beach read. I did finish the book, but I could have saved my money. Barefoot was a lot better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Okay story

    ending was terrible, no real person would have made her choices

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Saraj

    I picked him before you did!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Blade

    I cant post there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Unlikable characters

    Worst of hers i have read yet...unrealistic and choppy writinh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Great read!!

    Another great book by E.H. I absolutely loved it. Can't wait to read my next book by E.H.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7