Customer Reviews for

Napoleon's Pyramids (Ethan Gage Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 433 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

terrific heroic late nineteenth century thriller

Four years have passed since Robespierre and the Reign of Terror ended. In Paris, though the aristocracy may have changed from blue blood to revolutionary blood, France seems back to normal as war, corruption, and pleasure rule. While observing this trend back to norm...
Four years have passed since Robespierre and the Reign of Terror ended. In Paris, though the aristocracy may have changed from blue blood to revolutionary blood, France seems back to normal as war, corruption, and pleasure rule. While observing this trend back to normalcy, American expatriate Ethan Gage wins a seemingly valuable trinket at cards, but it almost cost him his life. This is the story of how Ben Franklin┬┐s former apprentice learns a life lesson that gambling is a vice. Ethan won the Egyptian medallion in a card game. Afterward one of the other players offers money for the item, but Ethan turns him down. Just before leaving he warned no one refuses Silano and besides the medallion is cursed. Soon afterward thieves attack Ethan who realizes quickly they want the medallion. He survives their assault and keeps his newest asset, but now learns the gendarme seek him as a murder suspect. His luck turns at this point when he is attacked again, but gypsies and a mysterious Brit save his life. He joins Napoleon's Egypt expedition to get out of France and to learn why the medallion is so coveted. Instead in Egypt, malevolent assassins willing to kill him for the medallion come after Ethan. --- Gage is a sort of a late nineteenth century Hans Solo as he is a bit of a rogue. The story line is fast-paced whether it is in Paris or the Sahara as it seems that every turn that the hero makes and under every grain of sand he steps on lead to danger from someone coveting the medallion. The use of real historical persona and a strong support cast augments a terrific heroic saga that equates to a night of no sleep for readers. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Was not free

I use the Free Fridays to find and try out new authors. I was disappointed today to find that I could not get Napoleon's Pyramids as a free book. Not sure why???

posted by IslandQuilter on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 433 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Author In Search of a Series

    Dietrich has tried to create an 18th Century Indiana Jones (with, no doubt, visions of sequels dancing in his head) but, alas, in the early going at least he lacks the Spielberg panache to pull it off. However, if one can wade through the awkward verbosity of the beginning chapters - which only help the reader regard some of the early plot twists as ludicrous - the pace picks up in later chapters and one can get into the enjoyment which Dietrich hopes to provide his readers. It is as though it has taken half a book for the author to find his style - and for the most part,an amusing and pleasant one it is. Unfortunately, for this reader at least, there's quite a bit of drudgery at the beginning which numbed my mind to the point that I didn't realize I was actually enjoying the quite outlandish tale until it was almost over. If, as I suspect, Mr. Dietrich plans further episodes in the adventures of his hero Ethan Gage, I think they will be far more readable than this initial work now that the author has found the voice for his character, the times and the events encountered.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Doesn't Capture It

    I really wanted to like this book, and for the first couple chapters I really did. But the plot slowed and just didn't capture me, and the characters were developed surface level at best. Doubt I go on with the series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific heroic late nineteenth century thriller

    Four years have passed since Robespierre and the Reign of Terror ended. In Paris, though the aristocracy may have changed from blue blood to revolutionary blood, France seems back to normal as war, corruption, and pleasure rule. While observing this trend back to normalcy, American expatriate Ethan Gage wins a seemingly valuable trinket at cards, but it almost cost him his life. This is the story of how Ben Franklin¿s former apprentice learns a life lesson that gambling is a vice. Ethan won the Egyptian medallion in a card game. Afterward one of the other players offers money for the item, but Ethan turns him down. Just before leaving he warned no one refuses Silano and besides the medallion is cursed. Soon afterward thieves attack Ethan who realizes quickly they want the medallion. He survives their assault and keeps his newest asset, but now learns the gendarme seek him as a murder suspect. His luck turns at this point when he is attacked again, but gypsies and a mysterious Brit save his life. He joins Napoleon's Egypt expedition to get out of France and to learn why the medallion is so coveted. Instead in Egypt, malevolent assassins willing to kill him for the medallion come after Ethan. --- Gage is a sort of a late nineteenth century Hans Solo as he is a bit of a rogue. The story line is fast-paced whether it is in Paris or the Sahara as it seems that every turn that the hero makes and under every grain of sand he steps on lead to danger from someone coveting the medallion. The use of real historical persona and a strong support cast augments a terrific heroic saga that equates to a night of no sleep for readers. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    A worthy Free Friday Download

    Have read the whole series. The hero is a cad. Humorous and engaging.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Historically correct fiction

    If you like history, you'll like this book. All the events are accurate. The author weaves a nice story around these events. From the very beginning, I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. The violence is necessary, but not overdone (no gore). The war is just the backdrop, not the main event.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Enjoyed this one

    I found this as a Free Friday book for the Nook and thought I'd take a look. It was a fun read and I've since purchased the next two in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quartermain Updated

    This book, underneath its modern trappings of sex and violence to spice the plot, actually reminded me of a H. Rider Haggard yarn. The orthodox should be warned that the "solution" to the puzzle might offend their sensibilities. It is entertaining, but it does not rise to the heights of historical thrillers like those written by Owen Parry, Philip Kerr, Caleb Carr, etc.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Move over National Treasure

    Many twists and turns, interesting information on Masonry, characters you either love or hate. I did skip through some of the battles. The ending sets you up to want to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    This book is a good read, but at times formulaic. An interestin

    This book is a good read, but at times formulaic. An interesting look at the Egyptian Campaign that single handedly created Egyptology and the craze that continues today with Ancient Egypt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a fun little romp. Historical fiction about Napoleon meets

    It's a fun little romp. Historical fiction about Napoleon meets Indiana Jones and National Treasure. There are plenty of true facts, and even more fantasy. If you aren't looking for something deep, this could be a could choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    great read

    If you like James Rollins or Steve Berry you will probably like this story as well. It took me awhile to get into it and I didn't like the main character at first but he grows on you. I think that is the point though as the story develops he starts to mature as a person and become the hero he thinks he is. I will read others in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Hooked

    Picked this up on the Nook's "Free Friday" some time ago and just got around to reading it. Now I'm hooked! A likable rogue, that Ethan! On to "The Rosetta Key", book 2 in the Ethan Gage series .... and 3, 4 and 5!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Not bad but not compelling

    Ethan Gage is likeable, and the attention to history is a big plus. But too slow moving, too long winded to stay engaging. Fun enough for a free or cheap read, but probably will not follow the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    A really fun read

    My only problem with it was that it got a little long and tedious in a few spots, but the rest more than made up for that with action that pulled you right into the action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    A can't put-down story

    It is a great story that covers Napoleon's attempt to conquer Egypt woven about an adventurer who (Ethan Gage) is the main character in the hunt for "The Secret". Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    To slow

    Story line was good but to rambling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    If you were a fan of the "National Treasure" movies, you would like this book. It has a great storyline and keeps you guessing until the very end. Of course, this is the first in the series, so you get into the story and must continue with the character Ethan Gage as his saga continues. I am definitely hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great read

    I'm not much of a critic. I just know what I like or not. This book should be made into a movie. Great story. I did not like the ending, though. Now I have to buy the next one to find out what happened. Be sure I will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    This book was in line with other styles that I've been reading and I wanted to check it out. I was not disappointed! Dietrich writes in a manner that captures the reader immediatly. Ethan Gage is a great character and I have continued on in the series. If you like Steve Berry's Cotton Malone series or even The Da Vinci Code, this would be a great who-done-it book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Napoleon's Pyramids

    William Dietrich makes history fun and adventrous. A great read !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 433 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22