BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Napoleon's Pyramids (Ethan Gage Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 432 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

terrific heroic late nineteenth century thriller

Four years have passed since Robespierre and the Reign of Terror ended. In Paris, though the aristocracy may have changed from blue blood to revolutionary blood, France seems back to normal as war, corruption, and pleasure rule. While observing this trend back to norm...
Four years have passed since Robespierre and the Reign of Terror ended. In Paris, though the aristocracy may have changed from blue blood to revolutionary blood, France seems back to normal as war, corruption, and pleasure rule. While observing this trend back to normalcy, American expatriate Ethan Gage wins a seemingly valuable trinket at cards, but it almost cost him his life. This is the story of how Ben Franklin┬┐s former apprentice learns a life lesson that gambling is a vice. Ethan won the Egyptian medallion in a card game. Afterward one of the other players offers money for the item, but Ethan turns him down. Just before leaving he warned no one refuses Silano and besides the medallion is cursed. Soon afterward thieves attack Ethan who realizes quickly they want the medallion. He survives their assault and keeps his newest asset, but now learns the gendarme seek him as a murder suspect. His luck turns at this point when he is attacked again, but gypsies and a mysterious Brit save his life. He joins Napoleon's Egypt expedition to get out of France and to learn why the medallion is so coveted. Instead in Egypt, malevolent assassins willing to kill him for the medallion come after Ethan. --- Gage is a sort of a late nineteenth century Hans Solo as he is a bit of a rogue. The story line is fast-paced whether it is in Paris or the Sahara as it seems that every turn that the hero makes and under every grain of sand he steps on lead to danger from someone coveting the medallion. The use of real historical persona and a strong support cast augments a terrific heroic saga that equates to a night of no sleep for readers. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Was not free

I use the Free Fridays to find and try out new authors. I was disappointed today to find that I could not get Napoleon's Pyramids as a free book. Not sure why???

posted by IslandQuilter on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific heroic late nineteenth century thriller

    Four years have passed since Robespierre and the Reign of Terror ended. In Paris, though the aristocracy may have changed from blue blood to revolutionary blood, France seems back to normal as war, corruption, and pleasure rule. While observing this trend back to normalcy, American expatriate Ethan Gage wins a seemingly valuable trinket at cards, but it almost cost him his life. This is the story of how Ben Franklin¿s former apprentice learns a life lesson that gambling is a vice. Ethan won the Egyptian medallion in a card game. Afterward one of the other players offers money for the item, but Ethan turns him down. Just before leaving he warned no one refuses Silano and besides the medallion is cursed. Soon afterward thieves attack Ethan who realizes quickly they want the medallion. He survives their assault and keeps his newest asset, but now learns the gendarme seek him as a murder suspect. His luck turns at this point when he is attacked again, but gypsies and a mysterious Brit save his life. He joins Napoleon's Egypt expedition to get out of France and to learn why the medallion is so coveted. Instead in Egypt, malevolent assassins willing to kill him for the medallion come after Ethan. --- Gage is a sort of a late nineteenth century Hans Solo as he is a bit of a rogue. The story line is fast-paced whether it is in Paris or the Sahara as it seems that every turn that the hero makes and under every grain of sand he steps on lead to danger from someone coveting the medallion. The use of real historical persona and a strong support cast augments a terrific heroic saga that equates to a night of no sleep for readers. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    A worthy Free Friday Download

    Have read the whole series. The hero is a cad. Humorous and engaging.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Hooked

    Picked this up on the Nook's "Free Friday" some time ago and just got around to reading it. Now I'm hooked! A likable rogue, that Ethan! On to "The Rosetta Key", book 2 in the Ethan Gage series .... and 3, 4 and 5!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    A can't put-down story

    It is a great story that covers Napoleon's attempt to conquer Egypt woven about an adventurer who (Ethan Gage) is the main character in the hunt for "The Secret". Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    If you were a fan of the "National Treasure" movies, you would like this book. It has a great storyline and keeps you guessing until the very end. Of course, this is the first in the series, so you get into the story and must continue with the character Ethan Gage as his saga continues. I am definitely hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great read

    I'm not much of a critic. I just know what I like or not. This book should be made into a movie. Great story. I did not like the ending, though. Now I have to buy the next one to find out what happened. Be sure I will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    This book was in line with other styles that I've been reading and I wanted to check it out. I was not disappointed! Dietrich writes in a manner that captures the reader immediatly. Ethan Gage is a great character and I have continued on in the series. If you like Steve Berry's Cotton Malone series or even The Da Vinci Code, this would be a great who-done-it book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Napoleon's Pyramids

    William Dietrich makes history fun and adventrous. A great read !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Dietrich has succeeded. This is an amazing historical adventure

    Dietrich has succeeded. This is an amazing historical adventure story set in France and Egypt. More Ethan Gage, please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Well worth it

    Great read, well written well researched!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    A compelling read!

    Finally! An everyman hero for the rest of us!
    I could identify with Ethan Gage - a real human being with all the virtues and vices that typify the specie. The story picks up speed as it progresses and leaves you eager to get the next novel in the series to continue the adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    Very much enjoyed this, thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good read.

    It was an entertaining and fun adventure. I like how there were factual events and characters spread throughout the book, it provided a sense of truth and reality throughout a good fictional novel. I enjoyed the story from start to finish and look forward to reading more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    A little known, to me, incident in history in fiction form.

    I lived in the middle east; I love stories about the pyramids; I love fiction that teaches me something I didn't know. This novel fills the bill perfectly. When I was discussing this with my really brilliant son, he told me that Napoleon's invasion of Egypt was just a myth. It led to some interesting conversation. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough as the story unfolded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Vies with Dan Brown's "Da Vinci Code" for action, adventure and historical research.

    I had a hard time putting this book down and can't wait to read the next story of Dietrich's "Ethan Gage" series. The author combines fast action, high adventure, a touch of romance and a dash of humor to meet just about every readers' asperations.

    Indiana Jones would be proud to star in the leading role of a movie adaptation of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Good book!

    The story was well told, but a times got lost in the "weeds", it was interesting to weave fact and fiction.

    Enjoyed the story overall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Well written historical novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Super ... Most enjoyable!

    Good writer. Terrific plot. The story is plausible. Very exciting. Looking forward to more of Dietrich's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Recommend

    Keeps you entertained throughout. Definitely will check out the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!!

    This is a very enGAGEing (sic), well researched, and well written piece of historical fiction. Lots of factual material, enhanced by a fictional surround of interesting characters. I've recommended it to my friends, and will be seeking other Dietrich novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5