Customer Reviews for

The Narnia Code: C. S. Lewis and the Secret of the Seven Heavens

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Are there Biblical references to all 7 books in the Narnia series?

Most of you are well aware of the Biblical references made in the movie, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. You have the representation of Jesus in the character of Aslan the lion, who sacrifices his own life for that of Edmund and comes back at the en...
Most of you are well aware of the Biblical references made in the movie, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. You have the representation of Jesus in the character of Aslan the lion, who sacrifices his own life for that of Edmund and comes back at the end to rid Narnia of the White Witch and restore the land from it's perpetual winter.

However are there more references to the Bible in the other six books?

In the book, The Narnia Code by Michael Ward, he unlocks the secrets of C.S. Lewis and the secret of the seven heavens through the Chronicle of Narnia books.

I was surprised at all the references I missed in Prince Caspian as well as the up and coming The Voyage of the Dawn Treader this Christmas. What a wonderful mystery that C. S. Lewis wove through his adventures in Narnia for those willing to seek and unlock the treasures within. For example in Prince Caspian, the book is all about war and the tools used in battle much like the spiritual battle that we all must face each day. I completely missed that reference all together.

In this book, you are taken step by step through all seven books by also the reasons why C. S. Lewis wrote the books the way he did. Now this series provides even more opportunity to discuss with my kids what the Biblical references are within each film and book. I received this wonderful book compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and can tell you it rates 5 out of 5 stars!!

This is a must have resource for anyone who has the series of the Chronicles of Narnia already! It is available in paperback, eBook and DVD formats.

posted by Heart2Heart on November 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too conspiracy theorist for me

I wanted to like this book, The Narnia Code, really. I heart the Chronicles of Narnia, I think I've read them at least half a dozen times. And now I've picked them as the first chapter books to read to my four-year-old, and she loves them too. When I read the synopsis a...
I wanted to like this book, The Narnia Code, really. I heart the Chronicles of Narnia, I think I've read them at least half a dozen times. And now I've picked them as the first chapter books to read to my four-year-old, and she loves them too. When I read the synopsis above, I was excited about the theme of the book and the subject. But I have to admit, I had a really really hard time reading it.

It wasn't that it didn't cover any of the things it said, but you could tell that it had been a "scholarly work" to begin with in it's formulaic writing style. For each chapter, there was a thesis paragraph, the body broken down into reasonable subgroups, a review paragraph, and a sentence or two about the next chapter.

The content was interesting enough, including background about why our days of the week are called what they are (based on the Roman names for the planets) and in-depth information about each planet as it related to one of the Narnia chronicles.

I think what I really didn't like about was the overall conspiracy theory about CS Lewis and the Narnia books. I'll leave them as what they are, excellent allegorical children's fiction, and be satisfied with that.

posted by SelaBear on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Are there Biblical references to all 7 books in the Narnia series?

    Most of you are well aware of the Biblical references made in the movie, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. You have the representation of Jesus in the character of Aslan the lion, who sacrifices his own life for that of Edmund and comes back at the end to rid Narnia of the White Witch and restore the land from it's perpetual winter.

    However are there more references to the Bible in the other six books?

    In the book, The Narnia Code by Michael Ward, he unlocks the secrets of C.S. Lewis and the secret of the seven heavens through the Chronicle of Narnia books.

    I was surprised at all the references I missed in Prince Caspian as well as the up and coming The Voyage of the Dawn Treader this Christmas. What a wonderful mystery that C. S. Lewis wove through his adventures in Narnia for those willing to seek and unlock the treasures within. For example in Prince Caspian, the book is all about war and the tools used in battle much like the spiritual battle that we all must face each day. I completely missed that reference all together.

    In this book, you are taken step by step through all seven books by also the reasons why C. S. Lewis wrote the books the way he did. Now this series provides even more opportunity to discuss with my kids what the Biblical references are within each film and book. I received this wonderful book compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and can tell you it rates 5 out of 5 stars!!

    This is a must have resource for anyone who has the series of the Chronicles of Narnia already! It is available in paperback, eBook and DVD formats.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    C.S. Lewis still very much alive, as if by some unfinished business has enlightened Ward into clarifying the Chronicles for those of us who find much confusion in the Narnia tales

    Millions of readers have been captivated by C. S. Lewis's famed Chronicles of Narnia, but why? What is it about these seven books that makes them so appealing? For more than half a century, scholars have attempted to find the organizing key-the "secret code"-to the beloved series, but it has remained a mystery. Until now.

    In The Narnia Code, Michael Ward takes the reader through each of the seven Narnia books and reveals how each story embodies and expresses the characteristics of one of the seven planets of medieval cosmology-Jupiter, Mars, Sol, Luna, Mercury, Venus and Saturn-planets which Lewis described as "spiritual symbols of permanent value."

    I have always been interested in the Narnia books and movies, however have never read the books or watched the films, the story always looking so confusing to me. This is a logical excuse, I have adult ADD and even on my medication I tend to get frustrated if I cannot understand something easily. For me Parables + Puns = I want to scream.

    As a person who does everything backwards I took the chance to read The Narnia Code because I wanted to know how everything fell into place. This to me equals less frustration and more enjoyment when it comes to the Narnia movies. With this in mind I truly want to thank Michael Ward for all his research into C. S. Lewis and Tyndale Home Publishers for letting me review this book.

    From the first chapter I was fascinated to learn how Ward cracked the code and how it came to him. I know others as myself have had insights like this and it makes you wonder where they come from. Ward explains the early planetary era which was a fascination to C.S. Lewis and I could see the reasons why Lewis would use it in his Chronicles. We as a society have lost and forgotten that era, the rapid advancement of science and our fascination with outer space has left us to rely on the breaking news headlines. Ward explains the connections, how it all fits together and it all makes sense. Critics need to lay low on this one, this is not "The Da Vinci Code", which is a bunch of total nonsense thrown together. Ward devoted years of study and reevaluations of C.S. Lewis, his personality, his literary and theological passions and his pre-Copernican obsessions with the planets. I can now say I look forward to reading the books and watching the films without hesitation.

    Michael Ward is an ordained minister in the Anglican Church who works as a chaplain of St. Peter's College in Oxford as a tutor and lecturer. and was born in Cuckfield, Sussex County England. Having loved the Narnia Chronicles since he was a young boy Ward wrote about C. S. Lewis for the first time while working toward his English Degree at the University of Oxford.. He was a resident warden at the late professor's home from (1996-1999) and slept in C.S. Lewis's bedroom and studied in his study. Read more at his web site.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for any Narnia fan.

    The Narnia Code
    by Michael Ward

    Tyndale House Publishers

    Millions of people have been captivated by C.S. Lewis's classic Chronicles of Narnia - but some questions have never been successfully answered. Why are there seven books? Why are only three of them obvious Biblical allegories? Does the series lack coherence, as Lewis's critics (and even some of his friends) claimed? Many have attempted to discover the organizing key - the "secret code" - of the series, but the structure of Narnia's symbolism has remained a mystery.
    Until now.
    In The Narnia Code, Michael Ward presents an astonishing literary discovery. Drawing on the whole range of Lewis's writings, Ward reveals the single subject that provides the link between all seven novels. He explains how Lewis structured the series, why he kept the code secret, and what it shows about his understanding of the universe and the Christian faith.

    Admittedly, I have never read any of the Chronicles of Narnia. In fact, my only experience with C.S. Lewis' iconic tale has been through Disney's adaptation of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, and Prince Caspian. Sadly, I have yet to see the Voyage of the Dawn Treader, though I hope to remedy that situation soon. However, that handicap did not prevent me from fully enjoying Ward's exegeses of Lewis' works.

    When I first got this book, I was concerned that this was going to be nothing but a witch hunt. Something akin to finding that Lewis wasn't really modeling Aslan as the Christ figure and that the entire collection of novels was simply a ruse for Lewis' secret astrological machinations. I was delightfully wrong. Ward pulls from various works of C.S. Lewis to build a solid foundation for the uniting factor between all seven books: Lewis' day job. You see, C.S. Lewis was a professor at Oxford University for thirty years, and he spent nearly ten more years at Cambridge University. His principal field of academic interest was the literature of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. I won't give away the crux of the argument, but the uniting factor has to do with pre-Copernican astronomy. Seven planets. Seven novels. Mystery revealed!

    Ward moves effortlessly through all seven of the Chronicles of Narnia, exposing certain attributes in each novel as he goes, to build a solid case for his argument. It is an argument that I think is absolutely spot on and it adds a wonderful dimension to Lewis' series. So much so that I actually plan on tackling the entire series as soon as I can and, with Ward's discoveries solidly in mind, I think it will create a deeper experience for me as well.

    If you are a fan of the Chronicles of Narnia, I highly recommend you get this book. It will open your eyes to a whole new world within Lewis' work.

    I received this book as a free review copy from Tyndale House Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review, therefore the views expressed in this review are obviously my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    So<_>ldier Bu<_>llet's House

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Reading rebal

    HELP!IM MISSING AFRIEND CALLED KLOE ON MY NOOK!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Goldenlight

    I need a clan. Can I join somebody's? Thanks!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    OH REALLY #@$%# %@#&%

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Moonpaw

    Yeah he was anoying. I put a sword in his chest.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Tigress

    GO TO BLACK STALLIONS GHOST WE NEED HELP!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1