Customer Reviews for

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass: An American Slave

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    Inspirational

    This is such an inspirational story. It is well written and easy to read. You can feel the tension, dismay and sorrow as Mr. Douglas narrates the different things that he had to go through. His story show how faith, courage and determination made him a victor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Though Narrative is True...

    The author brings the reader to that moment in time--slavery--with his vivid recollection of experiences and incidents! Douglass leaves us to wonder if we could ever endure times that he did! Though this narrative is true, even as a middle-aged African American -- this narrative is beyond my comprehension! Maybe I can't relate because I hesitate to place myself in that moment with Douglas! Truly Inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Very Interesting piece

    I enjoyed this piece of literature. It was well witten and vivid. I could see what is going on and I can feel the writers emotions. I recommend this book if you are into the history of slavery and African American literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    LIT2480 online student

    I really enjoyed this book not only because of it's historical aspects, but for exposing the personal tragedy experienced by Frederick Douglass. It allowed me to have a deeper apprecation for his life and it's impact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Frederick Douglass

    The Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass is a fascinating book that went into great detail about Frederick's life during slavery. The book was written by Frederick and everything is based on his memory. The book was written in 1845 and included information that could have lead to his arrest. The book's great detail stands out as he writes it. His recolection of dates is not clear at first but as you continue to read, Frederick says when he was able to remember dates. He describes his stay with Hugh and Sophia Auld as being very comforting and he became attached to them and loved them. When you are reading the book, you become part of it. It seems as if you are there with him. He describes his toughest time when he lives with Edward Covey. He emphasizes the importance that Covey made him a stronger man. The part of the book that stuck out the most was when Frederick tells his readers that he was allowed only one pair of shoes and when they where worn out. He then quotes. 'My feet are gashed so badly that I am lying the pen I am writing with inside of the gash.' You can then picture the agony and pain he must have endured while walking on those feet. The book does not talk much about his life after slavery but that is because of when it was written. Although it does mention some of his accomplishments during his life. It also briefly describes his death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    A Closer Look

    I would recommend The Narrative of Life of Frederick Douglass because it's a good book about real life. It invites the reader into the life of a slave that carries us through the physical and mental atrocities he had to bare. It also offers some determinations as to the motivations of the slaveholder. The experience of reading this book has been an educational one and an encouragement never to give up on your dreams, even if they seem impossible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    Amy B. Lit2480 Virtual college, MDC

    'I have often been utterly astonished, since I came to the north, to find persons who could speak of the singing, among slaves, as evidence of their con- tentment and happiness. It is impossible to conceive of a greater mistake. Slaves sing most when they are most unhappy. The songs of the slave represent the sorrows of his heart; and he is relieved by them, only as an aching heart is relieved by its tears. At least, such is my experience. I have often sung to drown my sorrow, but seldom to express my happiness. Crying for joy, and singing for joy, were alike un- common to me while in the jaws of slavery. ' This is by far the best passage i have read in the book. Mainly because as Mr. Douglass said people did and have believed the slaves would sing for happiness rather than sorrow. <p>He writes in an easy very descriptive form for all to be able to identify and see the images before them. This book is also a great piece of history allowing us to read the words of someone who experienced first hand and who triumphed in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    LIT 2480, MDC African American Literature online student

    An outstanding story that is not only full of emotion, but also stirs it. I recommend this book to anyone that is interested in African American literature and/or history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    Zunilda Perez/LIT2480 MDC

    A well written heartbreaking story, It is sad that people suffered like this back then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    A spirit that can not be denied

    The Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglas was a very compelling story. The story draws you in with the recollection of hardships and barbarity suffered by the slaves during the 1800's. The writer draws on his own personal experiences to demonstrate the cruelty of slavery. You are then captured by the struggle of the slave to overcome his obstacles and his masters. This Book shows not only the darkest depths of inhumanity but also shows the triumph of the human spirit at its best. This story is one of inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    A True Classic

    This narrative based on the story of his life makes the reader feel emotionally attached. If you're looking for some insight, this is it. It is a must-read book for a good history lesson on slavery. I give it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    An eye-opening insight into one of America┬┐s darkest hours.

    An outstanding story that is not only full of emotion, but also stirs it. I recommend this book to anyone that is interested in literature and/or history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    The emotions he felt are stong

    This book was very well done. You can feel his emotions in the way that he writes. I thought that this was going to be another boring book on slavery and ended up thoroughly enjoying it. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    It's realistic!

    At first i thought I was going to read just another dull history book, but it wasn't what i imagined. It was full of details and emotion. I pictured it as if i was watching a movie, not a boring documentary. I give it a thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Worthwhile and Interesting

    I found this book to be quite interesting to bring honestly a first hand account of slavery. I liked Douglass¿ use of words and descriptions provided. The work was very informative and Douglass should be commended for his ability to speak so frankly of these matters especially considering the time in which the story had taken place and slavery was still fresh and prevalent at the time that this work was created. I noticed that the names and some details of other people involved in the story were omitted for the protection of those involved. Douglass uses some language that appeals of my emotions. I can envision what it may have been like to be in that position and are a bit horrified with accounts some of the extreme punishments, some resulting in death that were being given to the slaves. The concept that people were considered less them people and in fact held as property, as any animal or land is considered property, is a bit hard to comprehend in this day and age. Douglass is a man of extraordinary courage, with his defiance commanding respect and fear from those that considered themselves his owners and managed to avoid the fate of fatal punishment that befell so many others. This book was definitely a worthwhile read and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    This is a well written piece of work

    After reading this book I realize some of the things that slaves went through. I have never took the time to read this much into Frederick Douglas. I found it interesting that his father was a white man and could have also been his master. What type of father is this? The fact that he didn't even know his age really disturbed me. Could a human actually be this cruel just because someone isn't the same color as you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    Inspirational Book

    The Narrative of Frederick Douglass was truly touching and remarkable. It was great to read about African-American history through the eyes of a former slave. This book allowed me to get a better understanding of the struggles that slaves encountered everyday. It was good to see a former slave overcome enormous and almost impossible to beat obstacles. It was accelerating to see how he went from a slave to a well-educated black man. This book was really an inspiration it gives a positive message that if you put your mind to something you can do anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Douglass' Voyage of Slavery

    The Narrative of the Life of Federick Douglass, An American Slave Book Review by: Taneisha Robinson The abolition of slavery was inevitable. A force of absolute buoyancy stands inferior to any obstacle faced by slaves. Be it slavery laws, personal vengeance or mixed feelings to abide by the law or act humanely, the will to succeed needs minimal probability and numerous possibilities. To defy the bondage of slavery as a people is imperative. If one little poor slave boy can, then so can I. I avidly read this book and would recommend it essential reading material for middle school students who possess little or limited knowledge of slavery and all that it encompasses. The extreme events that unexpectedly shape your life, whether it is past, present or future, are uncontrollable. Therefore, the ability to be submissive to society¿s demands and authoritative to your dreams must redress the balance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    we take our free life for granted

    Frederick Douglass was a past slave and an aspiring author. He told how he and his fellow people had endured the harsh treatment white folks had set upon him. His novel created a background of realism, like you were actually there and feeling it. The novel also told about that our freedom did not come easy, and voting had not existed with the blacks then. Not only did his novel remind me about my ancestors, it also told me that they too had probably went through harsh times when slavery was around. This book is to read about if anybody wants to see or feel what slaves went through in harsh times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Do not hesitate to read it?

    This is the first time I have read a book about a slaves¿ life. However, ¿ The Narrative of Fredrick Douglass Book¿ really impressed me. While I was reading, I became part of the story suffering each moment of punishment with Douglass. The way he described his life makes you feel as if you were there, understanding and feeling all his emotions and disappointments. I really recommend this book because it is an easy way to understand why slaves like Frederick Douglas had such urge to obtain the abolition of slavery and their freedom. To me, he is a great writer and human being with a high level of intelligence based on his actions. I am so sure that you are going to enjoy this fantastic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2