BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Teaches you a lot

In reading Frederick's narrative it truly teaches you about the life inside slavery and how powerful the faith of a person can be to escape the evil of the world. He writes so well and I will always remember his story because it has inspired me.

posted by 1485707 on June 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

This is a great read, but it wouldn't hurt to have some of the imperfections corrected...sometimes it gets a bit confusing.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    The Story of an American Icon

    The amazing story of someone born in chains, self educated, who educated others and wanted freedom so bad -- he attained it. Who became an orator for the Abolitionist Movement. This is a man who squared shoulders with Lincoln on the Emancipation Proclamation. This story describes how he helped himself, his race, and his Nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Wow!

    Frederick Douglas was a Baaad Dude! This book was totally awesome. I gave it to my kids to read. It should be required reading for High School Lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Must have

    Reqd reading

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    must read

    I read this in college and its a really good book. Most of the time school's give you boring books to read but i enjoyed this one a lot. It makes you understand what slaves went through, and how much he had to overcome inn his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    INFORMATIVE

    It was a good and informative read. I found out just how resilient a man (slave) can be in order to succeed even under the worse circumstances and this can be applied to life today - just when you think things can't get any worse, they sometimes do, but you gotta keep fighting - great book cl10801

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    I always took my book with me

    I always
    took my book with me

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Now this is a great book

    A really good book, one I enjoyed reading cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read.

    One of the most famous slave narratives, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave, details the life of one of the most active abolitionists to have ever lived. It is the moving story of how one man lived, up until his decision to flee northward.

    An excellent read, overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    This book was short, yet profound. Fredrick Douglass provided a vivid backdrop of slavery from the slaves' perspective. His story is truly inspiring. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Good edition

    I really think the Introduction to the edition is valuable. For an inexpensive edition, one couldn't do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Reading for high school

    very compelling book, it gave a lot of insight to the life of slave, and it was extremely moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Slavery Revealed -A Must Read

    Frederick Douglas' account of slavery in America is truly eye-opening. The depth of slavery's evil is presented in a calm voice, but one that is sure of its judgment. Douglas' candor and details provide a persuasive view that slavery in any form is inherently evil and demeaning. America's inability to abandon it without war is thus made all the more bewildering. From a style of writing perspective, I found the book thoroughly enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Sad, but great story!

    I'm currently reading this book for my 11th grade English class. Now normally, I'm not affected by stories from books I read in school, but Frederick Douglass' Narrative changed my mind. I've always known that slavery was evil, but I felt like I was there with Douglass when he was going through the slave period. What affected me even more was that I am half black and on my mother's side, our ancestors were slaves at this time. Douglass' Narrative is a very powerful novel, and a good story. I urge you to consider reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading this book with my 12 year old son. I wanted him to know what slaves went through compared to the many opportunities that minorities have today. Frederick Douglass wanted to go to school and there are many children of all races today who take their life and education for granted. This is a must read for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    O.K,

    Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave is a walk through of Frederick Douglass' life, it was a detailed autobiography. I now respect him due to his great courrage and bravery. Although he was a great person i didnt enjoy the book too much,i thought this book was a bit too dry for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    Life of Frederick Douglass

    This was an excellent source of inside information about the grave stories of how African Americans were brought and bought against their will. It's sad when people are purposely kept from learning to read because of another persons greed and fear. When you know that your father is your master and you're treated in such a different manner and also no mother to care for you is spirit breaking. You witness brutality sometimes death being done to your own kin kind of puts you in a fearful state. It's sad that you work from sun up tp sun down and not given proper or adequate clothing and sleeping gear. You see the older slaves go in the woods left to die after they've help raise children and worked all of their good years of life to waste away alone. The good in the Narrative is that Frederick was able to leave with knowledge and was able to bring so many others to the light of such evil and longsuffering of a people who didn't ask to come to a country and be exploited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    terrible

    mr. douglass should have sat down and just obeyed his masters instead of trying to protest. i wonder why garrison even was against slavery. he was white! i wonder what woud have happened if he got caught the second time and why abraham lincoln agreed to ban slavery. why did he want to be free so bad? i think he should just obeyed his masters and he wouldn't have had a problem.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Freedom for Fredrick

    The Narrative of the life of Fredrick Douglass is a must-read. This is a remarkable story that you will never forget. This book gives extraordinary insight to the life of an American slave and is one of the best books I have ever read. It will take you deep into the pain and suffering that Fredrick Douglass endured become free. This quick-read will have you crying and cringing right alongside the slaves. No history book could ever portray slavery like Douglass has. All Americans should read this book sometime in their life. It is crucial to the understanding of one of our most painful subjects in history. It is almost incomprehensible to grasp what these people had to do simply to survive. In our time, when freedom is taken for granted, this narrative is an eye opener. Fredrick Douglass is a historical hero. He beat the odds and not only survived, but he lived on to teach himself how to read and write. We are fortunate to have an opportunity to read the writing of an actual slave and an overall admirable man. Freedom is a privilege, and this book helped me to realize how fortunate I am to be a free American.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    African American Literature Online Student

    The Narrative Life of Frederick Douglass is a bone chilling read. Most of our lives we have heard about slavery from an outsider; from someone who retells the story from their own perspective, but this piece of literary work tells the story from a first hand perspective. The reader feels like he or she is traveling through Douglass¿ life by his side; it is as if you feel the pain and suffering this man felt. You want to jump out of your seat and denounce the bestiality that our white society forced so many human beings to live through. This could actually be one of the more accurate accounts a student could read concerning the slave phenomenon. I highly recommend this piece of work to anyone that is interested in finding out what really happened in this country and how crudely our forefathers treated human beings just because of the color of their skin. Douglass recounts his life from early childhood, not knowing anything about his father other than he was a white slave owner, all the way through his struggling adulthood. He was able to educate himself thanks to his owner and later received his freedom. He immediately became an important and strong abolitionist who changed the lives of many African Americans. I highly encourage all of you to pick up this heart warming piece and take some time to analyze what really happened in our past. Sometimes we shouldn¿t be so proud of this country because its past isn¿t so bright and humane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    Yulisa Rincon LIT2480 student

    The book Frederick Douglass, gives us a descrpitive image on how they were threated. The book is so emotional and it mke us appreciate our freedom that we have now..And it makes you feel proud for his accomplisments and depress for his losses. I recomend this book to every one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14