BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Teaches you a lot

In reading Frederick's narrative it truly teaches you about the life inside slavery and how powerful the faith of a person can be to escape the evil of the world. He writes so well and I will always remember his story because it has inspired me.

posted by 1485707 on June 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

This is a great read, but it wouldn't hurt to have some of the imperfections corrected...sometimes it gets a bit confusing.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    Teaches you a lot

    In reading Frederick's narrative it truly teaches you about the life inside slavery and how powerful the faith of a person can be to escape the evil of the world. He writes so well and I will always remember his story because it has inspired me.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbelievably Wonderful Book!

    This Narrative was amazing. His writing was clear and easy to understand. I could not put this book down and read it in one day because it takes you back to that time and paints a vivid picture of the horrors of slavery. This special book will stay close to my heart forever and I will definitely pass it down to my future children. Although it is a bit short, it is worth it and makes a great addition to any book lovers book shelf!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Necessary Read

    To not have read this book is to have missed an important part of our history. The writings of a former slave with the perspective that knowledge brings and the expressions of freedom heretofore unknown. A moving read and a true picture of the life of the average slave in the south. Not for the faint of heart.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Engaging and Informative

    This was the first first-person narrative on slavery I had read. Douglass' writing style is great. He presents his material in a factual, yet riveting manner. I could not put this book down. I learned so much more about the era than I ever have through textbooks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Love it

    I reckamend this book for every person

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Remarkable Story

    This book demonstrated faith, strength, and ambition. Enjoyed this book alot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    A Bio of Renowned Worth

    As a devoted, long term scholar of the Civil War era I find this book invaluable. For the scope of the time leading up to the war itself this work sheds a great light. That Frederick Douglas triumphed over such painful beginnings is another of a long line of such stories but is important for any civil war library for what it brings to the discussion on "why", "who for" and the "worth" of that great struggle toward eventual emancipation. This particular edition was affordable and adequately presented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    THE PROGRESS FRON "COLOREDS" TO AFRICAN AMERICANS

    I READ THE NARRATIVE OF THE LIFE OF FREDERICK DOUGLAS:AN AMERICAN SLAVE, WHILE IN HIGH SCHOOL. AS A RESULT I GAINED A BETTER PERSPECTIVE ON SLAVERY FROM A PRIMARY SOURCE: A FORMER SLAVE WHO LATER BECAME A IMPORTANT FIGURE IN THE AMERICAN ANTI-SLAVERY MOVEMENT, INSTEAD OF AN OUT DATED TEXT BOOK.
    I COMMEND THE YOUNG PERSON WHO READ THE BOOK FOR A HIGH SCHOOL ASSIGNMENT (POSTED MAY 5, 2010). HOWEVER, I FOUND IT STRANGE THAT HE OR SHE WOULD REFER TO AFRICAN AMERICANS AS " COLORED PEOPLE". WHILE AFRICAN AMERICANS WERE REFERRED TO FIRST AS "N'S" BY SLAVE HOLDERS IN THE SOUTH AND MANY NORTHERN WHITES ( WHO SYMPATHIZED WITH SOUTHERN WHITES AND THEIR CAUSE), HOWEVER, "COLORED" APPEARED TO BE THE MOST COMMON TERM USED. THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT, THE BLACK POWER MOVEMENT, AND THE IMPACT OF THE NATION OF ISLAM ON BLACK AMERICANS WOULD POPULARIZE THE USAGE OF AFRICAN AMERICANS. IF YOU MUST REFER TO BLACK AMERICANS, THE TERM AFRICAN AMERICAN IS ACCEPTABLE AND PERFERRED.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great, great book!

    This book, written so thoughtfully and articulately describes the horrific existence and unthinkable life those in slavery had very little choice but to endure. The courage required to escape to freedom cannot be adequately appreciated without personally experiencing it. Douglass vividly paints the picture from his first hand experience and this is a captivating account if our country's worst hour....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Wow!

    Frederick Douglas was a Baaad Dude! This book was totally awesome. I gave it to my kids to read. It should be required reading for High School Lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Must have

    Reqd reading

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    must read

    I read this in college and its a really good book. Most of the time school's give you boring books to read but i enjoyed this one a lot. It makes you understand what slaves went through, and how much he had to overcome inn his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    INFORMATIVE

    It was a good and informative read. I found out just how resilient a man (slave) can be in order to succeed even under the worse circumstances and this can be applied to life today - just when you think things can't get any worse, they sometimes do, but you gotta keep fighting - great book cl10801

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Now this is a great book

    A really good book, one I enjoyed reading cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read.

    One of the most famous slave narratives, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave, details the life of one of the most active abolitionists to have ever lived. It is the moving story of how one man lived, up until his decision to flee northward.

    An excellent read, overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    This book was short, yet profound. Fredrick Douglass provided a vivid backdrop of slavery from the slaves' perspective. His story is truly inspiring. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Good edition

    I really think the Introduction to the edition is valuable. For an inexpensive edition, one couldn't do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Reading for high school

    very compelling book, it gave a lot of insight to the life of slave, and it was extremely moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Slavery Revealed -A Must Read

    Frederick Douglas' account of slavery in America is truly eye-opening. The depth of slavery's evil is presented in a calm voice, but one that is sure of its judgment. Douglas' candor and details provide a persuasive view that slavery in any form is inherently evil and demeaning. America's inability to abandon it without war is thus made all the more bewildering. From a style of writing perspective, I found the book thoroughly enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7