Customer Reviews for

Narrow Dog to Indian River

Average Rating 3
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    "Narrow Dog to Indian River" good for an offbeat armchair adventure

    "Narrow Dog to Indian River" is Terry and Monica Darlington's follow-up work to their "Narrow Dog to Carcassonne," published in 2005. These books detail the Darlington's adventures aboard their English narrowboat The Phyllis May with their whippet Jim, in the first book motoring their way through English and French canals with a crossing of the English Channel in between, in the second traveling down the U.S Intercoastal Waterway. Terry Darlington,just seventy at the start of the book, is crusty and idiosyncratic and at times very funny in his writing, quite British in his outlook, at times fairly caustic regarding absurdities he encounters on these travels. If you like this sort of writing--somewhat in the tradition of Paul Theroux and Bill Bryson but on a smaller scale--these are terrific books which we thoroughly enjoyed. We look forward to reading the Darlington's next adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    So much fun!

    Being boater, being possessed by a dog, and having travelled the Midi Canal in a narrow boat myself, I was immediately drawn to the first book, "Narrow Dog to Carcassonne". I thoroughly enjoyed that book and was not disappointed by the sequel, "Narrow Dog to Indian River". The story of Terry and Monica Darlington and their dog, JIM, traveling along the Intercostal Waterway in an English narrow boat is as unique as is their mode of travel. Their self-deprecating sense of humor and personal viewpoint give the story a wonderfully eccentric point of view. This is a funny, lighthearted travel story, describing their adventures the water and on the shore and recounting their impressions of the people, weather, climate and geography, all in good humor. If you like boats, or waterways, or people, or dogs, or the South, you will enjoy this book. My greatest disappointment of this book is shared by the first; the story ended too soon. It was so much fun!
    I am eagerly, awaiting the next chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    Don't waste your money

    NPR had recommended this book for summer reading; I can't believe what a poor choice this book is.
    The book is insulting to the South and to the people who populate its coastline. The author spends most of the book complaining about the weather. Most travellers do research about that sort of thing before the head out on a long trip. The people opened up their homes and hearts to the author and his wife and yet he used derogatory terms to describe them. I believe in some cases the difference in perception is due to the differences in our sense of humor, but frankly I couldn't force myself to finish the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1