Customer Reviews for

The Narrows (Harry Bosch Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Narrowing options, Widening tales

    I read Michael Connelly's The Poet while my husband flew to England reading The Narrows. Many years pass between the two novels, and many intertwined characters enjoy lives of their own in other books. But Blood Work and The Poet make a good introduction to The Narrows and the novel lived up to all the high expectations my husband's comments inspired in me.

    Michael Connelly again writes his book in two voices, the narrator watching over people's shoulders, and the first-person narration, this time of retired policeman Harry Bosch. Relationships and backgrounds are cleverly sketched with minimal information and ample mood and conviction, so the reader-this reader anyway-doesn't feel any loss at missing the intervening books; just an eagerness to go back and read them some day.

    FBI agent Rachel Walling has been hidden in the middle of nowhere to keep her out of trouble. LAPD detective Harry Bosch has retired and is trying to find his way between unexpected family life and a desire to investigate mysteries without the aid of a badge. Suddenly Rachel's name is attached to a new investigation, and the wife of retired FBI agent Terry McCaleb is convinced her husband was murdered. The two mysteries begin to converge with nicely timed discoveries that keep readers one step ahead of the tale while still trailing one step behind the investigation. There are mysteries behind mysteries, secrets behind lies, and a stunning concluding chase where all narrowing options close down to one.

    Like all of Connelly's novels, or at least all I've read, The Narrows is finely paced, convincingly plotted, and masterfully designed; not just a mystery; not just an investigation of human nature; not just good vs evil; but something convincingly more than the sum of its parts-a story that stays with the reader long after the telling.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Great book!! Enjoyed the fast paced keep ya on your toes, exciti

    Great book!! Enjoyed the fast paced keep ya on your toes, exciting read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I really love the Harry Bosch series. I have not read the series from beginning to end and this can present a problem when trying to understand the character development. However, that being said, the stories are great, the characters are extremely interesting and believable and I have yet to be dissatisfied with any of Michael Connelly's novels.

    Read them - enjoy them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Another Wild Ride

    Great book... if you love Bosch you won't be dissapointed.

    I definitely reccomend that you read Blood Work and The Poet before reading this book. There were quite a few references to the past.

    Cant help being a tiny bit skeptical as retired cop Bosch was a step ahead of fbi the entire book. Don't get me wrong... Bosch is the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Nice read

    Enjoyed this book at first and really had me going then kinda puttered out towards the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Bosch at his Finest!!

    Loved this book!! This was one of my favorites thus far in the Harry Bosch series! I have read the newer books and now going back to read the earlier ones. FBI agent Rachel Walling is involved again as the Poet (serial killer)resurfaces. He is out to track her down once again. At the same time

    Former LAPD detective Harry Bosch gets a call, too--from the widow of an old friend. Her husband's death seems natural, but his ties to the hunt for the Poet make Bosch dig deep. Arriving at a derelict spot in the California desert where the feds are unearthing bodies, Bosch joins forces with Rachel. Now the two are at odds with the FBI...and squarely in the path of the Poet, who will lead them on a wicked ride out of the heat, through the narrows of evil, and into a darkness all his own.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    AWESOME

    Very good book. Couldnt put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Recommend

    Still reading but so far so good. The same style of all Michael Connelly books; easy reading and interesting enough to keep you turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Great read! Bosch is my kind of detective!

    I like Connelly because they're what I call popcorn books - easy to read, full of action and very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    As all Connelly books, this was excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Highly recommendef

    Harry Bosch rocks. He is such a realistic and believable character. I always enjoy any book from this series, and this one does not fail to hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Dawne

    I enjoyed the McCaleb books very much and had hoped to read more. I am very saddened that his character was now deceased. Had hopes of a lot from him, guess it wasn't meant to be. Boo Hoo Hoo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Recommend

    Michael Connelly never fails to capture the readers interest. I'm always trying to solve the mystery, and rarely do I get it right. Loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this book. You just can't go wrong with a M. Connelly detective story. His writing style always keeps me turning the page, and looking for his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Could not put it down

    I love this series and this one kept me on the edge of my seat. Still thinking about this story and the intertwined plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch ser

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch series in order, and I LOVE them. I am a big mystery/detective story fan, and I have tried so many different series from different authors, but I finally found the one for me! What can I say? I often find myself not really liking the main characters in novels, but I truly like Harry; he is a good guy - not perfect, but he works hard, isn't a womanizer, and isn't overly macho. All of the stories are well-written, realistic, contain surprises and twists, and keep me hooked until the very end. My favorites have been The Black Echo (#1), The Concrete Blonde (#3), Trunk Music (#5), City of Bones (#8), The Narrows (#10), although again - I enjoyed all of them. If you like detective mystery novels, you won't be disappointed with Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great read

    Another great Harry Bosch adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommended

    I have read all of the Harry Bosch books up to and including the last one, # 18 The Black Box.........sure hope there is a follow up in a few months because it sort of leaves some things hanging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thriller!

    Not as good as The Poet, but almost.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    good reading

    Would recommen a lot of action

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11