Customer Reviews for

National Geographic

Average Rating 4
( 562 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(274)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

WOW! Incredible!

This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and en...
This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and enjoy! My lovely wife clued me in about NatGeo, so now we BOTH have a subscription, I am not waiting for her to share, nope.

As for those folks with iPads complaining: it clearly states in the description that this magazine is for the Nook. Simple as that. Don't whine at B&N, talk to Apple about why they have not been able to cut a deal with National Geographic. While you are doing that, just think about how the rest of us are reading NatGeo on our $199 full color Nooks.

Back to the review! This magazine does it all, you can zoom in on the pictures and maps to get all the detail you want to see, but when you want to read the article, it has 'Article' view so you can just read.

This is a Five Thumbs up!

posted by LifeIsToughOnTheStupid on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Looks great on my Nook Color, But...

It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte...
It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte capacity!!

I am thuroughly bummed because I was told by the sales rep that I could keep "many different" magazines on my Nook for reading an Ref.

Not true, you will need to archive any issues that you are not reading and have access to WiFi to do the archive update.

posted by 3314740 on November 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 562 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    COULDN'T OPEN OR READ

    NEVER COULD GET IT TO OPEN. COULDN'T READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Jager

    I love ng! My opinyoun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Best magazine ever

    Keep it away from ages 5-19

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Lerning

    Its good because its like the buzz but with nature facys instead of gossip facts and you learn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Awesome!

    I love NG, in 4013 when they excavate an ancient dig site and find evidence of our civilization, I hope its the NG archives they find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I just love national geographic...it has many stunning fact and

    I just love national geographic...it has many stunning fact and great details. The only thing they should eliminate is the commercials, they simpl are annoying. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Subscription Canceled

    Just canceled my subscription. NG has become more and more a leftwing propaganda publication.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Need to update the format for NOOK

    I love the actual paper magazine but something gets lost in the digital version. I can't view the pictures as well as I would with a paper magazine and the darn font is way too small.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Digital is very different from Print

    I was a nearly-30-yr subscriber to the print issue and switched to digital so I would receive my copies even if we were traveling. I just canceled the digital subscription after less than a year because it's not the same experience. Nat Geo is one of those publications that is best enjoyed by holding it in your hand. In my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Rising seas

    Don't need to read this propaganda trash. Canceling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    :)

    Its great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Unsubscribe

    I did the 14 day trial and now I don't know how to unsubscribe and I keep getting charged. Help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Barnes & Noble Fails to Honor Terms of Subscription

    NOOK-B&N LIE! When I purchased my Nook, I used the device to order Nat'l Geographic online. The B&N/Nook terms indicated I would not be charged for the subscription--it would be free--if I had a print subscription. Later I saw a charge to my credit card for $2.08. When I called, I was told that I would need to provide evidence of my print subscription--namely, my Nat'l Geographic Acct # [2463432977, which I did not have at the time as they are not printed on the magazine itself]. Months later I called with the information, and supervisor "Mark" in the digital section said that there is no provision through Nook's "publisher" for giving a free subscription, even though Nat'l Geographic in its print magazine says the digital copy is free!!! BAD SERVICE, NOOK and BARNES & NOBLE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    I am twelve and i have been reading allmost every issue from..

    From cover to cover, and have loved National Geographic for five years.~M.G.S curent subscriber to the National Geographic magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    National nice photography

    I have discontinued my subscription, although I think the mag is ok. The reason for this is, in my impression NatGeo is more like a collection of beautyful photographs from very talented ppl than depth of the stories. Finally the huge amount of advertisement (almost 1 page ad for every 1 page of content) is not worth the distraction from content for me after all, considering that I pay for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Fantasic as always

    A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    Anyone want to lend me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Dffggqwerty

    W

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    April issue??

    Still waiting for the digital version of the April issue which seems to be available everywhere else but at B&N!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    V g btr x dr

    Ngbnggdtcct

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 562 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 29