BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

National Geographic

Average Rating 4
( 575 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(280)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

WOW! Incredible!

This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and en...
This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and enjoy! My lovely wife clued me in about NatGeo, so now we BOTH have a subscription, I am not waiting for her to share, nope.

As for those folks with iPads complaining: it clearly states in the description that this magazine is for the Nook. Simple as that. Don't whine at B&N, talk to Apple about why they have not been able to cut a deal with National Geographic. While you are doing that, just think about how the rest of us are reading NatGeo on our $199 full color Nooks.

Back to the review! This magazine does it all, you can zoom in on the pictures and maps to get all the detail you want to see, but when you want to read the article, it has 'Article' view so you can just read.

This is a Five Thumbs up!

posted by LifeIsToughOnTheStupid on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Looks great on my Nook Color, But...

It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte...
It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte capacity!!

I am thuroughly bummed because I was told by the sales rep that I could keep "many different" magazines on my Nook for reading an Ref.

Not true, you will need to archive any issues that you are not reading and have access to WiFi to do the archive update.

posted by 3314740 on November 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    An honest and legitimate review of, the National Geographic Magazine.

    I am very disappointed in the American edition of National Geographic Magazine; (NGM). I kept my E-subscription to NGM for 4 months to develop an honest opinion of the magazine.
    I have honestly found the following negative issues throughout the 4 months:

    1. The magazine has far too many advertisements.

    2. Very low quality stories.

    3. Very little photography that actually captures and holds your attention.

    Each issue I have received has been filled with the same focus of various advertisements, which has contributed a great deal to the low quality of the magazine.

    The current editors of the magazine are no longer focused on quality and breaking new stories that once captured the American public.
    I have learned through the last 4 months that the editors are only riding on the National Geographic brand name! They have let go of the original focus, to bring new and exciting stories, and to publish amazing excellent quality new images to the people. Instead the current editors are now focused on numerous advertisements in the magazine.

    I will admit that in the past, like so many others, meaning around ten years ago. I was so amazed at the wonderful stories and images that the magazine published.

    Unfortunate, due the decline that I have personally seen in the American edition of National Geographic Magazine, I have cancelled my subscription, and would not recommend this magazine to anyone unless you are taking a class on advertisement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Subscription Canceled

    Just canceled my subscription. NG has become more and more a leftwing propaganda publication.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    National nice photography

    I have discontinued my subscription, although I think the mag is ok. The reason for this is, in my impression NatGeo is more like a collection of beautyful photographs from very talented ppl than depth of the stories. Finally the huge amount of advertisement (almost 1 page ad for every 1 page of content) is not worth the distraction from content for me after all, considering that I pay for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Does NOT incliude enhanced content

    I spoke directly with National Geographic technical support. National Geographic DOES NOT support enhanced digital content on any Android device.

    I have notified B&N that they should withdraw this claim - after I bought a couple of issues that were nothing more that the print edition.

    Guess B&N refuses to do what is right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Awful

    Awful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    GwfegedtbhfggybyhyhuhyhytgyvrbhtbhtbhtfbnugsNFjfyjfynfybgdhethethethdthdyhetethdyhhydghtddyhhdgthdhdtdthsththehttehtdhtdytsgfsysfgttggtthdztshvxgtsgsydfyvtyhd*35675$66457&'665$7%-5-$5-:&6466464#*5$5-fzbgsshthgdshthtstshshthtstshshttshhtsdhfugeqyfuhih

    Vgdfegwfbgdbgenfhgebfgegvrgbdgbgrbbdjbdcjkvhi not know how to spell hcdqihbciduagdaojhvduiwhvdwuouhvuodahuiqudhuochdauohciudahqdouchdouhvheoucheqoufhrquohfrqiuhcdwifhrwojhfsuovwruohcfofuhcufuhowidcfwiohvfwiohfuosvfsiochfsuochfsuichsfhvacjkh scuo hfsuochfwuochwfuochwuohefuiucheuifhcojfhvjofbcjdowjbcuodwchuiwdhcdojdcbfwuicbdwkhcdwhijcbfwhicbdwijcbwdcuibwdchidwbchiwdbcdwjicbdwjibchidwcbdhwkcvuiwdcbbdjobcuiwdbcdihwcbwdhicbdihwcbdidhbdwkhcbrhifbkhfvkjwkhdbrwhifbjkebfrhiwfbjhrviudwbcihrwfuirbdihfbddjobcrwhbfdqjjfbqojbcijrwbfjrowfidwbhcdwojvbrwjojbcjodwbojwr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2014

    Nat Geo pictures are not compatible with NOOK for PC or NOOK Stu

    Nat Geo pictures are not compatible with NOOK for PC or NOOK Study for PC. Very disappointing. Called for assistance 3 times, no help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    No Photographs?

    Was very disappointed that the magazine description didn't include the photographs to go with the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    auto renew

    magazine is great auto renew is terrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Avoid all Nook subscriptions

    Don't "try" a subscription on your Nook with Barnes & Noble; you'll never be able to get them to stop charging you for magazines you don't want and didn't order!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    COULDN'T OPEN OR READ

    NEVER COULD GET IT TO OPEN. COULDN'T READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Rising seas

    Don't need to read this propaganda trash. Canceling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Unsubscribe

    I did the 14 day trial and now I don't know how to unsubscribe and I keep getting charged. Help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Barnes & Noble Fails to Honor Terms of Subscription

    NOOK-B&N LIE! When I purchased my Nook, I used the device to order Nat'l Geographic online. The B&N/Nook terms indicated I would not be charged for the subscription--it would be free--if I had a print subscription. Later I saw a charge to my credit card for $2.08. When I called, I was told that I would need to provide evidence of my print subscription--namely, my Nat'l Geographic Acct # [2463432977, which I did not have at the time as they are not printed on the magazine itself]. Months later I called with the information, and supervisor "Mark" in the digital section said that there is no provision through Nook's "publisher" for giving a free subscription, even though Nat'l Geographic in its print magazine says the digital copy is free!!! BAD SERVICE, NOOK and BARNES & NOBLE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    April issue??

    Still waiting for the digital version of the April issue which seems to be available everywhere else but at B&N!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    avoid purchaseing nook magazines

    If you buy one issue they subscribe you to the magazine automatically and there is no option to ever cancel the subscription.
    I was going to get a nook hd but I doubt it after this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Not user friendly

    I love the magazine just not the Nook version. It is extremely difficult to navigate through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    NOT free for print subscribers...

    Disappointing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    not great

    Magazine looks terrible on the nook tablet, doesn't format properly. Just buy the paper version!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Not happy

    Very hard to read!!! I cancelled the next day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4