Customer Reviews for

National Geographic

Average Rating 4
( 560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

WOW! Incredible!

This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and en...
This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and enjoy! My lovely wife clued me in about NatGeo, so now we BOTH have a subscription, I am not waiting for her to share, nope.

As for those folks with iPads complaining: it clearly states in the description that this magazine is for the Nook. Simple as that. Don't whine at B&N, talk to Apple about why they have not been able to cut a deal with National Geographic. While you are doing that, just think about how the rest of us are reading NatGeo on our $199 full color Nooks.

Back to the review! This magazine does it all, you can zoom in on the pictures and maps to get all the detail you want to see, but when you want to read the article, it has 'Article' view so you can just read.

This is a Five Thumbs up!

posted by LifeIsToughOnTheStupid on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Looks great on my Nook Color, But...

It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte...
It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte capacity!!

I am thuroughly bummed because I was told by the sales rep that I could keep "many different" magazines on my Nook for reading an Ref.

Not true, you will need to archive any issues that you are not reading and have access to WiFi to do the archive update.

posted by 3314740 on November 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 560 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Great graphics and well write

    Always a big fan of NG

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    An honest and legitimate review of, the National Geographic Magazine.

    I am very disappointed in the American edition of National Geographic Magazine; (NGM). I kept my E-subscription to NGM for 4 months to develop an honest opinion of the magazine.
    I have honestly found the following negative issues throughout the 4 months:

    1. The magazine has far too many advertisements.

    2. Very low quality stories.

    3. Very little photography that actually captures and holds your attention.

    Each issue I have received has been filled with the same focus of various advertisements, which has contributed a great deal to the low quality of the magazine.

    The current editors of the magazine are no longer focused on quality and breaking new stories that once captured the American public.
    I have learned through the last 4 months that the editors are only riding on the National Geographic brand name! They have let go of the original focus, to bring new and exciting stories, and to publish amazing excellent quality new images to the people. Instead the current editors are now focused on numerous advertisements in the magazine.

    I will admit that in the past, like so many others, meaning around ten years ago. I was so amazed at the wonderful stories and images that the magazine published.

    Unfortunate, due the decline that I have personally seen in the American edition of National Geographic Magazine, I have cancelled my subscription, and would not recommend this magazine to anyone unless you are taking a class on advertisement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Just not into NG anymore

    It is probably just me but I just don't get into National Geographic as much as I used to. I find the stories bland and frankly, not that interesting. The choice of topics over the last 8 months since subscribing on my Nook HD+ have been mediocre at best.

    The photography is always outstanding, but if I wanted a magazine for the pictures I would not have gotten this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Highly engaging and critical content

    Great stories, great writers, tons of integrity and unbiased looks into the world. Natgeo is focused on truth telling and revealing culture through geography. I am constantly inspired and impressed with stories that dig into geography and the science of the earth. Nature lovers and scientist alike will appreciate the stories here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    I really want to like this magazine, but I don't see the point o

    I really want to like this magazine, but I don't see the point of subscribing to a publication that seems to be 90% advertisements.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Does NOT incliude enhanced content

    I spoke directly with National Geographic technical support. National Geographic DOES NOT support enhanced digital content on any Android device.

    I have notified B&N that they should withdraw this claim - after I bought a couple of issues that were nothing more that the print edition.

    Guess B&N refuses to do what is right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Too many advertisements

    Too many advertisements, just like television. I could not read the magazine, it was simply too frustrating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Now available on iPad!

    We're pleased to announce that National Geographic and over 180 other NOOK Newsstand titles are now available on NOOK for iPad!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Well Worth the Subscription Cost!

    I travel quite a bit and having a great magazine at my fingertips on the plane to read is priceless. The vibrant colors and wonderful photography of the National Geographic emagazine is great. The "article view" feature that nookcolor has built in is an easy way to read the emagazine and enjoy the pictures. This is a buy you will never regret.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Cool

    This is cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    A true hero

    A dog who learns how to be a true hero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Avoid all Nook subscriptions

    Don't "try" a subscription on your Nook with Barnes & Noble; you'll never be able to get them to stop charging you for magazines you don't want and didn't order!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Photos are great

    Subscribed to this as it is a nominal amount each month. Set it up on a tablet w/the Nook ap. Great photos and mostly interesting stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Need help!

    How do you uun subscibe??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    BEWARE NOOK OWNERS

    IF YOU ARE A PRINT OR DIGITAL SUBSCRIBER THROUGH NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC BARNES AND NOBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE INFORMED ME AND I QUOTE "YOU MAY NOT USE ON YOUR NOOK UNLESS YOU PAY BARNES AND NOBLE"

    The magazine is spectacular as always...and I give it five stars.

    Amazon doesn't mind allowing this at any time for print or digital only subscribers, whether you pay them or National Geographic directly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is incredibly awesome!! If you really like sience, this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    NatGeo wth?

    I get the free digital with my print subscription. Good luck trying to get it to work, unless you've an Apple product. I could not complete the process. Miserable. Will be complaining loudly about this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Beautiful photography, eye opening articles

    Just a beautiful magazine. Objective and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    COULDN'T OPEN OR READ

    NEVER COULD GET IT TO OPEN. COULDN'T READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 560 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28