Customer Reviews for

National Geographic

Average Rating 4
( 583 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

WOW! Incredible!

This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and en...
This is what reading a magazine on an eReader is all about. Sure it takes up a lot of memory, but who cares? If you are reading NatGeo it is all about the pictures and they are just stunning, so spend a few bucks on a microSD if you are all worried about memory and enjoy! My lovely wife clued me in about NatGeo, so now we BOTH have a subscription, I am not waiting for her to share, nope.

As for those folks with iPads complaining: it clearly states in the description that this magazine is for the Nook. Simple as that. Don't whine at B&N, talk to Apple about why they have not been able to cut a deal with National Geographic. While you are doing that, just think about how the rest of us are reading NatGeo on our $199 full color Nooks.

Back to the review! This magazine does it all, you can zoom in on the pictures and maps to get all the detail you want to see, but when you want to read the article, it has 'Article' view so you can just read.

This is a Five Thumbs up!

posted by LifeIsToughOnTheStupid on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Looks great on my Nook Color, But...

It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte...
It would be nice if Barnes and Noble made obvious the amount of storage that these magazines take up. (Apx Gigs?)

I had two books already loaded taking up only 2 Mega bytes.

I loaded this Nat Geo (Nov10) issue onto my Nook Color and it maxed out the 4.99 Giga byte capacity!!

I am thuroughly bummed because I was told by the sales rep that I could keep "many different" magazines on my Nook for reading an Ref.

Not true, you will need to archive any issues that you are not reading and have access to WiFi to do the archive update.

posted by 3314740 on November 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 583 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Way too many adverts

    Interesting articles and photos but ruined by so many ads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    I'm Impressed

    I tried a few magazines last year, but I was disappointed that I didn't get all of the content in the print magazine. I'm thrilled that the National Geographics are complete. The layout is well-done, with article views for reading text. You can enlarge pages by double-tapping to catch more detail in the images. Although you lose the effect of the two page photos, which you have to view one page at a time, the photography is still stunning on the HD+. I wish the magazine would allow highlighting, but even without the ability to go back to an exact spot, I think this magazine is a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Cool

    This is cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    A true hero

    A dog who learns how to be a true hero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Avoid all Nook subscriptions

    Don't "try" a subscription on your Nook with Barnes & Noble; you'll never be able to get them to stop charging you for magazines you don't want and didn't order!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Photos are great

    Subscribed to this as it is a nominal amount each month. Set it up on a tablet w/the Nook ap. Great photos and mostly interesting stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Need help!

    How do you uun subscibe??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    BEWARE NOOK OWNERS

    IF YOU ARE A PRINT OR DIGITAL SUBSCRIBER THROUGH NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC BARNES AND NOBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE INFORMED ME AND I QUOTE "YOU MAY NOT USE ON YOUR NOOK UNLESS YOU PAY BARNES AND NOBLE"

    The magazine is spectacular as always...and I give it five stars.

    Amazon doesn't mind allowing this at any time for print or digital only subscribers, whether you pay them or National Geographic directly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is incredibly awesome!! If you really like sience, this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    NatGeo wth?

    I get the free digital with my print subscription. Good luck trying to get it to work, unless you've an Apple product. I could not complete the process. Miserable. Will be complaining loudly about this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Beautiful photography, eye opening articles

    Just a beautiful magazine. Objective and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    COULDN'T OPEN OR READ

    NEVER COULD GET IT TO OPEN. COULDN'T READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Jager

    I love ng! My opinyoun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Best magazine ever

    Keep it away from ages 5-19

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Lerning

    Its good because its like the buzz but with nature facys instead of gossip facts and you learn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Awesome!

    I love NG, in 4013 when they excavate an ancient dig site and find evidence of our civilization, I hope its the NG archives they find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I just love national geographic...it has many stunning fact and

    I just love national geographic...it has many stunning fact and great details. The only thing they should eliminate is the commercials, they simpl are annoying. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Need to update the format for NOOK

    I love the actual paper magazine but something gets lost in the digital version. I can't view the pictures as well as I would with a paper magazine and the darn font is way too small.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Digital is very different from Print

    I was a nearly-30-yr subscriber to the print issue and switched to digital so I would receive my copies even if we were traveling. I just canceled the digital subscription after less than a year because it's not the same experience. Nat Geo is one of those publications that is best enjoyed by holding it in your hand. In my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 583 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 30