Customer Reviews for

Natural Born Charmer (Chicago Stars Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charmed the heck outta me!

    Natural Born Charmer is a wonderful and quirky and sometimes erotic novel. Susan Phillips is a wonderful writer. This is the first book I read from her. She brings you in the story and makes you feel for all the characters. She gives everyone live and really reels you with her wit. It is a comedic and sometimes dramatic love story. Romance and family. It really is one great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Another winner!

    I have always enjoyed Susan Elizabeth Phillips' stories, and this one is no exception. Natural Born Charmer has great characters in Dean and Blue, the dialogue is laugh-out-loud funny (when you get to the interactions between Blue and Nita, you'll see what I mean), and I love how her stories don't just deal with the two protagonists, but also has stories-within- the-story, detailing the lives and feelings of other characters close to the main couple. There are other, more prolific writers who are beginning to bore me with the same old formula - woman has heartbreak or tragedy, moves to another town, someone wants to kill her, she finds some rugged hot guy, gratuitous intimate encounters ensue, they escape near death, and usually get married. While I sometimes enjoy these, I know that with a SEP novel, I am going to get fast-paced, fantastically witty dialogue, characters I care about, and they don't involve damsels with killers after them. Most of her books focus on families, and she does it so well that you wish you could jump into the book and be a part of all the fun. You cannot go wrong buying this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Charmer's Hidden Message

    In addition to the well-written and interesting plots and storyline exhibited in this romantic comedy, an interesting trait is common to all the main characters. They all have developed a talent through hard work and refinement of natural skill sets. I think the emphasis of that character trait is the predominant reason for the believability of the novel. That is also why it works on a personal level.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    awesome writer

    nobody in their sane mind would ever rate a susan elizabeth philip's novel anything less than 5 stars.she's awesome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of laughter =)

    Looking for a wonderful weekend or beach read? "Natural Born Charmer" may be right for you. There is a lot of laughter and poignancy to this story. Imagine a football player driving down the road spotting a "headless" beaver walking down the side. Once Dean stops and gives Blue a lift, his life changes forever. Come meet these lovable characters and join them as mysteries and family members are revealed. This book was a great departure from some of the heavy stuff I was reading, and provided many needed laughs. Come on, join the fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What's not to love?

    One of my favorite Susan Elizabeth Phillips' novels. Well written, great characters and subplots. This book was pure fun and I'm glad I own it so I can re-read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    LOVED IT!!

    This book was HILARIOUS - LOL FUNNY! Don't hesitate to buy it you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Laugh out loud funny in places

    Funny, charming, sweet, even a little heartbreaking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In my list of books I'm going to read again

    Loved this love story, The characters are great, the plot is great even the sexy scenes were lovely. This is my favorite book out of the Chicago Stars series followed by Match Me If You Can. I recommend this to everyone that likes romance and couples that are nothing alike. It was funny, touching, loving!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    Easy Read & Hilarious

    I thoroughly enjoyed Natural Born Charmer. It was an easy read and I laughed through the entire book. Couldn't put it down. Entertaining. This was my first SEP book and I am looking forward to many more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I'm a longtime SEP fan, and have always enjoyed her special blend of romance and humor. That said, though, NATURAL BORN CHARMER is not, in my opinion, nearly as good as some of her former work. <BR/><BR/>With unrealistic situations (what woman would hitchhike with a stranger in this day and age, even if you knew, technically, who he was -- and then go off with him to his vacation home) that made me dislike the main character, I had to work to get into this story. Once involved, though, I did enjoy the plot, but not nearly as much as I have in the past. <BR/><BR/>This isn't a bad book, but it's by no means SEP's BEST work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Best Book Ever

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I just came upon this book and I'm glad that I decided to read it. It is outstanding not the least bit disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Wonderful

    I read this book this week. I couldn't put it down. It was such a wonderful story. I recommend anyone to read it that likes love stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Hilarious Page Turner

    First of her books I've read - and loved it. If you like Evanovich's sense of humor, you'll love this one. I laughed out loud every other page, it seemed. Definitely worth reading - I'm buying another!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    Entertaining Read!!

    This book will make you laugh out loud. I couldnt put it down. If your looking for a romantic, funny and entertaining book, you definately need to read this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    GREAT BOOK

    This is a awesome book. I had a hard time putting it down. This would be one of her best books written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    listen and find out if love conquers all

    Actress Kate Fleming who recorded audio books as Anna Fields died recently. Audio book fans remember her for her magnificent narrations and her versatility - reading the works of authors as diverse as Joyce Carol Oates and Molly Ivins. She won an Audie Award, and was a narrator for the 9/11 Commission Report. Kate will be greatly missed but thankfully we can still enjoy her voice performances, I treasure her take on the life of Blue Bailey in this heartwarming story by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. Yes, this is a love story, and a funny one, too. Who can resist smiling at the thought of a young woman walking along the side of a Colorado highway in a beaver suit? Chicago Stars quarterback Dean Robillard did more than smile, he came to a quick stop and picked her up. This is a man who has it all - great looks, life in the fast line, adulation, and more money than he's quite sure what to do with. He's on his way to Tennessee to check on a farm he recently purchased. Blue (she in the beaver suit) is down on her luck and appreciates the ride, hoping to get somewhere where she can restart her portrait painting business. Despite a bit of bickering she's quick to ingratiate herself with Dean and convince him of how much help she can be . Help is what he needs when he reaches his farm and finds that the person hired to oversee the renovations is actually his mother, April, whom he hasn't seen in years. Motherhood wasn't exactly April's thing - drugs were, and now she's trying to make amends. It's not too long before Dean's Dad appears - ditto Dean's half-sister. Can these folks ever forget and forgive? Listen and find out whether or not love conquers all. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Forestbranch

    Nods and licks her cu<_>nt, sluding his tongue along her sl<_>it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Laugh out loud funny!

    Good story, interesting characters...the story was sweet, hilarious, and totally entertaining. I usually get bored halfway through most books, but I really enjoyed this one. I found myself reading some funny parts out loud to my husband so he could laugh too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9