Customer Reviews for

Natural Cures "They" Don't Want You to Know About

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Why is this piece of drivel still being sold? Trudeau is now goi

    Why is this piece of drivel still being sold? Trudeau is now going to prison. Ten years for defrauding the public and evading court ordered restitution. The man is a criminal, and this book is one for his crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    You've Got To Be Kidding

    This book is a joke! Yes, we all know we need to drink water and walk and all that good stuff but to say that baby formula is poison is insane! And most people like myself cannot afford to have 15 colonics in 30 days and buy everything organic in the grocery store. This book was deeply disturbing to me. But what was mostly disturbing was the disclaimer about not doing everything he says if you have certain symptoms because he would not want to be sued for practicing medicine without a license! Unbelievable! I think I'll stick with the pro's! (Roizen & Oz - Woohoo!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    cure what?????

    The author has been trashed because of his ''alledged'' criminal background. I would be willing to give him the benefit of the doubt but the kind of advice advocated expictly is of the 'apple a day' variety. For the really good stuff you'll have to subscribe to an expensive web site because he cannot speak freely in print. I've looked at other reviews and I wonder who really wrote them (My mother was cure of lupus after reading this book, etc.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Worst thing ever.

    He rants and raves and gives you very little and he supports those scientology nuts this man is plain nuts if you bought this book you just wasted your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    questionable material

    I have read the book and I am very distrubed that he would recommend Dianatics/scientology. Makes me wonder if he's a scientologis because of all the fasting and cleanses he 'recommends'. Also, there is no mention of any natural cures what so ever. He rants and raves over and over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    This book is a scam

    I fell for this scam artist's infomercial. I figured out after getting this book that the 'they' is Kevin Trudeau, because he provides NO information that is useful- no remedies, no insight, nothing but a path to his pay-only website. Do not buy this book- set your money on fire and save yourself the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    A Waste of Money

    This book is an infomercial. There is no data or evidence provided to back up any of the claims. The author continuously recommends the pay-only website for additional information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    NOT A REMEDIES BOOK!

    By the title, you would expect this book to contain helpful herbal remedies or information - IT DOES NOT. It simply repeats over and over again how much this author is against the FDA and publicly traded commercial companies. It is propaganda and thats it. Poorly written at that - it is full of spelling and grammatical errors - it looks like an elementary school child wrote it with the angst of a teenager. I would NOT recommend this book unless you want to read a very big book of whiny complaints, poorly written, repeated over and over again. Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    This book isn't what it promises

    The problem with this book is that it advises you to stay away from common day things such as microwaves, electric tumble dryers, all fast food restaurants, tap water, and even driving a car. The author tells you multiple vitamins to be taking if you want to be healthy and says the only way to do so is by eating only organic foods. He claims to live this way, but it sounds very impossible. He does make a lot of accusations that he can't back up and then once you do go to his website, no information is given without having to make a payment for it. I bought this book as a gift for my aunt and now I regret it. Oh well, maybe my aunt will follow his advise by selling her microwave or maybe by committing to public transportation for fear of what driving does to her ph levels. Who knows, just don't buy this book- it's not worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2006

    Taken for a ride!

    The book sounded interesting-I bought it. The author should be required to list that most of the tricks or answers he had, had to be found online for an additional price. Great scam-I wish I would have been forwarned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Seems Like a Scam

    As a librarian, I had many requests for this book. I sure am glad I did not pay the infomercial price - especially since much of the information in the book is tied to the web site, which costs. I would suggest that those wanting to go this path take advantage of the free publications in the health food stores. Also, read the labels. Save your money by doing your own research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Junk

    Total scam!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    DISAPPOINTING -- A Waste of My Money!

    I bought this book thinking it was about natural cures - it isn't. It's an expose of the conspiracy between the FDA, AMA and drug companies. What a disappointment! Very BOR-ING! I would never recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    The Medical Community is EVIL!... Whatever.

    Most of the interesting points in this book have already become common knowledge. The conspiracy theories behind big Pharma are unfounded and just ways to get you to spend your money on his book (and web site) instead of your medicines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    Stay away!

    I could not wait to get this book, but I am really dissapointed. There is almost nothing about Natural Cures in this book. A few tips here and there, but nothing real. He explains things that where all common knowledge, and refers you to high-end clinics. Not what I expected at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Disappointing........

    While he did offer some insight into cheesy government and corporate practices, I got little else from the book. His assertions were certainly in line with many other authors but he offered no real solutions (citing that the government is supressing this info? Oh brother!!). The real turn off was the many plugs for a membership to his website. I'm embarrassed to say I paid $29 for this gaga. 'Ultraprevention' was a far better read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Great book, if you believe conspiracy theories.

    Well, at least I didn't bother to buy the book before reading it. There is nothing in it except some elaborate theories about how the government and big business are out to make and keep you sick solely for their profit. No instruction at all for any specific ailment. There's a reason that there is no index to look up diseases and 'cures', because you won't find them. The author stresses how important it is to read the book from start to finish and not skip around. This is due to the fact that if you did peruse the book before sitting down and reading it, you would realize that its just 200+ pages of spin, double-talk, non-fact and blah,blah, blah. I have no doubt that there are indeed cures to be found in nature, but they certainly won't be found in this book. Very disappointing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    I asked for and got a refund

    Only time I've ever returned a book and asked for a refund. I didn't even finish this book it made me so angry. There are NO cures listed - just repetitive pitches to go to the stupid website, where you have to turn over MORE money for his useless ranting. And contrary to what he wrote in the book, he is permitted to mention products and be more specific, he just isn't allowed sell or profit from them. His website pitch scam lets him get around that. I asked for a refund at the bookstore because I didn't want this clown getting any MORE money - especially mine. If it weren't for doctors, hospitals, and drugs, 1/2 my family would have been lost prematurely to cancer, car accidents, infections, TB, diabetes, et al. BTW - I do believe there is value in both the medical profession and holistic or alternative options. Everyone should do research to find the proper balance of each to find what works best. I already eat healthy choosing organic products (no meat, no processed foods), take supplements, exercise regularly and make sure I rest properly but I know I'll still catch colds, flus, get headaches, etc. and have to pop the occasional OTC product or see my doctor. I also don't believe any of the conspiracy freakouts about fast food though - fast food doesn't need the help. Our tongues and bellies are predisposed to like it (salty, fatty, sweet) - deal with it like a grown up and just say no and the cravings go away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Big Rip-Off

    He sounds like a real nut...yes some things are probably true, but he's following in their footsteps. He doesn't give you any answers to health questions and says to go to his website for answers. Well, guess what? You have to pay to join before you can get the information! I ran back to the book store to return this. When I got on his website, there wasn't an e-mail address to write him. Gee, I wonder why?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    A Great DIsappiontment

    The title and his on-line infomercial would lead you to believe that this book will blow the lid off the FDA and offer you terrific alternatives. Instead the book is filled with generalities, VERY few specific suggestions for alternative medicene. And then it gets to the central point .... sign up for a $400.00 'life-time' membership to his web-site which he implies will have the the REAL information. It's a shabby sales trick trading on people's deep desire for workable alternatives to western medicene. Instead of deliverying as promised, he just demonstrates that his sole interest is lining his own pockets. For shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2