Customer Reviews for

Natural Selection: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Nailbiter

    This was an extremely entertaining book, a real nailbiter. The writing was not Chaucer but I don't read these sorts of books for great writing, I read them to be entertained and this book did that in spades. The concept of a dangerous winged species that lives in the depths of the ocean and is forced into the air for food is outstanding and the author did an amazing job making it seem absolutely real and plausible. Natural terrified me in a way that even Jurassic Park did not; it just felt so real. Freedman won't win any sentence structure awards and his editors should be shot but this was a phenomenally entertaining read. Will make an amazing movie too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    This was one of the faster reads I've ever had, kind of reminded

    This was one of the faster reads I've ever had, kind of reminded me of the DaVinci Code, that kind of super quick read, except this was much more visual and considerably more terrifying. Natural Selection has "movie" written all over it. I can't believe it hasn't been made into a film already. It will be a blockbuster. Aside from that, the grammer here was poor at times but that didn't really bother me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book!!!!! COMBINES THE BEST OF JAWS AND JURASSIC PARK!!!

    Cool idea. A new species has been lurking in the oceans deepest depths since pangea. It has adapted into a vicious predator, that is responsible for the extiction of many shark species. A virus caused it to move towards the surface, and now it terrorizing the upper ocean. Its adapting fast and learning many new ways to hunt will anything survive this predator? A group of marine biologists are tracking a new species its so far seems to he very strange and elusive, but what they dont know is they could be just putting them on a death wish. TRY PUT THIS AWESOME BOOK!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sea-Creatures

    This book was excellent! Strange creature resembling manta rays are spotted in the Pacific ocean near the California coast where many seagulls, dolphins, and sharks have been disappearing.

    A team of scientists and biologists track it's migration north. They think it may be an evolutionary new species, predatory, deadly, rising from the ocean's depths, but why? What is causing it? Could it be a virus, nature's way of solving the world's over-population problem?

    I really liked this thrilling first novel by Dave Freedman. It was fantastic! I couldn't put it down and I look forward to another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    JUST FANTASTIC ....

    WOW, did this thing move FAST, one of the quickest reads I've ever had. Every single chapter I just wanted to find out what happens next. It's all about the modern day evolution of a new species of flying predator -- how cool is that? The execution was fantastic, too. Great science, tremendous action, fascinating but still entertaining explanations of evolution, and, best of all, a horrifyingly realistic new species evolving right here on earth. This book's gonna make an UNBELIEVABLE movie, mark my words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    wow, great book...

    GREAT, just the idea of the story line keeps you wanted to read, the whole story wanting to know what happens next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    An airborne JAWS

    A fast paced, hard to put down thriller with a premise that will make any reader wish to, if not already, live in the midwest, far from any coastline. Follows the line of thinking from Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park, ' Nature will find a way'. A good first novel from a new author to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    GREAT FUN!

    i really enjoyed this. the read was fast and furious and totally made me forget about life for a while. highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Very, very hard to put down

    I'm a librarian and Booklist recently named Natural Selection one of the best debut novels of 2006. I hadn't heard of it previously so I gave it a try. In a word, Wow. Natural Selection is extremely exciting, truly very hard to put down, one of those books that keeps you up very late at night. You just don't want to stop reading it. Even on school nights. Fun, exciting, very well researched, outstanding plot, a shocking finale - this book has it all. The movie could be absolutely astonishing. Dave Freedman is an author to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Must Read

    Plain and simple great read. Perfect vacation book, but bring other books because you will be done in a day. Could not put it down it was an excellent mix of science and thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    VASTLY ENTERTAINING!

    Boy, was this a fun read!! It's all about the evolution of a flying predator, not 100 million years ago, but TODAY. I can't believe I didn't hear about this book earlier it's one of those I'd think everybody would be talking about. A friend gave it to me before our winter vaca I read it cover to cover in two days. Tremendous action scenes, fun, believable characters (not Tolstoy but great for the genre), really interesting science, and just scary as hell. And the pages JUST FLY. I'm telling you, read this one. The movie will be amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    A whole lotta research, a whole lotta fun

    What makes this brilliant book special is how successfully it blends science with entertainment. I'm tempted to say I've never seen it done so well before. Well, maybe ONCE before ----- Natural Selection's subject matter is entirely different, but this new author indeed reminds me of another author with a history of mixing research and entertainment flawlessly: none other than Dan Brown. Dave Freedman's bio says he holds a BS from Princeton and a master's from Harvard. That education shines brilliantly through this first novel. Word of mouth travels fast. I heard from not one but TWO different people at work that this book was a fantastic, 'speed of light' read. I am a very picky reader myself but the enthusiasm was palpable and the subject matter - the evolution of a new predator, on earth, here and now - sounded fascinating. I decided to give it a try. I read Natural Selection in ONE SITTING. I am not exaggerating. I couldn't put this book down even bathroom and food breaks, I did reluctantly. I finished at 4am last night. Every step of the way you want to know: what's going to happen next. I've never read any book this fast in my life, even those by Mr. Brown. The characters here were good enough not fantastic, but strong for the genre, especially Monique and Darryl I could have used a little more depth to the men they were a little 1-d. To my surprise, I actually enjoyed the female characters they were written in big, broad strokes, no innermost soul stuff, but I liked them, found them relatable. But the action and the science are why you read a book like this. Regarding the latter, readers should indeed have their internet search engines ready. I did some sleuthing when I was finished and discovered large amounts of background research were accurate, which, to be candid, shocked me! - this is fiction after all! But that's what made this book so surprisingly believable. Weren't large portions of Jules Verne's 'fiction' later proven to be fact?? One word of advice: to all the curious Googlers, I'd suggest this: play with the search engines AFTER you've read the book. Otherwise you'll stay up even later than I did. FIVE STARS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    A VERY FUN WAY TO SPEND A WEEKEND!

    I should preface this by saying that books like this are not normally my cup of tea. But a friend who is generally 'particular' about the books she reads loved this so I decided to give it a try ... I could not put this book down. I read it in three sittings and every time I had to get up I did so reluctantly. To my delight (and I must admit, my amazement) I found this novel very intellectually stimulating. It just reminded me of how little I really know about nature and it got me thinking about what other species are out there that we know nothing of: whether in the sea, the rain forests, the deserts ... The author digs deep into complicated subjects I admittedly know nothing about yet he makes them readable and great fun: all about viruses, how they originate and spread, details of how a brain works, the difference between lungs and gills, what deep sea vents are, fascinating details about northern california's redwood trees and what 'prescribed fires' are. Yet what's amazing is that the author does this very economically and without slowing down the plot for even a second. The pages absolutely fly!! Truly very difficult to put down!! What a page turner! One caveat. I generally enjoy more character driven novels than this to be candid, the characters here were not fantastic and lacked real depth that said, for a thriller they were much better than normal, far superior to the stick figures of the Da Vinci Code for example. But this was still an enthralling, engrossing book! For reasons I don't normally state, I found it accessible, educational, and completely addictive!! So far, our 14 year old feels the same way normally he's a video game addict but is already 100-odd pages in!! Dig in! This one is a ton of fun!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    INTELLIGENT, FASCINATING, ACTION-PACKED PAGE-TURNER!!

    Natural Selection is an extremely fun read! One of the best I've had in years! Evolution never looked so good!! Incredibly smart, incredibly well-researched absolutely fascinating science. Teaches you a great deal, and like all the great books makes you want to dig in and learn more -- much more, about how life on this planet evolved, where we came from and all that. Very, Very Thought-Provoking. And the popcorn aspects to the book are so much fun!! The images here are vivid to say the least! You don't even have to close your eyes! - it's right there on the page! The action scenes - I wouldn't normally describe a book as having action scenes - but this book has them in scores and they are Intense!! -- Wow!! What a movie this is going to make!!! I loved all the short chapters, too, the hooks and the twists -- they make this a bonafied page-turner. Over the years, I've read a great number of these types of books - thrillers, mysteries, crime capers - from the usual suspects, all the big-name authors ... But this one is just so terrifically engrossing!! So fast!! Such an adrenaline rush!! I don't normally write in reviews - in fact this is my first - but I was truly inspired this time. I honestly believe Natural Selection is going to be a massive hit!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    THIS WAS A VERY FUN, SCARY BOOK

    A friend of mine at camp gave me Natural Selection. It scared her a lot so I read it too. It really scared me! I read it very quickly. It seemed like a real monster. I could really picture it. I had night mares at first but not any more. It is a fun book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    VERY FAST, VERY SCARY, VERY WELL-RESEARCHED

    In a word, WOW! Word of mouth DOES travel fast! I heard about this book a month ago in People - they had recommended it as a summer read - then one of my students mentioned it to me then a second student mentioned it. Natural Selection has to be ranked as one of the top three funnest books I've ever read. ('Funnest' is a word, right?) Not great literature -- far from it! But for sheer page-turning entertainment, this book would stack up fantastically against pretty much anything. Yes, as alluded to in the Post, the characters here are not the stuff of great literature you wouldn't read about them in, say, Dickens. But this ain't Dickens!! - ain't supposed to be!! For such a commercial novel, these characters are fun, real, and much more than just the usual mouthpieces that do nothing but advance the plot like in other great thrillers. I loved Monique! Lisa too! Freedman uses incredibly specific and intricate descriptions of the nautical and land-based worlds to create a real life atmosphere that the reader can relate to. I don't know if this is the case or not, but this novel reads like real events were used to shape the plot. But the incredible speed that this book moves and the research behind it are what make Natural Selection so much fun!! The author obviously did a GREAT DEAL of investigation and research here and it shows!! (Maybe Princeton and Harvard aren't the bogus academic institutions that I'd been led to believe!) As an aside, I particularly enjoyed the bit on the redwood trees Freedman provides a fascinating perspective I'd never read before. But as much I enjoyed that section - and tons of other fascinating little sections of this book - I whisked past them all! The pages JUST FLY HERE! ThIS IS A REALLY FUN ONE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    Take a deep breath and hold on tight!

    I immediately got caught up in the excitement of this tight,well written first novel. The main characters emerge as complex, intersting and diverse. The science underlying the novel is well researched and yet remains readable and exciting.As you read this thriller, you can see the movie taking shape and you can almost hear the heartbeat as the predator stalks its prey. It's an amazing thriller that will keep your attention all the way through. Here's the warning, however: you may loose sleep until you turn the last page. I was actually sorry it was over. Don't wait for the inevitable movie! This one is going to be BIG!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    WOW! WOW! WOW! LITERALLLY READ THIS IN 24 HOURS!

    This was such a fun, such an incredibly fast read! I heard about it in USA Today a month ago they had named one of their top-10 beach reads so I thought I'd give it a try. What a rocket!! The opening pages are very creepy, very mysterious. You read it and you want to know: What are these creatures? Where are they from? What are they doing? It just sucked me right in!! From there the book takes off! An aside: I was surprised to enjoy the characters as much as I did. Some are quite funny, very likeable they actually felt like real people with real human issues, not the typical cardboard cut-out stuff. I also read chick-lit but thought the characters here were very strong. Especially Lisa Barton. And Monique? You go girl!! The other aspects - the creatures' physical descriptions, the spooky imagery, the settings - are all very well done and the places this book takes you - to the depths of the ocean - so awe inspiring! - to a spooky, fog-enshrouded redwood forest - genuinely fascinating surprisingly, this was a great little travelogue just at a breakneck pace!! But the science here is what makes this book truly special. Natural Selection's depth and breadth of science is EXTRAORDINARY. The author clearly did a lot of research!! I work in a related field - otalaryngology/ENT - and let me tell you, he knows his stuff: the commentary on the evolution of the brain, evolution of the lung, the fluid dynamics discourse and many, many other facets were just so well done. He got a few details on some of the brain stuff wrong but it didn't really matter. I could not read the pages fast enough!! And the ending!! The ending is so scary, so unexpected, so great --- I'm talking Sixth Sense great!! People will be talking about this ending!! I liked this book so much I actually started re-reading it immediately just to see what I had missed. Then my 13 year old ripped it out of my hands. (He is a voracious reader himself and already 50 pages in.) Natural Selection is just FANTASTICALLY ENTERTAINING: You will be hooked!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    I couldn't put it down!

    This book pulls you in during the first 50 pages and just won't let go. The development of the story is spectacular and the killer desire to find out what'll happen next are overwhelming. Don't sit down to read it unless the kids are already in bed and you know you won't be disturbed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2