Customer Reviews for

A Natural Woman: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fan since the release of Tapestry, Carole King helped so many

    A fan since the release of Tapestry, Carole King helped so many people through difficult times, breakups, relationships and growing up thorugh her words and music. I always thought of her as a recluse, shunning the spotlight, and now have a better understanding of why. I was amazed to learn she lived only streets way from while she lived in LA. It is full circle for Carole King, who gave so many so much delight that we read with a grateful understanding she was going through her trials and tribulations, and wanting what we all want as humans, to be loved. Fascinating history of her time with Gerry Goffin, her move to LA, Idaho and her work with so many artists. Loved the insight on John Lennon. Saddened to read of the abuse. One powerful woman, one powerful artist, one powerful person. I think back fondly on her Troubador Reunion tour with James Taylor and as I sat in that box seat at the Hollywood Bowl, I looked back at the thousands that seemed to be thanking her for after all these years of her work as they stood on their feet, cheering and clapping and singing along with her. What an awesome sight that was. Thank you Carole King again and again.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Finished the book late last night. If Carole is reading this THA

    Finished the book late last night. If Carole is reading this THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your life in your book! A true talent from early childhood and always with the need to share it with the world while also living a very full life. Even Idaho - wow! Living amongst us "little people" and even falling in love with the wrong guys and yes the right ones too. Tapestry was released when I was at summer camp in the Poconos and had a HUGE effect on myb life and throughout, the book shared information on other music Carole gave to the world and the effect she had on them too. My husband and I with a bunch of friends had the opportunity to see Carole and James Taylor in Fort Lauderdale in 2010 shortly before her mom passed which I just learned in the book. Carole I hope you come back soon!!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Highly recommended -- will not disappoint!

    Extremely well written, Carole King's memoir spans a long and richly coloured life. Touching, brutally honest and often funny, this very private person opens up to reveal a life filled with music, raising children from two marriages and choosing to live a secluded life in Idaho. From her close friendship with James Taylor to the shocking revelation that she was abused by her third husband, this is a must-read for anyone who has ever wondered about the woman responsible for some of the world's most beloved songs.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    highly Recommended

    Like listening to her classic album, Tapestry, reading A Natural Woman is like reliving your youth. Once a wordsmith, always a wordsmith, Ms. King writes with the ease of the songwriter that she is. What a wonderfully interesting story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    She is a truley rare person with a story you must read.

    When you see her on stage you think, "A true star, and what a celebrity." When you read her book you say, "What a woman!" Her choices in lifestyle are simply unbelieveable, and her choices in men questionable. Her story weaves from New York to Los Angeles to Idaho and back again. Everything she does she does with her entire being, and with such fervor. She is the true individual with a fantastic story. She has a quick wit, and an understanding of herself one rarely has. She writes a fabulous story, and lives life to its' fullest. A must read for those who THINK they know Carole King! After I read her book, I wish I knew Carol King!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    A Natural Woman Indeed!!

    Whenever I read an artist's autobiography I usually come away with something unrelated to the music. In Carole King's book it was the time she spent in Idaho living off the grid. I will also say, though, the history of the music was very interesting too as she brought us through the decades. I especially loved the part about how songwriters worked in the 50's and had no idea she has written and co-written so many songs. So glad she shared her story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Every Carole King fan will want this book I have one two people

    Every Carole King fan will want this book

    I have one two people that I would love to sit down and have a conversation with and Carole King has always been number one on that list. Now I feel as though I have after reading her Memoir. Carole King has been writing the lyrics to our lives for more decades than should be mentioned and she inspired me on more occasions with her music than any other artist.

    When you read the backstory of how a song came to life and why the lyrics are so powerful every fan will understand the depth of her gift. This is a must read for every fan that has ever wondered what inspired that song.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    recommended

    Interesting read...lots of info about Carole's life not commonly known. It is an accurate and detailed account of her personal journey, which certainly had lots of 'ups and downs'.. in many instances, surprising this reader! My emotions included admiration, respect, disappointment, and envy as I was drawn into the experiences she encountered..and I was definitely drawn in. Well written, I recommend it for all who have the slightest interest in the music industry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    A really great book!

    Well written, down to earth, and very interesting. Although Tapestry was the background music for my emotional teenage years, I really knew little about Carole King herself. Seeing her and James Taylor (who I've listened to forever) in concert was a memorable experience! She has done many remarkable things in her life and talks so openly about both the good and the bad that you feel like a friend. Thanks for sharing your story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    If you are a Carole King fan (or were) you will like this book.

    I have been a fan of Carole since the 70's. Her book has let me see what I would have liked to have known about her while I was listening to her songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Mvi

    Idmjy
    ?.. yn n

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Very good

    Just the kind of book which I enjoy reading. It receives 4 stars because toward the succinct, focused writing at the beginning begins to fray toward the end of the book.
    But I did enjoy learning about Carole, her inspirations, her life. And I felt I understand her era a little more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    DO NOT TRUST SAME DAY DELIVERY IN MANHATTAN

    DO NOT TRUST SAME DAY DELIVERY IN MANHATTAN

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Although her politics are disturbing, I was impressed with her i

    Although her politics are disturbing, I was impressed with her industry knowledge and her educational background. She was a bit on the "easy" side (questionable choices in terms of dating and men - just read between the lines), but her writing style was really good. I enjoyed the book enough to actually consider buying her Tapestry album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2