Customer Reviews for

Naturally Thin: Unleash Your SkinnyGirl and Free Yourself from a Lifetime of Dieting

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I was surprised

When I first got this book I thought I'd give it a try because I had seen Bethenny on Real Housewives and knew she was a chef and had written a book. I was surprised that after I started reading her book I would find my self thinking about what I had read hours later. M...
When I first got this book I thought I'd give it a try because I had seen Bethenny on Real Housewives and knew she was a chef and had written a book. I was surprised that after I started reading her book I would find my self thinking about what I had read hours later. Much of what she said really had meaning in my life. Bethenny also has such a great sense of humor and some really good stories to tell. I found it an informative, enjoyable read that has things everyone can use. I also don't believe in diets so this really had meaning for me.

posted by 1493881 on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I expected a lot from this book as Bethenny has stated she is a "health foodie" and a natural foods chef. I also loved that it supported a non-diet approach. The book does offer some sound advice: don't diet, balance the food you eat, don't feel the need to clean your...
I expected a lot from this book as Bethenny has stated she is a "health foodie" and a natural foods chef. I also loved that it supported a non-diet approach. The book does offer some sound advice: don't diet, balance the food you eat, don't feel the need to clean your plate, eat mindfully to prevent binge eating, etc. Unfortunately, these tips are nothing new to the world of dieting, but perhaps fans of Bethenny or others might find some new inspiration from them. Where this book failed for me is that it also offered some very poor, unhealthy, and often contradictory advice: skipping meals, concepts of "taste everything, eat nothing" vs "you can have it all, just not all at once", eating ridiculously small portions of foods (example-you want steak, just have 3 bites), how to drink and still be skinny (what cocktails might be lower in calories or sugars than others, how not to binge eat after a night of drinking, and dealing with hangovers the next day). In fact, there is a whole section on what to eat while you are drinking. I was not expecting these types of unhealthful tips from a book by a natural foods chef and contributor to Health magazine. As a dietitian, I could never recommend this book to my clients. If you are looking for a non-diet approach to eating I would recommend Intuitive Eating by Evelyne Tribole, and if you are looking for a fun read about nutrition and how to really live both a naturally thin but also healthy lifestyle, I would recommend French Women Don't Get Fat by Mireille Giuliano.

posted by 1213896 on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Disappointment

    I expected a lot from this book as Bethenny has stated she is a "health foodie" and a natural foods chef. I also loved that it supported a non-diet approach. The book does offer some sound advice: don't diet, balance the food you eat, don't feel the need to clean your plate, eat mindfully to prevent binge eating, etc. Unfortunately, these tips are nothing new to the world of dieting, but perhaps fans of Bethenny or others might find some new inspiration from them. Where this book failed for me is that it also offered some very poor, unhealthy, and often contradictory advice: skipping meals, concepts of "taste everything, eat nothing" vs "you can have it all, just not all at once", eating ridiculously small portions of foods (example-you want steak, just have 3 bites), how to drink and still be skinny (what cocktails might be lower in calories or sugars than others, how not to binge eat after a night of drinking, and dealing with hangovers the next day). In fact, there is a whole section on what to eat while you are drinking. I was not expecting these types of unhealthful tips from a book by a natural foods chef and contributor to Health magazine. As a dietitian, I could never recommend this book to my clients. If you are looking for a non-diet approach to eating I would recommend Intuitive Eating by Evelyne Tribole, and if you are looking for a fun read about nutrition and how to really live both a naturally thin but also healthy lifestyle, I would recommend French Women Don't Get Fat by Mireille Giuliano.

    37 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Entertaining

    This book is entertaining and will hold your interest. The author blames her mother for many of her eating problems and she uses celebrities as examples, such as Paris Hilton. There are some challenging ideas that everyone should make part of their lives, such as smaller portions & balancing carbs and proteins. I would love to see a nutritionist review this book because I don't think it is the healthiest lifestyle, especially making two alcoholic drinks a day part of your menu. As I looked over Bethanny's personal food diary, I noticed that she only ate about 850 calories a day. I also want to point out that she drinks Synergy Kombucha almost everyday and it has been known to cause yeast infections in many women. It would be good to research this product before drinking it everyday.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    I was surprised

    When I first got this book I thought I'd give it a try because I had seen Bethenny on Real Housewives and knew she was a chef and had written a book. I was surprised that after I started reading her book I would find my self thinking about what I had read hours later. Much of what she said really had meaning in my life. Bethenny also has such a great sense of humor and some really good stories to tell. I found it an informative, enjoyable read that has things everyone can use. I also don't believe in diets so this really had meaning for me.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Common sense advise stretched into a 300 page book

    After reading this book, I learned a whole lot of nothing..nothing new that I didnt already know. All of the advice given in the book is common sense. It doesnt take a rocket science to learn that eating small portions of healthy foods will help you lose weight and be healthy. Of course snacking on carrots is better than cookies and its o.k. to have cake if you only have a couple of bites. The problem is who is going to go to a restaurant and pay money for dinner and desert and only take a couple of bites?? One of her recommendations is to order multiple things off of the menu and sample a little bit of each one. Who can afford that in this economy?? While I am disappointed in this book I guess I should have expected that. The author is not a nutritionist or a doctor..her qualifications for writing this book is that she's naturally skinny. Her personal stories throughout the book are not motivating...they merely name drop all of the famous people she has encountered and mention how great her other business adventures are....did I mention that her great cocktails are low in calories?? On the positive, the author does include some recipes that sound delicious. All in all, this book would be good for someone who needs a reminder of how to eat healthy. The problem is most people who want to lose weight know what it takes to lose it...its actually following the rules and eating healthy thats the problem. Give me a piece of cake and I'll eat the whole thing.. I can't stop after a bite.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Skinny Girl--unleashed!

    I love the Real Housewives and when I heard Bethany was coming out with a diet book, I had to check it out. Good decision! She really tells you what to do in order to lose the weight and it may be a bit tough, but if you want to look like her, hey, there's gonna be some sacrifice. All in all, I liked her humor and would read another book she wrote.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greater than the Sum of its Parts

    I've heard a lot of people complain that this book advocates unhealthy, disordered eating, and after reading Ms. Frankel's book twice, I believe that this is most likely due to a 'skimming' of the book - not an actual, read-every-sentence-of-every-chapter, reading. The average American diet has ballooned so far out of of control, so disconnected with what is healthy, that it is understandable a woman advocating approaches such as "Taste everything, Eat nothing" and "Cancel Your Membership in the Clean Plate Club" could be labeled a heretic.

    This book was life-altering for me, in the truest, most basic sense. I read it while on vacation, and actually ended up losing weight while eating out and neglecting my exercise schedule. Not only was I able to enjoy all the foods I normally resisted, but I did so without that sense of guilt that would usually follow such a moment of weakness. Under Ms. Frankel's guidelines, indulging in a piece of chocolate cream pie means nothing more than readjusting the rest of your caloric intake for the rest of the day (perhaps also the next day, depending on the size of the piece!), and getting on with your life - an attitude that to me is very reminiscent of French Women Don't Get Fat, but presented more accessibly to Americans. Merci beaucoup, Madame Frankel!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Great Book

    I bought this book shortly before joining weight watchers and I found that the program and book go hand in hand. They both teach you how to lose weight by lifestyle changes. I though all of her 10 rules were really helpful and very easy to remember. I find myself using them everyday. I especially like Rule #1 that your diet is your bank account and I find myself getting excited about getting the most for my money by eating healthy high fiber and lower fat foods. Just like I do about finding designer clothes for a fraction of the original price, I try to find really scrumptious food that good for me so I never feel like I am on a "diet". My only dislike is that the book should have a recipe index. The recipes are interspersed in the book so I hand wrote an index to help find the recipes faster.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Great Read!

    This is an easy to read and wonderfully understanding book. I say it's understanding because it's as if she is there talking you through the pages. This is a fabulous book filled with recipes and even a meal plan. Her words seem to stick in your head, as you're about to bite into that 4th cupcake you can almost hear Bethenny's words of wisdom. "Is this cupcake really satisfying anymore, or was it best to stop after the second one?" I would and have recommended this book to anyone wanting to eat healthier, learn about what your eating and have fun making new meals.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Life changing

    I am not a heavy person- but I have been in a vicious cycle pretty much my whole life (I am 29). I seem to gain weight easily- so I would literally diet Sunday-Thursday (basically eat nothing)- and then gain anywhere from 6-8 pounds Friday- Saturday because of my binging. Then- I would start the whole process over again (lose 8 pounds by friday). Deprive myself during the week- so that on the week-end I could eat whatever I wanted. This book has changed my life. It seems so common sense and basic- but seeing the words and doing what it says- is just absolutely amazing! I have stayed at a consistent low end of my weight for 2 weeks- without depriving..I dont' have to look forward to the week-end anymore- because I eat what I want during the week (tasting everything and eating nothing!) I just listen to my inner food voice- and everything is great! This book is so dumb smart - that I am embarrased I never thought of it myself. Bethenny is brilliant- and she doesn't sugar coat anything either- she just gets to the point..and that is what I needed! Awesome book! (I LOVE my Kindle- but this book- you need to have in a hard copy- in order to make quick references)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Not for the picky eaters among us

    As many others reviewers have stated, the advice is sound - only eat when you're truly hungry and munch of veggies instead of potato chips. However the author warns us not to skip meals but then demonstrates in her food diary just how many meals she does skip or has two bites of a celery stick.
    Her recipes and snack suggestions contain a LOT of soy. There are lots of people who don't eat soy for one reason or another but she doesn't supply any information on substitutions. She also eats & suggests lots of seafood. Not only is that not really budget friendly for many of us, I just plain don't like it.
    Another reviewer commented on Ms. Frankel's suggestions for restaurant dining - order whatever you want but only eat a few bites. Really!?!?!? Spend your hard earned dollars on a ton of food and then most of it gets thrown away. I don't have that kind of budget or wasteful attitude.
    I'm looking forward to trying some of the recipes but I'm concerned about another reviewer saying they don't all work out well.
    The author passes along some good advice, smaller portions, eat slowly, focus on just your meal, listen to your body, use smaller plates & bowls, etc. This is a good reminder of what we should be doing but as far as leading by example - not so good.
    Good luck!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Finally, a book on eating AND drinking reasonably

    When I heard about the skinny girl margarita, I knew this would be the right book for me. Unlike many girls, I did not think once about dieting in high school, or even college. I was naturally skinny. I ate when I wanted, worked out when I wanted. Now that I am working all week and attending happy hours and nonstop weekend events, I find that I am often eating and drinking even when I don't want to. The only problem is, no one will guide you through a happy hour without casting judgements on the evils of alcohol. Like it or not, alcohol is part of the social scene and I think it's great that Bethanny feels free to admit this! THAT'S the kind of attitude that makes a non-dieter love this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    wasteful but maybe it'll work for you

    While I absolutely love Bethenny and some of the advice is sound (though most of it was common sense), I do not have the money to order a dish at a restaurant, have a few bites, and throw it away. I find it a little neurotic to lick the frosting off of a vegan cupcake and throw the rest away, WTH?

    I tried following my "food voice" and ate when I was hungry. I had a little snack here and there when I was, but I discovered that I am hungry A LOT. Bethenny's outlook just isn't for me. I need my 3 meals a day or become an animal and end up snacking more often than I would if I just had a meal. Maybe it will work for you, especially if you're filthy rich and can throw food like there is no tomorrow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Naturally Thin Thought

    Over all I felt like Bethenny's book was informative however, I felt that her rules were hard to put into practice. She had some great ideas about losing weight that I never thought of before. Although, it seemed like she doesn't want us to eat much of anything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Good Buy; Would Definitely Recommend!

    I've read quite a few diet books in my life and I definitely found this book extremely useful. And of course Bethenney's "ball-bustin" sense of humor makes this a welcome change to the otherwise bland repertoire of healthy reading. Her advice is a lot of (not so) common sense and teaches you really how to eat. Correcting my interaction with food and recognizing patterns of problem behavior are what I have taken away from it. I grew up with an aunt who slurped Slim-Fasts for years with little results; this book outlined for me a healthier relationship with eating.

    Also I think it's great how she is so encouraging of making your own food. Thanks for the tips and recipes Bethenney! You're my favorite Real Housewife. (Well maybe except for Luann, she is the epitome of absurdity and I LOVE IT.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    A Must Read For The Over-Seasoned Die-Hard And Dead While Stepping On Their Scale Dieter!

    Naturally Thin? There is no such ani-mule! At least that's what I thought after numerous visits to Jenny, powdered concoctions, point counting, calorie bibles, and self-recrimination. Bethenny Frankel's stylish, bright, insightful, and liberating approach to a lifetime free from dieting is just what it promises. It delivers the goods in a no-nonsense yet entertaining and surprisingly sensitive manner. I would wholeheartedly recommend Ms. Frankel's book, "Naturally Thin," because even if your not, following her "10 simple steps" you will be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Bethenny is fabulous, FIVE STARS across the board!!

    This book is great!! By following a few simple rules, Bethenny makes it easy for anyone to lose weight without starving or feeling deprived. This is absolutely a MUST for every woman who has tried all the rest of the crazy fad diets ....it makes sense because it is self-directed AND of course, allows for indulgences like the scrumptious skinny-girl cocktails!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Bethenny is very helpful

    This book made me feel so much better about the way I was thinking...I read it 2 months ago and have had such a dramatic turn around in my thought process....plus my friends love it when I say "Bethenny says....."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect!

    Amazing book that gives immediately great results. Totally helpful ans useful for women who need fast and great results. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    PRACTICAL and ENCOURAGING

    First book that doesn't tell you how to diet or what to eat. She talks more about a lifestyle change. LOVE IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    A diet book, not natural

    I heard Bethenny say it wasn't a diet book, but it sure seems like it, adivising skipping meals and so on. And a lot about celebreties

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13