Customer Reviews for

Naturally Thin: Unleash Your SkinnyGirl and Free Yourself from a Lifetime of Dieting

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I was surprised

When I first got this book I thought I'd give it a try because I had seen Bethenny on Real Housewives and knew she was a chef and had written a book. I was surprised that after I started reading her book I would find my self thinking about what I had read hours later. M...
When I first got this book I thought I'd give it a try because I had seen Bethenny on Real Housewives and knew she was a chef and had written a book. I was surprised that after I started reading her book I would find my self thinking about what I had read hours later. Much of what she said really had meaning in my life. Bethenny also has such a great sense of humor and some really good stories to tell. I found it an informative, enjoyable read that has things everyone can use. I also don't believe in diets so this really had meaning for me.

posted by 1493881 on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I expected a lot from this book as Bethenny has stated she is a "health foodie" and a natural foods chef. I also loved that it supported a non-diet approach. The book does offer some sound advice: don't diet, balance the food you eat, don't feel the need to clean your...
I expected a lot from this book as Bethenny has stated she is a "health foodie" and a natural foods chef. I also loved that it supported a non-diet approach. The book does offer some sound advice: don't diet, balance the food you eat, don't feel the need to clean your plate, eat mindfully to prevent binge eating, etc. Unfortunately, these tips are nothing new to the world of dieting, but perhaps fans of Bethenny or others might find some new inspiration from them. Where this book failed for me is that it also offered some very poor, unhealthy, and often contradictory advice: skipping meals, concepts of "taste everything, eat nothing" vs "you can have it all, just not all at once", eating ridiculously small portions of foods (example-you want steak, just have 3 bites), how to drink and still be skinny (what cocktails might be lower in calories or sugars than others, how not to binge eat after a night of drinking, and dealing with hangovers the next day). In fact, there is a whole section on what to eat while you are drinking. I was not expecting these types of unhealthful tips from a book by a natural foods chef and contributor to Health magazine. As a dietitian, I could never recommend this book to my clients. If you are looking for a non-diet approach to eating I would recommend Intuitive Eating by Evelyne Tribole, and if you are looking for a fun read about nutrition and how to really live both a naturally thin but also healthy lifestyle, I would recommend French Women Don't Get Fat by Mireille Giuliano.

posted by 1213896 on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    I was surprised

    When I first got this book I thought I'd give it a try because I had seen Bethenny on Real Housewives and knew she was a chef and had written a book. I was surprised that after I started reading her book I would find my self thinking about what I had read hours later. Much of what she said really had meaning in my life. Bethenny also has such a great sense of humor and some really good stories to tell. I found it an informative, enjoyable read that has things everyone can use. I also don't believe in diets so this really had meaning for me.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greater than the Sum of its Parts

    I've heard a lot of people complain that this book advocates unhealthy, disordered eating, and after reading Ms. Frankel's book twice, I believe that this is most likely due to a 'skimming' of the book - not an actual, read-every-sentence-of-every-chapter, reading. The average American diet has ballooned so far out of of control, so disconnected with what is healthy, that it is understandable a woman advocating approaches such as "Taste everything, Eat nothing" and "Cancel Your Membership in the Clean Plate Club" could be labeled a heretic.

    This book was life-altering for me, in the truest, most basic sense. I read it while on vacation, and actually ended up losing weight while eating out and neglecting my exercise schedule. Not only was I able to enjoy all the foods I normally resisted, but I did so without that sense of guilt that would usually follow such a moment of weakness. Under Ms. Frankel's guidelines, indulging in a piece of chocolate cream pie means nothing more than readjusting the rest of your caloric intake for the rest of the day (perhaps also the next day, depending on the size of the piece!), and getting on with your life - an attitude that to me is very reminiscent of French Women Don't Get Fat, but presented more accessibly to Americans. Merci beaucoup, Madame Frankel!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Skinny Girl--unleashed!

    I love the Real Housewives and when I heard Bethany was coming out with a diet book, I had to check it out. Good decision! She really tells you what to do in order to lose the weight and it may be a bit tough, but if you want to look like her, hey, there's gonna be some sacrifice. All in all, I liked her humor and would read another book she wrote.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Great Book

    I bought this book shortly before joining weight watchers and I found that the program and book go hand in hand. They both teach you how to lose weight by lifestyle changes. I though all of her 10 rules were really helpful and very easy to remember. I find myself using them everyday. I especially like Rule #1 that your diet is your bank account and I find myself getting excited about getting the most for my money by eating healthy high fiber and lower fat foods. Just like I do about finding designer clothes for a fraction of the original price, I try to find really scrumptious food that good for me so I never feel like I am on a "diet". My only dislike is that the book should have a recipe index. The recipes are interspersed in the book so I hand wrote an index to help find the recipes faster.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Life changing

    I am not a heavy person- but I have been in a vicious cycle pretty much my whole life (I am 29). I seem to gain weight easily- so I would literally diet Sunday-Thursday (basically eat nothing)- and then gain anywhere from 6-8 pounds Friday- Saturday because of my binging. Then- I would start the whole process over again (lose 8 pounds by friday). Deprive myself during the week- so that on the week-end I could eat whatever I wanted. This book has changed my life. It seems so common sense and basic- but seeing the words and doing what it says- is just absolutely amazing! I have stayed at a consistent low end of my weight for 2 weeks- without depriving..I dont' have to look forward to the week-end anymore- because I eat what I want during the week (tasting everything and eating nothing!) I just listen to my inner food voice- and everything is great! This book is so dumb smart - that I am embarrased I never thought of it myself. Bethenny is brilliant- and she doesn't sugar coat anything either- she just gets to the point..and that is what I needed! Awesome book! (I LOVE my Kindle- but this book- you need to have in a hard copy- in order to make quick references)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Good Buy; Would Definitely Recommend!

    I've read quite a few diet books in my life and I definitely found this book extremely useful. And of course Bethenney's "ball-bustin" sense of humor makes this a welcome change to the otherwise bland repertoire of healthy reading. Her advice is a lot of (not so) common sense and teaches you really how to eat. Correcting my interaction with food and recognizing patterns of problem behavior are what I have taken away from it. I grew up with an aunt who slurped Slim-Fasts for years with little results; this book outlined for me a healthier relationship with eating.

    Also I think it's great how she is so encouraging of making your own food. Thanks for the tips and recipes Bethenney! You're my favorite Real Housewife. (Well maybe except for Luann, she is the epitome of absurdity and I LOVE IT.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    A Must Read For The Over-Seasoned Die-Hard And Dead While Stepping On Their Scale Dieter!

    Naturally Thin? There is no such ani-mule! At least that's what I thought after numerous visits to Jenny, powdered concoctions, point counting, calorie bibles, and self-recrimination. Bethenny Frankel's stylish, bright, insightful, and liberating approach to a lifetime free from dieting is just what it promises. It delivers the goods in a no-nonsense yet entertaining and surprisingly sensitive manner. I would wholeheartedly recommend Ms. Frankel's book, "Naturally Thin," because even if your not, following her "10 simple steps" you will be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Bethenny is fabulous, FIVE STARS across the board!!

    This book is great!! By following a few simple rules, Bethenny makes it easy for anyone to lose weight without starving or feeling deprived. This is absolutely a MUST for every woman who has tried all the rest of the crazy fad diets ....it makes sense because it is self-directed AND of course, allows for indulgences like the scrumptious skinny-girl cocktails!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Bethenny is very helpful

    This book made me feel so much better about the way I was thinking...I read it 2 months ago and have had such a dramatic turn around in my thought process....plus my friends love it when I say "Bethenny says....."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect!

    Amazing book that gives immediately great results. Totally helpful ans useful for women who need fast and great results. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    PRACTICAL and ENCOURAGING

    First book that doesn't tell you how to diet or what to eat. She talks more about a lifestyle change. LOVE IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Love it, love it, love it!

    I have used a lot of the recipes and used her sub ingredients, like oat flour, in other recipes that are not contained in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    IF YOU LOVE THE HOUSEWIVES OF NY YOU WILL LOVE THIS

    Bethany is great in all her explanations of foods and how to eat them.
    Watching her on the Housewives was great, and while reading it I can actually her her talking to me. GREAT BOOK. Not a diet book, but a book to wake you up to what your eating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Great Motivational Book!!!

    I first met Bethenny on the Real Housewives of New York City and fell in love with her personality! Her book has inspired me to be aware of myself and think positively about food/eating. I recommend this book to anyone who has or is struggling with dieting and their weight. The book contains a completely new and different perspective, which incorporates Bethenny's bold personality extremely well!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Entertaing and Informative

    I really enjoyed this book. It is applicable to real-life situations and offers great tips and stradgies on how to change your mind set and attitude towards food and diet. Highly recommended for both usefullness and just an "all-around" good read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, solid advice on weight loss.

    This is a great read. I found lots of good advice about how to lose weight and keep it off. I love her on the real housewives and hope to see more of her ideas in the future.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    It's about time!!

    This book gives you permission to not stuff yourself!! Just because someone says you have to eat certain foods and cettain quantities, it may not work for you, your size, your appitite!! I know the difference between a banana and a banana split; it's a matter of choice and results. I love this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    If you've ever struggled with dieting

    READ THIS BOOK. It's amazing. It's easy to read, and every single thing she says in this book makes perfect sense. It all seems so obvious that you wonder why you ever struggled in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Great Book

    I really love Bethenny and I love this book! Such great advice. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Great+Guidance.

    This+book+can+really+get+you+going++in+the+right+direction+when+you+feel+just+dine+with+the+whole+dieting+game.+Listening+to+your+body+sounds+ssimple+but+after+years+of+not+doing+it+can+be+so+tough%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5