BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Nature Girl

Average Rating 3.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An amusing slap stick thriller

In Florida, the tourist Jeter Wilson died of a heart attack following a snake bite leaving Everglades airboat owner Sammy Tigertail stuck with disposing the body, which he does in one of the swamps. At about the same time that Sammy struggles with the corpse, Honey San...
In Florida, the tourist Jeter Wilson died of a heart attack following a snake bite leaving Everglades airboat owner Sammy Tigertail stuck with disposing the body, which he does in one of the swamps. At about the same time that Sammy struggles with the corpse, Honey Santana is irate with telemarketing realtor pitchman Boyd Shreave, who made ugly obscene sexual comments when she rejected his pitch.---------------- Honey decides to get even with Shreave as only she can. She begins a scheme to hurt him in the shorts enlisting her former husband Perry Skinner and her preadolescent son Fry and getting Boyd to come to Dismal Bay in the Everglades. He does with his girlfriend Eugenie Fonda at the same time private investigator Theodore Dealey working for Shreave¿s wife hopes to catch him with his shorts down. As she implements her plan, Sammy is caught in the middle still trying to get rid of Jeter¿s pesky spirit. Before anyone can blink all hell has come to the Everglades as these and others run amuck.----------- Less biting satire and more a zany face, Carl Hiaasen provides an amusing slap stick thriller that paints a wild picture of the Everglades in which the two legged animals are the beasts. The story line loosely contains a plot of revenge at it core though myriad of subplots converge because everyone is at the wrong place at the wrong time. The cast is classic comedy with people tripping over one another all because Honey goes berserk when Shreave interrupts her dinner with obscenities from there it is all down hill as everyone wants to sell but not buy swampland.------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun dialoge

First book I've read from this author. Overall, it was an interesting read.

posted by mommyjp on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An amusing slap stick thriller

    In Florida, the tourist Jeter Wilson died of a heart attack following a snake bite leaving Everglades airboat owner Sammy Tigertail stuck with disposing the body, which he does in one of the swamps. At about the same time that Sammy struggles with the corpse, Honey Santana is irate with telemarketing realtor pitchman Boyd Shreave, who made ugly obscene sexual comments when she rejected his pitch.---------------- Honey decides to get even with Shreave as only she can. She begins a scheme to hurt him in the shorts enlisting her former husband Perry Skinner and her preadolescent son Fry and getting Boyd to come to Dismal Bay in the Everglades. He does with his girlfriend Eugenie Fonda at the same time private investigator Theodore Dealey working for Shreave¿s wife hopes to catch him with his shorts down. As she implements her plan, Sammy is caught in the middle still trying to get rid of Jeter¿s pesky spirit. Before anyone can blink all hell has come to the Everglades as these and others run amuck.----------- Less biting satire and more a zany face, Carl Hiaasen provides an amusing slap stick thriller that paints a wild picture of the Everglades in which the two legged animals are the beasts. The story line loosely contains a plot of revenge at it core though myriad of subplots converge because everyone is at the wrong place at the wrong time. The cast is classic comedy with people tripping over one another all because Honey goes berserk when Shreave interrupts her dinner with obscenities from there it is all down hill as everyone wants to sell but not buy swampland.------------- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fun from front to back!

    This was the first Hiaasen book I've red and he's captured my interest for sure. His writing style is so much fun and at the same time mood and meaning are injected into each word choice. It was a crazy plot with wildly concocted characters and just a good time to the very last page. Even with the lightness of the writing, there was still food for thought. Grab a book by this guy if you get the chance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HIAASEN HAS NO PEERS

    What's not to like about a book by Carl Hiaasen? His prose is tough yet tender, his satire bites then provokes smiles, he's totally original, his offbeat characters are over the top, and, thanks to him, the State of Florida is revealed in all its steamy, seamy splendor. He won me with 'Skinny Dip' and I haven't looked back since. With 'Nature Girl' we meet Boyd Shreave who is employed by Relentless, Inc. where he makes his living as a telemarketer. His mistress, Eugenie Fonda 'who claimed a murky connection to the famous acting family' is in the cubicle next to him, a script is in front of him, and he has an assumed name for calling purposes - Boyd Eisenhower. He'll rue the day that he ever dialed Honey Santana's number. Honey is a woman on a mission fueled by a rabid desire to rid the world of many adversities that have visited her, one of them being dinnertime sales calls. Her 12-year-old son, Fry, alternates between believing her to be tetched or the most wonderful Mom in the world. Her brother, Richard, is well aware that his sister 'sometimes reacted to ordinary situations in unique ways.' Nonetheless, he locates Boyd for her. Her plan? To sell him something he can't afford. Sure enough, Boyd takes the bait and soon Honey is escorting the telemarketer and his reluctant mistress on a kayak tour through the wilds of Ten Thousand Islands. She just intends to teach them a lesson or three. What she hadn't counted on is Piejack, her boss at the fish market, following her. Piejack is the kind of guy who thinks sexual harassment in the workplace is acceptable, and the object of his attention is Honey. Now, read carefully (this is Hiaasen) - Piejack is being followed by Honey's ex, Perry, and Fry. Dismal Key is a landing place for this parade, and it's there they find Sammy Tigertail, a half-white, half-Seminole former alligator wrestler who tried his hand at doing airboat tours. But, when his first customer died on board, he told his uncle 'he wasn't spiritually equipped to deal with tourists.' Precisely what he is equipped for is subject for conjecture. Hiaasen's cast of crazy characters garner laughs aplenty. His meandering plot is a playful perplexity, and every page is a reminder that this author has no peers. Long may he scribe! - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Very Good

    Well worth the money and time! Real People, well almost all, funny, and really enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Fun dialoge

    First book I've read from this author. Overall, it was an interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Fun, but not Hiaasen's best

    The plot is just who is going to do what to whom before we get where we all know we are going long before we get there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for "light reading."

    This is the second book I've read by Carl Hiaasen. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for something light and funny to ready. It is fairly funny until at the end I thought it was absolutely hilarious in parts. I wish it had been that funny all the way through. I am hooked on his books now and I read them in between more serious books or in addition to more serious books. I plan on reading all of his books. He definitely has a quirky sense of humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY FUNNY!!!!!!

    HIAASEN WILL TAKE YOU ON A RIDE OF CRAZY AND FUNNY.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Chase away the winter doldrums

    If you can't go to Florida this winter, try reading about it in one on Carl Hiassen's adult comedies. This one is risqué and full of not-to-love characters, but the plot gave me plenty of good laughs. Hiaasen also gets in some commentary about the state of our 21 C. society and the dismal record of our country in regards to the treatment of native Americans. Really, he is a good writer. Comedy is not easy to do, and the mix of brutally true observations with the foibles of human nature is well done by Hiaasen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    My first Hiaasen Read

    I loved this book and am glad I read it before reading some of the negative reviews. I enjoyed it so much that I am now reading all of his books. After reading some of his older novels, I can see a change that might be upsetting to some fans. I like variety. I love his humor, vocablulary, sarcasm, and the bizzarre....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Honey Santana is an unforgettable heroine, and Lee Adams's narration of Honey's exploits is equally memorable. She imbues Honey and Hiaasen's other over the top characters with all their grit, determination, bravado, zest, and intensity. With 'Nature Girl' we again enjoy this author's trademark tough yet tender prose, biting satire, and total originality. Plus, thanks to him, the State of Florida is revealed in all its steamy, seamy splendor. He won me with 'Skinny Dip' and I haven't looked back since. We meet Boyd Shreave who is employed by Relentless, Inc. where he makes his living as a telemarketer. His mistress, Eugenie Fonda 'who claimed a murky connection to the famous acting family' is in the cubicle next to him, a script is in front of him, and he has an assumed name for calling purposes - Boyd Eisenhower. He'll rue the day that he ever dialed Honey Santana's number. Honey is a woman on a mission fueled by a rabid desire to rid the world of many adversities that have visited her, one of them being dinnertime sales calls. Her 12-year-old son, Fry, alternates between believing her to be tetched or the most wonderful Mom in the world. Her brother, Richard, is well aware that his sister 'sometimes reacted to ordinary situations in unique ways.' Nonetheless, he locates Boyd for her. Her plan? To sell him something he can't afford. Sure enough, Boyd takes the bait and soon Honey is escorting the telemarketer and his reluctant mistress on a kayak tour through the wilds of Ten Thousand Islands. She just intends to teach them a lesson or three. What she hadn't counted on is Piejack, her boss at the fish market, following her. Piejack is the kind of guy who thinks sexual harassment in the workplace is acceptable, and the object of his attention is Honey. Now, listen carefully (this is Hiaasen) - Piejack is being followed by Honey's ex, Perry, and Fry. Dismal Key is a landing place for this parade, and it's there they find Sammy Tigertail, a half-white, half-Seminole former alligator wrestler who tried his hand at doing airboat tours. But, when his first customer died on board, he told his uncle 'he wasn't spiritually equipped to deal with tourists.' Precisely what he is equipped for is subject for conjecture. Hiaasen's cast of crazy characters garner laughs aplenty. His meandering plot is a playful perplexity, and Lee Adams doesn't miss a nuance. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Sex

    Yummy in my tummy seeeeeexxxxx look at mark of athena for more sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    To Talli

    Get the he<_>ll out of here. Btw im a girl i was just seeing if any of those anoying haters would come. Sure enough one did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Very funny!

    This is a little lighter than his other books, but still very funny. I laugh out loud constantly at his twisted characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Good light reading. If you like Carl Hiaasen, you will like this

    This was my second Carl Hiaasen novel. I enjoyed it, but liked Skinny Dip better. The characters in Nature Girl were pretty wacky, but not as fully developed as in Skinny Dip. Hiaasen's knowledge of south and central Florida adds to the enjoyment. I found myself going to Google Earth quite a bit to get a visual of the points of reference in the book. Looking forward to my third read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Ignore wait

    Was that me?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    yuck

    It took over a third of the book to get an idea of the story. Very psychodelic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Nature's Belly Flop

    This was a book that was painful to read the first couple of chapters. Far-fetched, spacey, and annoying to say the least. I purchased the book for it was a bargain and had an attractive cover. However, do not judge the book by it's cover in being good. It was brutally tough to get the idea behind what the intent of the words were relaying and any sort of message to keep any intelligent being interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Boring

    Like others I could not get into this book. Right away the character names annoyed me (Honey, Fry, Eugenie?!). And the plot was so far fetched, I mean come on, she gets rialed over a telemarketer calling during dinner time. I kept reading hoping something would improve, but it never did. This was the first book I read by this author and I definitely won't be reading any more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    $19.27???!!!

    Why can I buy the paperback for this non new release book for less than $9 and this e-book is almost $20, are you kidding me?!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6