Customer Reviews for

The Naughty List

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    S.O.S

    So far I've seen nothing but good reviews about this book. Praises for Suzanne Young, indeed it is. The plot revolves around cute cheerleaders by day spy at night. They call themselves S.O.S Society of Smitten Kittens, they decided to omit the K because it doesn't sound right. The S.O.S is lead by head cheer Tessa Crimson.

    What are they spying about?
    They are a non-profit organization that gathers data / evidence; visual, audio and written (Yes, they have sophisticated state of the art spy gear. Apparently their clients give generous donations) to prove if their client's beau is guilty or not of cheating. Sadly all cases came back as 100% cheater. Tesaa was so into this whole thing that when Chloe Ferril transferred to Washington High and openly flirts and prances her ware around her boyfriend Aiden, of course she got paranoid and suspicious.
    But I can't help but notice Chloe's brother, Christian. Intriguing, with a stalker like attitude that kind of creeps me out.

    But who is really right for Tessa, the boy that she's inlove with, who in return says he loves her or the boy who knows her secret?

    Here's what I don't like about the book. Too sweet for me. I am annoyed at Tessa's little Ms. Perfect attitude. She calls out her cheer peers, and her boyfriend everytime they cuss. And remains polite even though te insult was right in front of her face. I think after reading this I prefer the cheerleaders with rotten attitude. Maybe it's my choice of heroine too. I like them awfully independent and bad ass. The expressions used to substitute the cuss words: Strawberry Smoothie whipped cream!, Good Gravy! Peanut Butter Sandwiches! Butterscotch! Apple Dippers! Fudgesicle! - corny much?!

    Over all it was fun, adventurous, humorous, fast paced read with quirky characters and lots of sexy innuendos. Here's to hoping more character development and more sleuthing in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    It was okay.

    The book was just okay amd I found myself rushing to the end and skipping over broing parts. Aiden wasnt the tyoe of guy id want he was...perverted and Christian didnt do anything bad!! Ugh anyeayz the book was only okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    Tessa and Aiden were dazzling together. The only problem was Tessa was hiding something from Aiden. She almost lived a double life. That is until Christian came into the the picture. Even though the out come was kind of predictable. I still enjoyed it. There were some more adult-ish topics that were talked about. I would say it's for older teens. The Naughty List could have added 25 pages to give a more in depth look into the lives of the characters. It was fast paced and I never had the feeling to put the book down. So is it a reader? Of course who doesn't like this much fun in one book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Addiction Review- A Brilliant Debut

    Flirty and fun, The Naughty List is an entertaining read with plenty of drama and emotion. Young does an incredible job blending the various aspects of this book, investing the reader in the plot line early on. From the start, the reader is smoothly eased into the set up, falling into a well paced plot and wanting to know how things will play out.

    Tess is a lively character, full of pep and unique euphemisms. Though she's head cheerleader and certainly has her vanity and ditz type of moments, she is an intelligent, strong willed character. She has a very interesting outlook on life and Young does a fantastic job bringing this character to life. As with any good character, Tess holds her own flaws and as the story progresses, she finds certain aspects of her life falling more out of control. Her story is an engaging one, pulling the reader on the same emotional roller coaster she goes on and though there is certainly a "stereotypical" couple set up, this book is anything but cliché and mundane. She is easy to like for any reader, no matter what their high school experience had been like. Though she may be popular, she is far from cruel and holds herself to very high standards in her appearance, behaviors and treatment of others.

    Aiden is Tess' boyfriend and the captain of the basketball team. They are the perfect couple, having a long two year relationship under their belts. Lust and love are intermixed for them, playing off smoothly for their situation. Tess has her boyfriend and perfect social life, but hidden beneath it is her SOS related activities. Young casts a perfect blend between stereotypical jock and realistic character holding his own ability to think and experience a range of emotions. Aiden is a very likable character because of how well developed he is and many of the scenes with him and Tess are cute, fun and enjoyable.

    The plot is amusing, propelled easily by Young's strong writing and her innate ability to possess a very vivid YA voice. Tess' mentality comes through easily, with everything sliding along smoothly on the pages, even when her comments are airheaded or shallow. Although some aspects of the plot were predictable, it's to be expected with the story line and premise- and with the way Young chose to play things out. Although obviously and necessarily extreme in how many cheaters these girls found in their school, the number of cheaters and cases explored made for a great plot set up and the case reports were fantastic additions. The entire operation was well thought out and executed and it brought a certain spark to the book as a whole.

    With some incredibly intense and emotional scenes to break up the flirty, overall fun nature of this story, The Naughty List is a fantastic read. Tess and Aiden's relationship is a beautifully played out one, holding all the truth of teenage love and showing how two teens can be in a long relationship. Even when things start being turned upside down, Young continues to hold a teenage state of mind and responses. Everything leads up to a very fantastic ending, leaving the book open for the sequel but providing plenty of closure for the events of The Naughty List.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny and entertaining!

    Suzanne Young's debut novel is the first in a trilogy of books about Tessa Crimson, the head of a secret organization of cheerleaders dedicated to catching cheating boyfriends red-handed and gathering proof of their indiscretions to present to their wronged girlfriends. As a reader who tends to gravitate toward paranormal & fantasy novels, this book is well outside of my typical genre preferences, but I still found it entertaining. The Naughty List is a quick read that manages to be funnier & more heart-wrenching than you might expect from the title & summary.

    What I Liked:
    - The idea of a group of somewhat stereotypical cheerleaders running an extremely organized non-profit service like the SOS is funny & clever. I like the concept of girls helping other girls, enjoyed the SOS's memos & letters to their clients, and admired Tessa's dedication to keeping the team both professional & perky.
    - Tessa doesn't approve of cussing and using common slang, so she replaces curse words and exclamations of surprise with her very own terms like: "Strawberry smoothie!", "Sugarplum fairies!", and "Gingersnap!" That aspect of her personality is consistently amusing and helps make her a memorable character.
    - The tension between Tessa and her boyfriend's mom is believable. It added to the complexity of Tessa's relationship with Aiden and made my heart go out to her.
    - The Smitten Kittens' high-tech investigative missions are very entertaining!
    - Tessa's parents' history added depth to her character and explained a lot about her intense commitment to maintaining her perky cheerleader persona all the time.
    - There are lots of northwest-inspired references in this book, from Washington High's rival basketball teams including the Ducks and the Beavers to the Birkenstock-clad new kid. As a northwest native myself, those references were fun to see!
    - I liked and respected Tessa & Aiden's relationship choice at the end of the book, & I look forward to seeing where the second novel in this series leads them both.
    - The book is conclusive enough not to drive readers crazy with suspense, but there are still several sub-plots to be resolved and lots of character development to be explored in the two sequels, So Many Boys and A Good Boy is Hard to Find.

    What I Wished:
    - I really enjoyed SOS's investigative adventures, and I would like to have seen more of those scenes featured in the book.
    - Knowing that this novel is about an organization of high school girls who spy on cheating boyfriends, I was not particularly surprised by the frequent sexual references, but the constant innuendo was still my least favorite aspect of the book. All the actual hook ups take place off the page so The Naughty List is not explicit in a romance-novel-ish way, but it does seem that everyone at Washington High is sexually-active and that 99% of the guys are unfaithful and/or unscrupulous. Those statistics seem a bit too depressing for the light and humorous tone of this book.
    - While chemistry is great, I wished that Tessa and Aiden's relationship was not so centered on their physical attraction to one another. After two or three scenes of them finding each other irresistible, their relationship began to seem a bit one-dimensional to me.

    The Naughty List is a fun & quick read with an entertaining & memorable protagonist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    hilarious and adorable debut

    What a hilarious and adorable debut!


    Suzanne Young's creative idea of a cheerleading squad turned cheater investigators was brilliant. I mean, who would ever suspect that a group of cheerleaders are the masterminds behind a secret society focused solely on taking down cheaters. I sure wouldn't have! But it was so entertaining to read the crazy, and sometimes awkward, situations the girls got themselves into during their "investigations".


    Each character was unique and their own way. Tess Crimson - head cheerleader of the Smitten Kittens and leader of the SOS (Society of the Smitten Kittens) - was a likable and fierce character and definitely the kind of person I would want to be friends with. I loved all the characters, buy my favorite was Kira. She just made the book so much more fun with the crazy things she said and did.


    Another element of The Naughty List I enjoyed were Tessa's adorable phrases like: "sugarplum fairies" and "strawberry smoothie" that she would use instead of bad language. Normally, I would find those phrases to be annoying, but they worked really well in The Naughty List and with Tessa's character.


    A great debut and an excellent start to a new series! Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Fantastic Read by a Great New Author

    What do cheerleaders do after dark?

    Hook up with their secret society of spies and chase down cheating boyfriends, of course. What were YOU thinking?

    This book is hands down one of the funniest things I've ever read. The main character has a fantastic and highly original voice and the plot is fast-paced and fun! A must-read--over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1