BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Navigator: A Kurt Austin Adventure (NUMA Files Series)

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    Clive Cussler's great summer reading

    I picked up a Cussler book one day in the mark downs and I am hooked. I have read many of the Dirk Pitt adventures and also Kurt Austin,the Numa files. They are all exciting and quite informative books. Cussler always inserts truthes into his books as well as fiction.The Navigator starts in Iraq after the fall of Saddham Hussein and the sacking of the Baghdad museum.It takes the reader on a journey in search of an ancient Phoenician statue intertwined with our own Thomas Jefferson. It's a great book as are all Cussler's books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    Great Escapism

    Great story that mixes fact with fiction along with adventure. I always find the Cussler books very fun to read because it takes me to places I have seen or would like to see. It also transports me to other times and places setting the "stage" for the main story. The charectors are fun to imagine and at times are bigger than life like most lead charectors can be. I like the twists and turns in the story line and to see how things come together at the climax of the story.

    I would recommend any of the other Clive Cussler books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Very good. Don't miss

    Classic Kurt and joe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Would some one help me understand something....

    Now don't misunderstand me, I love B&N and I buy all my physical and ebooks from them without fail. I just don't understand why this book (The Navigator), that is on the bargain shelf at BN stores for $3.99, in hardcover no less, is $8.99 in ebook form. It is amazing that BN has allowed the greedy publishers/writers to brow beat them into charging more than $10 per ebook. Shame on the publishers/writers for believing that ebook readers are dumb enough to blindly pay more than $10 bucks for an ebook. I hope that ebook readers aren't so stupid, I mean why did you (ebook reader) start reading ebooks in the first place? Bottom line...it was because of the fantastically low price. Come on folks, are you mindless sheep or what? If you pay more than $10 bucks for an ebook then you deserve to be ripped off by the publishers/writers. Let's send them all a message, I for one will not buy an ebook that costs more than $10. Shoot there are so many fantastic books written by great authors that are in ebook form that are $10 bucks or less, even free. How about it folks, you going to be mindless drones, blind sheep afraid to stand up against something that is obviously wrong? Do you have more money than common sense? Are you so eager to through away your money? If you are why don't you do something good like give your money to the poor. Believe me you would feel better doing that than blindly plopping it down on an over priced electronic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    It's called escapism

    Yeah the plot may be easily discerned, the action description a bit corny the characters somewhat more than James Bond and the dialog predicted. At least the characters can put together a five word sentence without three of the words being the F word. Cussler writes action without the vulgarity that so many contemporary writers feel is necessary. His characters are tough and don't have to gutter talk non stop to prove it. Reading him is being removed from the daily grind transported to exotic places in equally exotic modes of transportation. So it's not rocket science. I'll take Cussler over most of the other limited vocabulary writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Clive Cussler is my favor writer

    I prefer the Dick character for this aventures

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Good winter weather read

    If you are after something light and not too taxing on the brain to read on a snowy, wet winters day this is a great book. If you are after a literary masterpiece this is not for you. The action is fast paced but the characters are over the top and the writing and plot are definitely not up to the standard of the older Cussler Dirk Pitt novels. It is still a fun read but not as good as the "oldies".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is just awful, nothing but a string of cliches from the first page. It actually begins 'The monster emerged from the morning mists in the pearly light of dawn.' By Cussler 'with Paul Kemprecos', The Navigator may have been composed on a crappy-novel phrase wheel. Coffee steams, eyes smolder, right crosses devastate, and the cliches tumble from the page. You'll wish you had a ghost reader to hand it to. If you can afford the $15 I paid, you can probably write better than this. I got to page 251 and threw it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    WRONG verbage

    I also thought about putting the book down when I hit page 64 and the term , as it has been used in several other of Mr. Cussler's books was again used and that is 'knots per hour'. One knot is equal to one nautical mile per hour. I have NO clue what 'knots per hour means'---acceleration?? One would think with the nautical associations tied to Mr. Cussler that this mistake would not occur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Cussler pretty much on cruise control with The Navigator

    The Kurt Austin series is definitely the class of the Cussler spinoffs. Though the plot is pretty standard ancient mystery affecting modern day, the combination of such varied people as Thomas Jefferson and King Solomon is quite well done. My only disappointment in the finale, where for once Cussler et al do leave a little to the imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I¿ll leave it to others to lay out the plot and tell the story. The 'He' could refer to either Cussler or Austin. Clive Cussler has been writing these books for better than thirty years, and I've read them all. Admittedly, they are somewhat similar, but there is just enough new in each book to make them just a little different. The books always provide a little bit of a history lesson. I haven¿t checked them all out, but the few I have looked into seem to be based on more fact then fiction. While the original character Dirk Pitt has gotten a little stale, Kurt Austin is 'the man'. There is a little of all the super spies, and adventurer's in Austin. There is nothing he can't do, no lady he can't charm, nor any villain he can't best. Of course, should Austin stumble a bit, and he does from time to time, there is always Zavala, his trusty sidekick, to help him out. While some of Kurt's adventures, 'i.e.: the Jousting on a bridge, without railings, over a 300 ft gorge, are a little far fetched', his books are just a fun read. Nothing serious here, just a fun way to pass some time. Don't go to the beach without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3