Customer Reviews for

Navy SEAL Dogs: My Tale of Training Canines for Combat

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Great non-fiction

    The only good non-fiction book I read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Cheetahhh

    I love K9s in the army, the FBI, and the Swat teams.This book sounds sooo amazingly awesome and epic. Sign'n out.#LittleNinja

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Gth

    Ghh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    The book Navy SEAL Dogs is a must read for anyone into dogs or t

    The book Navy SEAL Dogs is a must read for anyone into dogs or the military. Navy SEAL Dogs shows what training dogs go through to
    become part of special forces teams. The author tells us that he starts training the dogs at the young age of 3 days old. Since the author
    was once a Navy SEAL and worked with dogs during his time as a Navy SEAL, he is able to give insight on what life is like for Navy
    SEALs and their dogs. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Navy SEAL Dogs by Mike Ritland in my opinion is a very good book

    Navy SEAL Dogs by Mike Ritland in my opinion is a very good book, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about dogs. I like how he explains what dogs do to detect scents. He does a great job at keeping you interested; when it gets slower, he picks up the pace or he adds in a small story. He does a great job of describing the dogs personality. Overall I think it is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

         If you already think that dogs are amazing than you need to

         If you already think that dogs are amazing than you need to read Navy SEAL Dogs by, Mike Ritland.  Dog lovers already know that canines can be our best friends and most loyal companions, but this book explains that they are every bit as much as a soldier as the humans they work with.  This powerful story explains how the United States Navy SEALs recruits average household pets and turns them into soldiers.  This book is a series of stories about the individual dogs and their handlers and the unbelievable accomplishments that they have achieved.  These are real stories collected from soldiers and told to the author.  In many cases the dogs are true heroes and save human lives. 
         Just like with humans, picking the right type of recruit is the first step.  These dogs must be strong, energetic, smart, and have a keen sense of smell.  Right from when a dog is a puppy his preparation for being a soldier begins.  Dogs have to be good around people so when the dog is a puppy their trainer has to have them around lots of different people.  A dog also has to have a prey drive so when the dog is still a puppy the trainer will play tug with the dog using a rag.  Once they get older the dog goes through more advanced training like sniffing out objects that are over one hundred yards away.  Once a dog is done with training they will go off to work with the military.  In the military these dogs sniff out bombs and even kill enemies.  All of the main characters in the book were actually dogs.  Since there were so many dogs am choosing my favorite one, Chopper.  In 2007 Chopper was with his handler, Brett in Afghanistan on a night mission.  As they came up on an embankment Chopper gave the command that he smelled humans.  Brett let Chopper go and all the sudden they heard screaming and guns firing, when they approached the embankment they saw that Chopper had killed four armed terrorists. The U.S. Navy SEALs need the help from these dogs that save so many lives.  These honorable dogs play an important role in protecting our U.S. Navy SEALs.
         I thought that this book was one of the most fascinating books I have read in my entire life.  I am very interested in dogs and the military so it was a great match for me.  This book can be funny at times and very scary at others, but I never wanted to put it down.  Because everything in the book actually happened, I think that made me like it even more.  I have a German shepherd so when the author was describing some of the things that the dogs did I knew exactly what he meant.  The author also used a large amount of detail when he would describe objects or places and I could see them in my head.  Overall I thought that that this was a terrific book and I would give it a nine and a half out of ten.
         I would recommend this book to people of all ages who like action or nonfiction books.  I think that this book would be good for boys or girls if they like dogs or the military.  If you like Gary Paulsen books than you would love Navy SEAL Dogs because he writes a lot of books about dogs.  This book is not part of any series.  The general theme of this book is the surprising impact of military dogs.  I really loved this book and I think that most other people would too. 








    Ritland, Mike. Navy SEAL Dogs: My Tale of Training Canines for Combat. New York: St. Martin’s Griffin, 2013. Print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    K9 DOG

    I love to see K9 dogs caues there the bets dogs and the wourld they can fit they are cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!they are cool!!!!!!!! Iwant to get one but my mom says I have to get all AAAA and BBBB and I steel have to go to school and work and not get on a bad day and I steel have to do my spellingwords and when I get the K9 I will have to takecare of it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Seal

    Im gonna be a navy seal and fight for wats right and at below stop making fun of the seals do mething better be an ingineneer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Me to man

    Im skinny and bullied and im gonna be in SEAL TEAM SIX

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1