Customer Reviews for

Neanderthal Seeks Human: A Smart Romance

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'll admit, at first the name of this book had me wondering what

    I'll admit, at first the name of this book had me wondering what I was getting myself into with reading it but let me just say, I could not put this book down!! I was supposed to be preparing for vacation and I kept finding ways to sneak read so I could stay in Janie and Quinn's world! Once you've read it, you'll completely understand the meaning behind the title and it's perfect!

    Funny, quirky, sexy characters make up this book and I found myself laughing out loud, shaking my head with the zany moments, and wanting to be invited to join the knitting night. I'd be with Janie though - not knitting, just there for the friendships. What awesome friendships, too! And when Janie had those fantastic moments of trivia word vomit, I wanted to smack my head with a bit of embarassment for her and giggle with her at the same time.

    Penny Reid's voice is refreshing and real. I loved how she captured the interactions between Quinn and Janie. Their moments of banter and sexy times were just what I needed. And Quinn, mmm, he's super sexy, Sir McHotpants!! I adored his complete enchantment (and sometimes seeming consternation) with Janie.

    But we all drag our history with us to a degree and both Janie and Quinn have histories that have potential of keeping them from their happily ever after. As I was rooting for them, I was also biting my nails worried for them! And then crap, something happens and I wanted to toss my smartphone (which I was sneak reading on) out the car window!! In the end, I found myself smiling and laughing, and knowing that this is a book I will go back to and read again.

    Overall, a fun, sassy, sexy, smart romance that kept me reading long after I should have been asleep! This is book one in the Knitting in the City series and I'll be ready to dive into the second one as soon as it's available.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Sweet, sexy, and funny!

    I loved this book. It had all of the elements that I love in a good story. The characters were strong and independent but funny as Hell. You have Janie (so nerdy), the knitting club ladies (so fierce and loyal) and then you have Quinn (so McHotpants)...enough said!

    I would highly recommend this book! I can not wait to read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Fun Romance

    Loved this book! Really enjoyed the main character - she's a lovable nerd with her head in the clouds. I've tried to read many books with "nerdy", "funny" main characters and most have fallen flat. This book actually hit the mark for smart and funny.

    Loved her friends and felt that their circle gave the story extra depth. So many romance novels have damaged, friendless main characters, this was a nice treat.

    I was looking for a good story of romance when I came across this book, and I was not disappointed! There's a fun story built around the steamy romance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Knitting in the City series by Pen

    This is the first book in the Knitting in the City series by Penny Reid.  I don't remember where I saw it, if it was a recommendation on Amazon or a review on someone else's blog. But I liked the sound of a female protagonist who sounds just a bit geeky, so I decided to give it a try.

    We first meet Janie Morris while she is in the bathroom stall at work contemplating: Worst. Day. Ever.  First she finds out that her long time boyfriend is cheating on her so she dumps him. While dumping him is the smart thing to do, it also leaves her homeless since they were living in one of his parents apartments.  Then she is called into her boss's office and notified that she was being downsized.  Of course, her ex-boyfriend's father pulled some strings to make that happen, since he is a big deal client for Janie's firm.  Now to add insult to injury, she is left sitting in bathroom stall with no toilet paper. 

    When Janie finally gets out of the bathroom to finish packing up her desk, she finds that they have sent the super hot security guard that she has been daydreaming about for the past five weeks.  As he is escorting her to the basement to complete the necessary forms and turn in her keys, Janie begins rambling on with trivial information.  She knows she needs to stop, but she is nervous and can't help herself.  But Sir McHotpants, as Janie has dubbed him, just gives her a grin and seems amused with the flood of trivial information.

    About a week later, Elizabeth, Janie's best friend, knitting group companion and new roommate takes her out to a club to help her loosen up and relax.  Thus leading them to club Outrageous.  During her time in the club, Janie once again runs into Sir McHotpants, aka Quinn.  When Elizabeth gets called in to work, Janie heads back into the club and ends up getting into trouble.  Luckily Quinn was on hand to save her.

    I unashamedly admit that I am not a huge fan of books that are termed Chick Lit.  Most of the times, these books are about women who live in a big city and sit around discussing parties, fashion and the multitude of men they have notched on their lipstick cases.  Basically the Sex and the City genre books, and they do nothing for me. They leave me totally cold and unconnected from the character.  This was NOT one of those books, even though I have seen it categorized as Chick Lit. 

    This was a book about a woman who was socially awkward and a bit nerdy, but managed to find love not in spite of her self-perceived flaws, but because of them. I read another review that lambasted the book for having corny dialogue.  I personally like corny dialogue.  When the women holding their knitting group got together, you could tell they were close friends; comfortable with letting their true personalities out with one another.  It felt familiar and comfortable and real. I liked this book so much I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads.  I can only hope book two is as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    What a fun read.  The characters are unique.  It was a very refr

    What a fun read.  The characters are unique.  It was a very refreshing change of pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Loved this book.  Not your typical romance story.  Very well wri

    Loved this book.  Not your typical romance story.  Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    DNf

    Could finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    I've found my people and her name is Penny Reid.  This woman has

    I've found my people and her name is Penny Reid.  This woman has written the most amazing book.  It's funny and hot, and above all things intelligent!  Oh and did I mention it involves a knitting group?  I don't think I'm going to be able to organize my thoughts into any sort of meaningful breakdown of why this book is awesome on all levels possible, but I'm going to try.




    Lets start with Janie.  I would love to get into that woman's head.  She has so much information in there!  For someone who lives in her head so much, she's completely unaware of her great qualities that draw men to her.  Janie is a real woman with the curves that come with being a real woman who enjoys life and eating.  I love how much she cares for her friends and how much they love her.  I love Janie's no-nonsense attitude.  She's honest with herself and everyone else.  Moving on to Quinn.  I want him.  Janie may make him want to be a better man, but he makes me want to be a better woman, and he's a fictional character!
    Quinn is simply amazing.  He's made some mistakes and doesn't feel like he deserves love.  It was amazing to see these two come together and open up to each other.  I felt like I was eavesdropping on someone's private conversation most of the time when they were together.  Plus they have a secret eye language!  




    The story itself is full of lots of thrills, laughs, some tears, and some anger.  Basically it's chock full of emotions.  I must say it's the laughs and random facts Janie spouts that won me over more than anything else.  The knitting group is a bunch of fabulous women who prove they are more than meets the eye and knitters are bad asses.  Yes I said it, bad asses.    I laughed for five minutes straight reading the scene with all of them towards the end of the book.  It takes place in Janie's apartment and it's one of my favorite scenes in the entire series so far.  




    Penny Reid deserves all the medals, accolades, awards, and praise that come her way.  For a woman who wrote this book on a dare, I salute you.  Thank you for giving us characters we love and want more of.  Thank you for breaking the mold of the romance novel once again and giving us real intelligent women as heroines and real, flawed men as heroes, who just happen to be ripped.  I never want to let Janie and Quinn go.  I'd like to read about them and their children through perpetuity, through the afterlife, and into their next reincarnations of possible.  Hopefully I've been able to convey why you need to read, nay, own this book.  If not, you can check out any one of the other rave reviews.  I sincerely hope you pick up this book.  It's wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Knitting In The City #1: Neanderthal Seeks Human

    Neanderthal Seeks Human by Penny Reid is the first book in her Knitting in the City series. This book truly is a smart romance. I had to break out the dictionary feature on my kindle a few times. I absolutely loved the writing style and humor. It was phenomenal. The story of Janie and Quinn is a wonderful one and the knitting group is the bomb.

    Every detail is so-well thought out and arranged, the trivia is unique and quirky and this was an absolute pleasure to read. The love scenes are intense in a fade-to-black way and the level of "feels" you'll have throughout the telling of Janie and Quinn's story is off-the-charts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    A good read, but....

    This was a good read for me but it was a bit of a let down. I had been hearing good things about it and bout this book and book #2 as well, but was a bit disapointed with the 1st book! It to me was really boring until mid to the end it got better. Im hoping book #2 is much better. I will say, so far so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Loved it!

    This is the first book that I have read by this author , but it won' t be my last! I absolutly loved this book! I laughed when I read the dedication page and I laughed out loud numerous times (its a little embarassing when you do that in a public setting). This a smart, sexy and fun romance. When I was getting to the end of book,I was getting sad because I didn't want the story to end. Thankfully there's a sequel so I immediately purchased it!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    I'm horrible at reviews, so I rarely leave them, but this book h

    I'm horrible at reviews, so I rarely leave them, but this book had my laughing out loud.  It rarely happens.  I absolutely loved the dialog and really fell in love with both main characters.  I'm truly couldn't believe this is Penny Reid's first book, but it won't be my last.  Moving on to buy the rest now.  Seriously, one of the best books I've read in long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    I loved this book! I literally could not put it down - it was a

    I loved this book! I literally could not put it down - it was a perfect blend of romance and oddity and happy endings, written extremely well. It was touching and funny, not overly explicit or vulgar.
    I am definitely looking forward to reading her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Very funny

    Truly enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Darra's Review: There is so much to say about Janie. I feel


    Darra's Review:



    There is so much to say about Janie. I feel like I read Wikipedia myself. I had a few moments I did think “Huh, I didn’t know that.” Obviously Quinn must have liked that too. I thought he was interesting. Quiet, but likeable. Plus who doesn’t like Thor! They are a unlikely couple that makes it interesting.



    I read the books out of order but was really glad I got to read Quinn. However I want to know more! So many things missing I need to know. Ugh, mysterious guys!



    Loved the book. And I like reading a book where I am not crying into the depths of my sorrows. It is a fun read with awkward people.

    I give it a 4.5. Much love to Penny Reid and her Neanderthal!


    Sunny's Review:





    Seriously can't believe how much I love Penny Reid's books. We met her at a book signing in Houston a few weeks ago and it was like finding out long lost friend. I tell Darra "I would so read those books just because of the titles" and so we walk over to tell her that we have never heard of her. She says that is fine I am a little different. I have a different sense of humor and I make up words. Darra and I looked at each other said SOLD!! So I was a little bit scared b/c what if I was looking forward to this AWESOMELY HILARIOUS book and it was eh, okay. Well guess what....it was definitely AWESOMELY HILARIOUS!!!! I was cracking up from page one and I can totally identify with Janie's meltdown in the bathroom at work.


    Janie might be one of my favorite female characters. She is so funny and awkward, ridiculously smart and not the perfect cookie cutter skinny, tan, super fit girl. I literally have a girl crush on her. She was so funny and I am glad that I read this book. Quinn was great too. I love the whole super hot, quiet intimidating guy. I mean he did not say much but definitely let his presence be known. I like that he when Janie started to get nervous and would spout off random facts he was just like tell me more. I do agree with Darra I want to know more about him but he is definitely on my list!!! I already know that I will read this book many times in the future.


    I am giving this book 4.5 out of 5 stars and I will tell you that Penny's books just keep getting better. I can't wait to read Neanderthal Marries Human. Now the picture below was taken at our office and will make more sense after you the first chapter...I FEEL YOUR BATHROOM PAIN JANIE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Wonderful read!

    I've been recommending this book to friends and relatives! My oldest daughter, who really prefers darker stuff & science fiction, even read it and commented on what a good book it is.
    Fun plot line, enjoyable, believable characters, well written!
    Kudos to Ms. Reid! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Too Cute

    A smart romance indeed. It was full of fun and was unique enough in content not to be predictably the same ole same ole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Funny

    This book is funny, quirky and sweet. I look forward to reading more from this new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    If you are looking for a completely brain dead book then this is

    If you are looking for a completely brain dead book then this is the book for you. The main character was not believable in how she talked facts constantly and the Mr. McHotpants was almost stalkerish scary. I did not come to like either character and could only get through three-quarters of the book because it was the same nonsense over and over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Humor and romance

    Smart writing. Great characters. Humor galore. Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3